We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calssy Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya
Ranked #27 of 1,326 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Calssy Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We travelled to Sanya for a quick R&R and booked with the Crowne Plaza. We got upgraded to an deluxe room due to my Priority Club membership. The service was really fantastic and staff was very helpful, the room was a pool view room and quite lovely. The decor was a modern Chinese ...the bed & room was MASSIVE! Overall a great hotel.

We were a bit out of the way from the city centre but there was fairly easy access of public transport.

The Tea Tree Spa just in the mall next to the hotel was fantastic. Must try!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winniyuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    389
    78
    14
    11
See reviews for
60
71
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

Me , my wife and son spend last week of June on this hotel . The hotel is quite good even if the cleanliness is not the best every where , the swimming pool is large and has a good design but there is nothing for children , my son bored a lot as no water slides or other things that should be there to make the children happy ,
Breakfast is very good , I suggest go late after 9.00 am , there are less people and you can have possibility to choose the food without be pushed out by some unpolite people, it seems that the chinese become crazy when see the buffet so is better you let them go otherwise you will be crashed somewhere....
I did not try the hotel restaurant but we try the restaurants on the commercial center " Le Floret" that as I understood belong to the Crowne Plaza , anyway the food quality is so so , nothing special , we try the Brasilian BBQ , the beef was super fat . The pizzeria was serving frozen pizza and the draft beer was 80% water almost every where.
Anyway this was not a big problem for us , what make me very upset is the behaviour of the hotel staff and employer , they looks very sad and unhappy , no smile at all !!!
Seems they are very sad to work and do that without any emotion .
This make me and my family very unconfortable stay.
This is the main reason why next time I will no stay in this hotel anymore

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxpapa59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

This 5 star chain gives the crowne plaza a bad name. The check-in service was like a zoo. While waiting in like people would cut and interrupt while we tried to check in. It took us 30 minutes trying to fight our way to the front desk. When we finally got our room, it was like an old 80s style that has never been touched up. The sofas were stained with cigar stains, the bathroom had mole on the walls. The door to the bathroom didn't close because it was broken off the track. I was very disappointed for waiting 30 minutes to change the room. Not only that the free breakfast was best to be missed. They had flies flying around the uncovered food and the cheese plate uncovered, dirty plates on the tables and no place to sit. . McDonnald's would put this place out of business. The pool was dirty and was a trashy place to pick up a cheap date.. I would not recommend this place to anyone. its dirty, un-friendly. and the beach was like a sand box. The howard Johnson Sanya was 100 times better!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

First visit to Sanya and stayed here on a recommendation from friends who have been a few times. Lobby building was an amazing Chinese Palace like structure - very cool. Excellent lounge bar on the floor above the lobby - called Tradewinds lounge. Room was nice and big and the king size bed very comfortable. Quite an off smell when we went into the room. Kind of a mouldy/smoky smell. Bathroom was quite clean but shower a bit mouldy. Room was a bit tired and could do with a spruce up. Free wired broadband in the room - should have taken my laptop.

Had a swim in the lagoon pool but very shallow and the water luke warm - not very refreshing. Ordered a Pina Colada from the pool bar but wasn't what I expected. Walked the 500 metres or so to the beach and had a swim. Beach is amazing and the high point of our stay. Would be a great family destination.

Quite a variety of restaurants attached to the hotel. We ate at the ZEN Cantonese place and enjoyed the food. Breakfast buffet pretty good as well.

Big downer for the weekend was the taxis. Most refused to use the meter and quoted us an inflated cost. Haggling with taxi drivers is not my idea of fun. Weather was brutally hot as well. May is the low season because of the heat, I was told. It's a shame the hotel was kind of rundown as it could be really nice if maintained properly. Highlight is the beach and, if we ever came back, we'd stay a a newer resort right on the beach - something like the Marriott which we visited and which was shiny clean and looking very well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank powmarday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

Recently returned from a three week tour of china. We stayed at the crowne plaza for six days. It was bliss, room beautiful and spacious including a huge bathroom. A good variety of restaurants to choose from, friendly staff, live music if you wished to sit and listen, well kept gardens, a liitle walk to the beach but no problem. The hotel could just do with refurbishing the beach lounge mattresses, but other than that fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birthdaypressieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Western Australai
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Beautiful place to stay - my husband and I had travelled to Shanghai and Guilin and Yangshou -
(Mainland China) for 10 days then decided to relax on Hainan for 7 nights before going onto Hong Kong. Good decision. Staff and service excellent, room so big and luxury - top floor. Lovely big pool, good shopping arcade, the supermarket was handy for snacks etc - plenty to eat for buffet breakfast - good array of resturants to choose from , short stroll to beach (10 minutes) (Resort not Beach Front) Local bus into Sanya easy to catch from back of resort, no problems. Ample taxis on hand wherever you want to go. We are both in our 60's and had a superb time., with no problems.
Used local taxi for day trip to Monkey Island and fishing village. The Driver - He had very little English but Crowne Plaza staff told him where we wanted to go and fixed the price.
Also did a day tour to the Ethnic village - very interesting. All In All a great place to visit - we are planning another visit hopefully this year in 2010. Australians are yet to discover Hainan Island but we fully recommend a visit. 10/10 for The Crowne Plaza
Betty & Desmond Draper "Westbourne Farm" York Western Australia 6302

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussies2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

As a British Expat based in Hong Kong, Sanya was an obvious choice for a short-break, as it's just a short 1.5 hour flight away. My wife and I did our homework carefully (or so we thought) and chose the Crowne Plaza, which was rated Sanya's No.1 hotel on Tripadvisor at the time.

Our visit to the Crowne Plaza was a disappointing one and we ended up changing hotels (to the Hilton - a vastly superior establishment) after two nights. I would not return to the Crowne Plaza.

So what's wrong with the Crowne Plaza? To be fair, I would not describe as a terrible hotel, by any means. As several reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are quite spacious and well appointed. The rates charged are also competitive and at a discount to the true 5* luxury resorts down the road.

My gripe with the Crowne Plaza is that it simply doesn’t make the grade. Its an average hotel, with some considerable drawbacks. As a result, it compares poorly with most of the other 5* establishments in Sanya. Consider:

1) The hotel was built in 2005. This makes it (believe it or not), one of Sanya's older hotels. I believe the age is beginning to show, partly due to some below-par construction work and partly due to poor maintenance. For example, mainly of the fountains in the resort had not been cleaned properly and had moss/ weed growing in them. Paint was pealing from the ceiling of the attached shopping/dining complex. The shower in our room didn’t drain properly, causing water damage to a wall

2) Although the hotel's brochures state otherwise, the attached shopping/dining complex is fairly low-grade. The shops are not exclusive by any stretch of the imagination and are full of trinkets and general tourist tat. Although the food served in the restaurants will 'fill a hole', we found it uninspiring and over-priced for what it was. The restaurants seemed more geared to service passing Chinese tour groups. The whole complex was aimed at the mass-market and seemed to be a somewhat bizarre addition to what was supposed to be a 5* resort.

3) Sanya's beach is fantastic. It stretches for several miles and the sand is fine, approaching talcum in places. However, the Crowne Plaza has one of the smallest stretches of beach belonging to any hotel as was packed for the 2 days of our stay. It's certainly not a place to relax, made worse from the whoops and cheers from Chinese tour groups on the adjacent section. As several reviewers have pointed out, the hotel is not actually on the beach, necessitating a 5 min walk to get there. Contrast this with most of the hotels further down which are situated directly on the beach and where it's possible to enjoy a little peace on an un-crowded stretch of sand.

4) The Crown Plaza's pools are relatively small and seem to have been built on a budget. They were also almost deserted, as it seemed most people headed to the beach instead. They were also unheated, meaning the water was quite chilly when we stayed in late November (though it was still 24 degrees during the day).

5) The service was poor overall, particuarly in some of the restaurants. However, I think this is mainly down to inadequate training, rather than the fault of the staff, as many were very well meaning.

In conclusion, I have no idea how this hotel became No.1 rated on TripAdvisor, a rating which shakes my confidence in the reliability of this website. The Crowne Plaza is a distinctly below average hotel for Sanya and I would not recommend a stay there. I can only imagine it would appeal to people on a tight budget and who were looking for a bed for the night and not bothered about the facilities, or the beach. If so, why come to Sanya?

One final comment: Ive noticed a few reviews on here from fellow Brits, who seem to have travelled all the way from the UK to Sanya. My advice would be to consider why you are going very carefully? If you are travelling in anticipation of a Tropical Paradise, then dont go to Sanya. By all means, Sanya's nice. However, there are much better resorts elsewhere in Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia that will provide a much better full-on tropical experience. Sanya's a developing resort in China, mainly frequented by the Chinese for a short-stay. For me (based in Hong Kong), it's the equivalent to travelling down to Cornwall for a long weekend. All very nice, though it'd rather be in the Med, if i had more time/ bigger budget.

For me, travelling to Sanya only makes sense as a short-stay destination for people based based in Asia, or for those seeking a few days of relaxation during a trip to the region. It's not a place i would travel half-way round the world to go to. And..... if it's Chinese culture you are after, dont bother with Sanya, as there's nothing much there. It's a new beach resort. Head to Beijing and the mainland proper. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AnEnglishmaninAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MGM Grand Sanya
#5 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Resort Horizon
#23 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya

Property: Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Hainan Island, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#24 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On December 30th 2005, Huayu Resort & Spa opened its doors for the first time and has since been welcoming guests from around the world with true Huayu passion. The property is well recognized for its classical Chinese architecture standing proudly alongside the tropical seaside. Whether you need a short refreshing vacation, a couples getaway, family holiday, or corporate annual meeting, we can promise that all your desires will be fulfilled. Whatever experiences you seek, the Huayu Resort & Spa works to provide them all. We provide 583 spacious and luxurious rooms including Executive Suites, Honeymoon Suites, Lagoon Rooms, Sea View Rooms & Town Houses. Five star luxury at your fingertips and outstanding facilities to cater for your every need, recreating the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanya Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing