We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday inn hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay
Ranked #42 of 1,327 Hotels in Sanya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Holiday inn hotels”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

last summer I was in China for business and got a chance for taking holidays.
So, we reserved a room for two in Holiday inn Resort Sanya.
When we got there, ( together with my wife), I felt a great relax. A nice atmosphere and friendly staffs, sea view from the lobby. The romm also had sea and pool view. a comfortable room with WIFI system which was very helpful for my business.
We spent a week there and it was a great trip and I have a very nice experience from Sanya.
Take a trip there and enjoy your holidays there. It's great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manouchehr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    249
    58
    23
    19
See reviews for
76
66
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have been coming to this hotel for seven years. The pool is one of the best in the world and the ocean is a short walk away. The rooms are spacious and the rooms are kept relatively clean. The service is awful. The staff treats you like you are bothering them. With the exception of one assistant manager, they show no initiative. Given the generally outstanding service in Asia, this is pretty surprising. Do not eat in the hotel if you can avoid it. The food is fair at best.

The hotel is ten minutes from the airport, but outside the city. There are two restaurant in the area. Bennie's Bar is a ten minute walk along the ocean going away from the city. There is a Pauliner restaurant ten minute cab ride again, going away from the city.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinanomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singerzhang, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Chinanomad :
Thanks for your support with Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay in the passed years ,
Here we are appreciated with your precious advice and share with your stay experiences this time.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. we realized that there are still long way related with service quality need to improve , meanwhile more training should be on going asap not only for manager, but also new staff.

we hope this would not deter you from choosing Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay again in the future, we look forward to hearing from you and welcome you back to share our wonderful pool and enjoy the peace holiday.
Thank you!

Sincerely,

Singer Zhang
Public relation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed 4 nights from Apr 10 to 14. We had a room on the fourth floor looking directly down to the pool area. Fantastic view. We ordered room service and sat on the balcony. Very pleasant breeze and so relaxing. Love the cabanas and our favourite is one where we have to wade to get to the cabana. Not a deep pool, which suits me fine as I can't swim. Very private and we spent every day after breakfast there. Grounds very well maintained and pools are the highlights.
Beach area very ordinary, nothing much to do there. We caught the No. 26 bus to town (3RMB) and we just alight when everyone does. Problem with language if one doesn't speak Mandarin. If you can, you will get a lot more assistance to your queries. Ordered dessert one evening at the Marina Cafe, which never arrived but was charged. There were at least 5 staff around the cash register chatting and nobody bothered to check on the order. Service is very, very slow in the Chinese restaurant. Food is average, best to eat elsewhere.
Room is clean and nice to have a bowl of fruits (free). Wifi only on the ground floor not in room. However internet connection is available in room. Best to spend a bit more to get the ocean view, it is well worth it. Hotel was very quiet maybe not the holiday season?

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pools and ocean view. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ammelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

About eight years ago, when this hotel opened, it was a fine place...crisp and clean, low key and a manageable scale. Since then, I see no signs of any updates, and the property, especially the grounds, have fallen into disrepair. There is an overall feeling of dinginess to the guestrooms and public areas alike. If the room rate were $40 a night...OK. But for $150, Holiday Inn is basically cheating you. I, for one, expect at least to get clean sheets for that rate. A friend of mine worked here in housekeeping, where the staff was instructed to change the sheets only if they looked dirty...otherwise, reuse them. On a positive side, the shower design was very good. ..if you could ignore the mold growing in the corners. The breakfast buffet was the highpoint...still I cannot recommend the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Oceanfront only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanya1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear Sanya1000,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the showers.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding housekeeping and the property being dated. We will look into this point.I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is an older property, but the setting is lovely and the grounds are well maintained. However, the lack of good management and training results in a very deficient and disappointing product.
When one exists, we typically prefer to book an Executive/Club level room, in order to ensure a quiet place to have a light breakfast and evenings cocktails. From the website, this Holiday Inn promised just that, and at what appeared to be a reasonable price add-on for this service. The Holiday Inn in Guangzhou, which was our prior stop, afforded such a Club setting and a very enjoyable stay. When we arrived with all our confirmation papers, nobody at the front desk knew anything about a Club room, floor or service. If not for the extraordinary efforts of the Manager, Ms. Lisa Huang, we no doubt would have left at that point. When we finally entered the elevator to get to our room, what should we note next to the top floor elevator button: "Executive Club Lounge". We finally found out form the hotel General Manager that there had been a Club floor and Lounge, but that it was removed more than three years ago. I have waited a month to write this review, assuming that this would be fixed and I'd write this off as an accidental blunder. Not! If you check the web site today, you will still find the executive rooms listed, with evening cocktails, separate check in, etc.
The included breakfast buffet was another example of non-existant management and lack of supervision and caring. All of the western offerings were cold, not tepid but cold, not once, but every day. One day even the tea water was cold, due to an empty sterno can. Nobody noticed or cared. When my wife pointed this out, she was met with a shrug. So, I guess it should be no surprise to add that dropped food or liquids could go unattended for upwards of an hour. Amazing that nobody slipped and injured themselves. Again, management?
During our stay, we tried both the Chinese restaurant and the "general" restaurant. The food was mediocre in each and the service, not surprisingly, was totally impersonal and uncaring. Oh, guess I should add that my wife is fluent in Chinese, so none of these observations can be written off as a language problem. We wound up having several meals at a little place on the beach called "Bennys", about 7-8 blocks to the right of the hotel. The food was not fancy, but good and fresh, the Benny and staff really seemed to care about their clientele -- what a nice change.
On the positive side, the grounds were pretty and well maintained, the rooms were clean, if in need of updating, and the hotel is only about 15 minutes from the Airport. Our room faced the water, with very nice views. The rooms facing away from the sea were dead on to the airport, and subject to constant jet noise. The rates did seem lower here than at the newer four and five star hotels in the area, most of which were significantly further from the airport. But one should investigate these alternatives before settling for this Sanya Bay hotel.
More important, would be the question: Why Sanya in the first place. Anyone from the Americas of Europe would do much better, and travel far less, by beach vacationing in the Caribbean, Hawaii or or Canary Islands. Those from Eastern Europe and Asia, think the islands of Thailand and Malaysia. All will provide a more convenient, prettier and, likely, more reasonable venue.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SharkFlorida_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The room you have could spoil your entire trip, so make sure you book the ocean view, otherwise you will be kept awake by the noise of the planes taking off.
This hotel is only minutes from the airport, which is its biggest drawback.

This hotel is set up more for families than for business and team building. The only meeting space is hidden in the bowels of the hotel, without windows.

Room Tip: Ocean side, not airport side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

I have been in this hotel in the spring, it was clean, shiny. Tasty breakfast, very clean room, near the sea, but it doesn't stay in the centre of city, if you would like to have a noisy rest, it isn't good place for you:) but for the calm rest it is very-very good :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy_ttrroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Sanya Bay
0.2 mi away
Grand Soluxe Hotel and Resort Sanya
8.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Baohong Hotel
Baohong Hotel
#37 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
8.8 mi away
Herton Seaview Hotel
Herton Seaview Hotel
#157 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay
Address: Haipo Tourism Resort Area, Sanya Bay Road, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#60 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Sanya Bay Resort - The Pearl of Sanya Bay, situated on the scenic Sanya Bay. It overlooks beautiful Sanya Bay sandy beach, East Island and West Island. The Resort is 15 minutes away from the famous The End of the Earth, Nanshan Buddhist Cultural Zone, Sanya Phoenix International Airport and the downtown. 226 tastefully decorated guest rooms and suites with wide balconies overlooking spectacular sea & mountain views. The Executive Club Floor features 35 guest rooms & suites and an elaborate Club Lounge, which provides coffee, tea and evening cocktails. You can enjoy a hot spring shower in the room.Every restaurant offers a choice of indoor and outdoor seating. The Marina Café, an oriental bistro restaurant & café, features global favourites with specially designed set menu and lavish authentic buffet spread to suit local taste and international travellers. Guest can enjoy exquisite Cantonese cuisine, as well as local popularities of Hainan Province in the Southern Hill Chinese Restaurant.A place overlooking the distinctive swimming pools and spectacular panoramic ocean view of Sanya Bay, the Harbour Lounge features snacks, pastries, coffee, teas and cocktails.Holiday Inn Sanya Bay Resort offers a very relaxing environment that features comprehensive recreational facilities. Hot spring massage gives you a wonderful experience. Only at the Holiday Inn do we provide a festive Philipine band for your dinning enjoyment! 'a colorful trio of guitars'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanya Bay Hotel Sanya
Sanya Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing