We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel”
Review of Tianfuyuan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tianfuyuan Resort
Ranked #65 of 1,355 Hotels in Sanya
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We were so disappointed with this hotel. The rooms are dirty and old. Loads of Mosquitos and geckos in the rooms too. Our balcony overlooked a bus car park. Don't waste your money there are far better hotels out there.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pampillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

There is very little English-speaking capacity in the staff. There was a rat running across the floor in the downstairs Chinese restaurant while we were having dinner. Tried telling a waiter but he didn't speak English (I used hand gestures of animal running on floor) but he wasn't interested to find out. The brochure in the room lists features such as pedicure but try getting one--they supposedly have a beauty shop/spa where I tried to get a pedicure (it was impossible to make an appt that they could keep). The so-called beauty shop/spa is a dodgy-looking grotto with private rooms and doesn't open til 4:00 pm, featuring karyoke. Use your imagination on that one. The bathtubs are moldy and have moldy plastic mats, stained towels, etc. To get to the beach, I had to cross a busy street only to find that the boardwalk/stage to the beach was covered in a plastic tarp (another guest said one must enter the beach further down because that area is "closed." The hotel shop had a small tube of Nivea sunscreen for the equivalent of $30 USD. The breakfast was slim pickins although one can get an omelet. The bed was like sleeping on a plank, although I am grateful that I saw no bedbugs. Outside the Chinese restaurant, on the terrace before the pool, there is a large area paved with slick ceramic tiles that are exptremely slippery. It was raining and wet and I slipped and fell. Although lots of waiters and staff were sitting around in the restaurant, and I am pretty sure they had to have seen me fall, no one got up to help me up.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gal_i_vanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

This hotel is suited for people who will be only sleeping in this hotel, getting breakfast and don't expect anything else there. Nice sea, but beach is not so comfy, sometimes dirty. Food is monotonous (we were having same table every time) and not really tasty. Big nice pool but too much chlorine.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Besyata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I regret that I stayed in this Hotel, , I left the hotel with hundreds of bedbug mark all over my body ,
their breakfast is extremely poor quality , from their diluted juice to their tasteless brown color liquid that they call it Coffee ,
With 1/2 as much you can have far better breakfast in nearby restaurant.
There is no one with authority in entire hotel, for the simplest thing you have to go through 10 different leaders,
As for the stars go I think they got their 4 stars from Bubble gum machine
I tried several times to speak with their General Managers, he refused to speak and always pass the message to one of the front desk employee to handle the call.
Bottom line Pay a bit more elsewhere , and enjoy your valuable vacation time .

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank usasoroush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

As other reviews note this is a bare-bones outfit geared to Chinese and Russians. There are no frills, everything is an add on charge (orange juice at breakfast - "more money!") but if you want a cheap room with a walk to the beach it's OK. Wouldn't stay here again, or for very long at that matter.

English speakers are extrememly limited, even at the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank braneout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 27 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 16 December 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
MGM Grand Sanya
#15 of 1,355 in Sanya
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
South China Hotel
#37 of 1,355 in Sanya
265 reviews
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tianfuyuan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tianfuyuan Resort

Address: No.208 Sanyawan Road, Sanya Bay Haipo Resort Zone, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#60 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#64 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: £38 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tianfuyuan Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tianfuyuan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tianfuyuan Resort Sanya
Tianfuyuan Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing