We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya
Ranked #30 of 1,327 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here over the New Years holiday. This is the former Crowne Plaza property that is connected to the "mall", main shopping/eatery area in Sanya. I normally prefer to stay at westernized hotels, but the holiday made the prices impossible. So for staying at a Chinese hotel, I thought this place wasn't too bad.

It's great that its right at the mall-- starbucks, pizza hut, grocery, other amenities just steps away. There is a grass area that has a lot of kids stuff to do, but its ridiculously expensive. This hotel does have a very small kids room.

You do have to walk across the street and down a path to the beach, but the hotel has a bar/ice cream eatery and chairs/towels there. Totally hoarded by early morning probably, but at this time of the year, the weather was nice so I had no problem sitting on the sand with a towel sans umbrella with kids.

Breakfast is CHAOTIC but to be honest, I've seen equally chaos at Shangri La's and Ritz' during busy holiday periods. There just is more of it here and pushing to get that one item that may be gone in the 10 seconds it takes you to push yourself there.

They offer a 10 minute free massage at their spa which I took (head and shoulders). The spa area is very nice-- atmosphere has local feel, calming (water around the walkways). Discount on all prices (the spa is located at the edge of the mall).

We go to Sanya often for short breaks. I have other hotels that I prefer, but this is not a bad option at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maldives44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    392
    78
    14
    11
See reviews for
60
75
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel the first time it was a Crowne Plaza

The standards are still high, the rooms outstanding, and the buffet breakfast just as good

Only failure the English speakers were now not as available as before.

It is a walk to the beach, but there are is a large food court adjacent to the hotel which has every food you can think off

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank big47al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This resort has been around for a while. However, that does not mean that it is old. The styling is classic and is timeless.

The facilities are in excellent state of repair.

Restaurants are excellent and the service staff are well trained and do an all around great job.

Though it is not your typical Crowne Plaza it is well worth trying out.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BD700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

From the photos on the internet and on camera, the room looks great. Modern decor, upscale bathroom, clean white patio furniture... Don't be fooled. We had three rooms on the same floor, and all the cushions, pillows, chairs, anything with fabric aside from bedsheets had stains. The bathroom counter had visible hair/dirt. The interior of the bathtub was cracked and had brown stains on it.

Upon check-in, one of the rooms we were given keys to had not been cleaned yet. The state of the room was disgusting and I wished I did not witness such an awful mess. It was obvious that the previous guests had smoked in the room since they scattered old butts around the room. Did i mention that I had specifically elected to stay at a non-smoking room? When I informed the front desk, they kind of shrugged, and just told us that they will call us when the room was ready which was not for another 2 hours.

The DJ and entertainment at the hotel was very cheesy, and we ended up spending most evenings at the Ritz Carlton property for live performances and wonderful dinner. We will definately skip the Crowne Plaza and try the Ritz next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay at Crowne Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzetdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend and another couple for four nights. We had a King Bed Guest Room. The room was amazing; large, luxurious, clean, modern, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was gorgeous, as well as the terrace.

The only drawback was the horrible evening entertainment, which was a Chinese singing/screaming lady preforming songs in Chinenglish VERY loudly. It was so loud that we could not speak to each other in a normal voice, so were practically screaming. The "DJ" refused to turn the music down when we asked. In addition, the food served at the Brazilian restaurant was terrible! The meat was dry, had no taste, and the waiter was not so polite.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 67531212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed at this resort for Hainan golf tournament and it was surprisingly affordable and stunning. The reception area is spread out in grand fashion and open with tropical fresh sea breezes. The room was quite spacious and well furnished. The layout was very classy with poolside balcony view, very clean with great bathroom and large soft bed. Staff are attentive and the location is very central to Yalong bay golf, water sports, restaurants, shopping and beautiful beaches. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: Pool side, 3rd or 4th floor has great view and good privacy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jgh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed at the Sanya Crown Plaza Hotel during the Mid-Autumn Festival in 2011. I read many reviews mentioning that the hotel is a bit old and needs rejuvenation, I completely disagree with those reviews. It is true that the Crown Plaza is one of the oldest hotels in the area but it is really well maintained and has that Pagoda feel with decoration influenced by the Orient but still very modern- we thought the rooms were just gorgeous.

Rooms are large, beautiful bathrooms with stand-alone bathtubs. Great decoration and large terraces that have outdoor sofas one can spend the whole day on reading. The beds were super comfortable and the staff was very responsive in providing whatever we needed for the room ( e.g. extra water bottles, towels etc).

Restaurants: there are many places to eat at . Apart from the wide selection of hotel restaurants ( japanese, western, chinese food, beach bar), there are also tens of restaurants in the plaza area. The big plaza area is an independent development that is built on the premises of the hotel but is independent from the hotel. There we found Bejing Duck restaurants, Cantonese restaurants, Western coffee shop even. There was also a shopping mall ! This enriched our choices for food and we did not have to eat at the hotel the whole time

Pools: apart from the private beach ( a bit on the small side compared to the nearby hotels, but very clean and well maintained) , the hotel has 2 very large pools , one of them with a Jacuzzi that we definitely enjoyed quite a bit. The pools are very large, free form pools , with different depth and one of them even has a bar that you could order drinks from while still soaking in the water. The only drawback is there was not kid`s pool!

Beach: the beach is small and you have to cross the street to get to it. But the hotel provides transport to it. The walk to the beach was around 5 minutes so it was really not a big problem for us that the hotel was not directly at the beach. But the nearby hotels ( Horizon and the Mangrove tree had a much larger beaches in comparison).

Our only complain was that the bathroom and toilets seemed to not have ventilation ( very strange for a hotel of this caliber) so it was quite uncomfortable at times!

Definitely will recommend it to family type of trips but might be a bit boring for young couples or solo travelers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank longyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MGM Grand Sanya
#9 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Resort Horizon
#26 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya

Property: Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Hainan Island, Sanya 572000, China
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#27 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On December 30th 2005, Huayu Resort & Spa opened its doors for the first time and has since been welcoming guests from around the world with true Huayu passion. The property is well recognized for its classical Chinese architecture standing proudly alongside the tropical seaside. Whether you need a short refreshing vacation, a couples getaway, family holiday, or corporate annual meeting, we can promise that all your desires will be fulfilled. Whatever experiences you seek, the Huayu Resort & Spa works to provide them all. We provide 583 spacious and luxurious rooms including Executive Suites, Honeymoon Suites, Lagoon Rooms, Sea View Rooms & Town Houses. Five star luxury at your fingertips and outstanding facilities to cater for your every need, recreating the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanya Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing