We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Internet
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Pool
      • Restaurant
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Restaurant
      • Room Service
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
        View Hotel
        Excellent 5/5
          Reviews (1,167)
          Filter reviews
          1,167 results
          Traveller rating
          867
          240
          45
          8
          7
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          LanguageAll languages
          More languages
          867
          240
          45
          8
          7
          Show reviews that mention
          All reviewssunset barmo sanyayi yangcoral baybuggy servicenoodle barchinese restaurantpavilion restaurantplunge pooloysterssouth china sealong weekendnoodlespalm treeskids clubocean view roomresort is beautiful
          FilterAll languages
          Updating list...
          268 - 273 of 1,167 reviews
          Reviewed 14 March 2013

          Just returned 2 days ago. We had a great stay at the Ocean View room. The location of the hotel is tucked aside at a corner of the South China Sea. Taxi from airport takes 30min or so, roughly 60 RMB. It's not high season, so relatively few guests there (which is great!). Staff are friendly and generally helpful. Concierge guy can be more helpful, I don't sense the eagerness to help there. 2 main pools (I think there is 1 more small pool), 1 of them is temperature controlled, and quite long, and it's an infinity pool, we enjoyed it. We also used the recreation centre, including the pool table, ping-pong, gym. And we jogged around the resort and out to the street a bit. A lot of people like to get their wedding photos taken outside the water front (actually rocks) outside of the hotel (you don't actually see them, unless you go out, like I did my run). We dined at 3 of their restaurants, the Chinese one is the best one I think, the chicken, the duck and the lamb are all good. The Sat BBQ is ok, food quality and selection are average. The morning breakfast selection is very good, huge selection and it's buffet ;) Since Sanya is only 1.5 hr from HK, it's not a bad choice. We also went to Yalong Bay to checkout how it's like, we were close the central square, MGM etc are one side, probably also quite nice, but in terms of area, that probably will be busier than MO's area.

          • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
            • Value
            • Location
            • Sleep Quality
            • Rooms
            • Cleanliness
            • Service
          1  Thank germancarfans
          This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

          This hotel is run by very well intended staff (racing around on their golf buggies) but there's no hiding that its finish isn't mandarin's finest...
          The good:
          Nice upgrade on the room
          All restaurants nice and good variety
          Nice spa
          Good empty gym
          Very relaxing location
          Friendly helpful staff

          The not so good:
          Jade necklace crew playing who can gob the furthest in the one small heated pool
          Main Pool (which being the highlight of the hotel) being subzero freezing which was astonishing! "Some of the locals like it cold" errr no they don't as nobody was in it!
          Finish not really mandarin standard.. Lights hanging out socket.. Doors not quite fitted right etc... Standard built in a week Chinese style

          Thing that really bugged:
          Despite asking specifically not to process my credit card with Fx they ripped my eyes out and what should have been a cheap weekend became an expensive one

          Still if you are within an hours flight then nice weekend

          • Stayed: January 2013
            • Value
            • Location
            • Rooms
            • Cleanliness
            • Service
          Thank Alex R
          This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          Reviewed 18 January 2013

          The Mandarin Oriental at Sanya blew me away. It's huge, has a private beach, beautiful pools, excellent service, great food, lovely rooms.. ah.. and what i've seen of the competition in Sanya - though limited - it blows them away.

          It might look a bit pricey, but if you want a quality few nights away in China, I can't see you getting better than this

          thanks for rasining the bar for Chinese hotel quality MO!

          i just dropped a star for value as the laundry and Spa isn't included in the price (i think), which I think should well be included for this price

          • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
            • Value
            • Location
            • Sleep Quality
            • Rooms
            • Cleanliness
            • Service
          2  Thank mark e
          This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          Reviewed 18 January 2013

          We made our annual visit to this Resort last Christmas. This is a true hideaway for us as every time we stayed there, we would not go outside the Resort but would stay there to enjoy this beautiful and large Resort. Though things could never be perfect, it is still like heaven earth to us as generally the service of this Resort is of a very high standard and deserves a truly MO brand. Much of this is owed particularly to the staff at the Spa and the manager, her head assistant or supervisor and the Chefs at the Chinese restaurant. In respect of the latter, we were particularly impressed by the fact that they prepared dishes not on the menu for us during our entire stay owing to our special diet requests.

          We remember that the very first time when we stayed in this Resort when it first opened, we did not feel that this was a MO resort as things were below our expectations even though we were then staying in one of the most expensive villas at that time but over the years, we find this it has become a truly MO brand resort as generally, the staff would make extra efforts to please their guests on their requests. This is how we find the MO brand differs from other brands and why our priority whenever we travelled was to look for a MO hotel/resort.

          Now this Resort has to face a harder challenge as it has now finally become No.1 in Sanya compared to the previous years. It seems to us that it is harder to stay No.1 than to become No.1 from No.2. We truly hope this Resort will stay on the very top and maintain its MO brand status. Below are some suggestions we would like to share with this Resort as part of its loyal fans:-

          1. It would be nice to keep two sessions each day and have classes every day for the free yoga, tai chi and kung fu lessons. It appears that on our recent visit, it has cut down on these classes so that there was only a morning session and seemingly not on everyday.

          2. It appears it has more or less the same cooking classes for kids every year during Christmas time and adults are overlooked during this time. It would be nice that there would be separate cooking classes for adults during this period.

          3. The complimentary fruit and water station by the swimming pool could be refilled more frequently.

          4. The serving of complimentary ice cream by the pool bar at 3:30 every day could be extended to older kids or even adults who have a sudden urge to be treated like a kid etc. In fact, it is not surprising for adults to feel like kids in this beautiful and large resort.

          5. It appears that this Resort served complimentary hot Gru wine during the outdoor Movie night on Christmas eve two years ago (2010) but has since cut this when we were back. It would be nice to have this drink served during that time.

          • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
            • Value
            • Location
            • Sleep Quality
            • Rooms
            • Cleanliness
            • Service
          3  Thank hotelgoer168
          This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          Reviewed 25 December 2012

          Four nights at South China Sea Pool Villa during Christmas (with an elder and a junior), we are absolutely happy with the view, cleanness, services, the food and Far Gege’s shelter making game. MO has done a great work in Sanya. However, my son’s little “adventure” at the kid club has added bitter taste to our stay – he was pushed unexpectedly into a pond by a special kid (who is obviously a senior hotel manager’s son and plays like a king at the kid club) during the Christmas Day. The staff did not inform me even during the pickup time, only my son told me with tears in eyes… Apology received afterwards, but there is something I’d like to say: for the kids’ sake, treat them equally so they learn to behave at young age.

          • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
            • Value
            • Location
            • Sleep Quality
            • Rooms
            • Cleanliness
            • Service
          4  Thank Alicia Y
          This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          View more reviews