We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Sanya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Ranked #2 of 1,327 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What an amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed with our children, ages 7 and 10 for 5 nights. Wish it were longer.... The moment the driver at the airport handed me a cold towel I knew this was going to be an exceptional hotel. The grounds are gorgeous with the outstanding landscaping and 7 spectacular pools. The room (which was upgraded just because) was very nice and comfortable even for the 4 of us. The pool bar was great for daily mojitos which were the best! Also, the kiddies loved their complimentary ice cream everyday at 3:30! The staff was very courteous and aimed to please. Have to also mention the unbelievable breakfast buffet! Absolutely would come back here in a heartbeat!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    211
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
264
180
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have been several times in China, and I really like this country but Sanya is beyond words. And there just to make it even better is located the amazing Mandarin oriental. Location is very good since one is close to the city but once in the property it feels secluded.
The view is fantastic, service is superb. The Spa is celestial. Coming to this hotel was a dream coming true.
The rooms are spacious, the beach is very nice though not the biggest beach. We loved being welcomed with flowers and a refreshing drink, even when we arrived early in the morning they offered us the room.
The steam bath was not working in the main health club and we were offered to use one of the suites at the Spa for free, that was a really nice touch.
It is sad that not many people in the west know Sanya... this is still a destination to be discovered in this part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladept1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I were amazed at the excellent hospitality we received during our 4-day stay at the hotel. The duty manager (Derek) can speak Cantonese, which was a great surprise and relief to us, and provided us with superb service. I spent a wonderful evening at the seaside restaurant called 'Fresh' recommended by him and was given a complimentary birthday cake! It is a great place for a getaway and relaxation from the hustle and bustle of the city! Will definitely visit the hotel again and may try the villa next time!

Tammy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wu_tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Was there during Easter holiday but the hotel didn't seem too packed. The resort is huge and service is really good, most of the staff can speak English. There are 2 pools and one of them was huge with a water slide! They is a small beach area away from the pool (it was like in the middle of the resort), the water is clear but it is very rocky so we never swam there. We stayed at the Ocean Pavillion and we loved it. They do have a turndown service around 6-7pm so bascially your room get cleaned 2x a day. MO is located at the corner of the island so there is basically nothing around walking distance. If you don't want to eat within the resort, you can take a cab out to other places outside. It cost slightly more than regular cabs but it was still cheap. One way out will cost you around USD3 so it was pretty worth it as the food at the resort is pretty pricey. The cabbies will always try to convince you to use them for 1 day trip or try to change your destination of where you were going but just stick with your own choice!! One of them actually told us that if we would need to call him back to pick us up, hotel requires them to charge RMB50 (around USD6-7) per way. Not sure if that was true but it was pretty easy for us to get a cab back so you probably won't need to do that. There is also a shuttle which runs from 2-5pm hourly to take you out to the duty free or one of the malls close by. Oo we have also taken the cooking class and learned how to make clams which was free. Overall, we had a great time at resort, would recommend to family or couple!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jchau911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Thr service was fabulous, especially the spa. But the buggy car service was too slow, normally we had to wait for 5 min minimum. Maybe we can see some improve in the buggy car service in our next stay. Overall, it's a remarkable hotel, you will never regret your choice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terryli0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I went there with a friend for a long weekend, but after these 3 days of total relaxing, we both felt like we had at least 2 weeks holidays. There were a lot of families with kids, but the area is so well designed, that you will always find a quite place. The breakfast buffet is excelent, the Saturday Barbeque was great (with made by order ice cream). We had an Ocean view room with perfect Ocean View specially during sun set. All the staff is very friendly and helpfull, everyone from gardener, ayi to reception staff will greet you with a smile. But you never have the feeling that it is artificial or just well trained. They are well trained of course, but in a very natural, polite and dezent way. It started already with the booking as we came by night flight with arrival early next morning. It was the first time that I didn't have to explain which day we will arrive. We booked an airport pick up and the reconfirmation already clearly stated the correct arrival date without any possiblility for misunderstanding. And from that moment on, everything was just perfect! The Staff at the pool will always take care that you have enough water and that no longer used loungers are cleared and with fresh Towels. Fruits are available for free at the main pool. I can go on with many small details that made our stay just great. We will go there again, for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kscinsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Over the last 12 months we have stayed three times and we want to return ! The grounds and facilities ensure that it is really a very quiet relaxed environment. The management team are very visible and approachable without intruding. Despite what is going on outside the hotel remains a haven, with beautiful pools and views. My family, wife and four children (15,13 and twins of 8) have some very happy memories of this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCDGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
MGM Grand Sanya
#5 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Club Med Sanya
#1 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Sanya

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Address: No.12 Yuhai Road, Dadonghai Scenic Area, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya > Hedong
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanya
#1 Family Hotel in Sanya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#49 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the privacy of a secluded 1.2 Km nationally protected coral bay and nestled amongst lush tropical flora, Mandarin Oriental, Sanya is an exclusive retreat where nature is celebrated and tranquillity is assured. The luxury resort features a series of private low rise and villa accommodation with ocean and tropical garden views, innovative restaurants and bars, recreational facilities for both adults and children, a blissful Spa Village and distinctive indoor and outdoor conference and banqueting facilities. Located just 20 minutes from Sanya International Airport, the luxury resort provides convenient access to all of the area's major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya Hotel Sanya
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing