We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel & Staffs...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Ranked #3 of 1,347 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I had booked 4 rooms for my family trip. The hotel is Magnificient and Staff are the best assets at MO Sanya.
Perhaps let me start from Reservation, the team doing a great job to reply my emails promptly and in professional manners.
The moment we stepped out the car, my family members are delighted from the welcome amenities (garland for adult and baloon with shelves for kid), we felt like we are in hawaii.The welcome drink so cooling and kid get Sands box amenities courtesy by the hotel.
Marvis's from reception so helpful and friendly, she help me coordinate the birthday surprise arrangement for my sister with Jason/from Pavillion restaurant, both are done a great job.
Aside that, the operator shown her concern to the guest, my mother got minor injured and i called to get hand plaster however she arrange the first aid staff to ensure she is fine, this is absolutely well trained and care their guest. (sorry i dont remember her name, please convey my appreciation to her).
Housekeeping pay attention to details, my sister room was occupied by 2 x child plus both of them 4, next day the chamber maid placed extra towels in the room, you can feel a little touch by the service.
Pool attendants so accomadating, we ordered drink and they allow us enjoy inside the pool.
Concierge team had excellent follow up for the train tickets arrangement and i truly impressed the hotel staff work in such hot and humid weather however still able to give such wonderful SMILE and patient to the guest request.
I would like to thank you for the excellent team provide us fantastic service and we will definately recommend to our friends and family to visit MO SANYA, of course we will be back!!
From : Room # 9205 Wai

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SW8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have never stayed ,on many overseas holidays ,with the Mandarin Oriental group....this has been an absolute eye opener ....will definitely consider them again .
The resort in Sanya did not disappoint in any way .
The architecture ,modern minimalist ,with touches of local craft and artifacts ,makes this resort a very special place .The staff are so happy to please ,buffet breakfasts superb,gardens magnificient ,restaurants great.
Magnificient sun set bar to relax and enjoy a cocktail or snacks.
We stayed in a beautiful room with a small garden ,and plunge pool with views of the ocean .
It's a huge property with many pools and buggys on instant call to zip you around .
We did not want to leave ,so managed to extend for a few days more !
Would love to return !!!

Room Tip: We were close to beach
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVenetian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My sister and her family stayed at one of the Villa for 3 nights.
We visited them during the day. We had a wonderful time in the villa, as well as enjoyed the facilities in the hotel.

Great services, great beach, great pools, good selections of food...
Romantic dining spots along the water...
Complimentary breakfast and hightea for Villa guests.
And there are plenty activities designed for kids to play around (not to mention its white sand pool...)

Love, love, love it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 304gracec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Very beautiful architecture, the gardens around the buildings are perfectly addressed, pools are more then 4,one of them have also the send inside.The staff is polite and take care of you, for everything you need. At about 7pm you mustn't miss the aperitif at the sunset bar!the spa staff are really competent and the rooms for the couple have a little pool too.Situated at the end of Dadong Bay, in front of a nice white&private beach, just 10 min far by taxi to downtown nightlife. Perfect to feel relaxed and pampered.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AntoEVale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Speechless is all I can say.
I have stayed at well over 400 different hotels throughout the world on vacation and business and this is one of the best I have ever been in.
Where do I start. The service was incredible. Actually double incredible. There isn't enough star ratings for me to put for this hotel.
They arranged a private tour of a tea plantation for us, which was also amazing.
Personal massages, shopping, a show. Boat trip, snorkeling. Great pools.
Place was so clean you could eat off the floors.
Alot of amenities, alot of fun, alot of great impeccable service. Room really had the wow factor. Just everything was perfect.
Food was fresh, everytime I turned around there was a cart full of food on ice somewhere.

Great job to Mandarin Oriental staff and managers.

My top top pick in Sanya.

Have referred tons of friends to this place and they all have the same reaction. Wow.

Room Tip: Beautiful rooms, ocean view rooms very well equipped.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BENQUE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This resort is an oasis. Great pools and landscaping and the golf cart transportation around the resort is fun. Food and service excellent. One tip would be to consider splashing out on the better rooms -they have the wow factor that the standard rooms do not.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Mandarin is truly amazing. The resort is just magnificent, great beach and about 3 or more pools in different locations. They had these little canoe-shaped carts by the pools which were filled with refreshments ranging from bottled water to all sorts of fruits (baby mangoes, apples, pears etc) all laid on a bed of ice - free of charge ofcourse. On certain days they also offered lemonade lollies.
The rooms were wonderful with great views and most important of all a very comfortable bed. Overall the price of the resort might seem expensive to some but given the fact that you would go there for pure relaxation and enjoy some of the resort's daily activities I think it is well worth it.
I went with my mom, and I noticed there were many groups of girls and families with young children, so it wasn't a predominantly 'couples only' retreat.
As for the food, breakfast was good with a wide selection. As for lunch/dinner the restaurants were overpriced (except maybe for the poolside meals) so we decided to have most of our main meals outside the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
The Sanya EDITION
#1 of 1,347 in Sanya
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Club Med Sanya
#6 of 1,347 in Sanya
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Sanya

Address: No.12 Yuhai Road, Dadonghai Scenic Area, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya > Hedong
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#1 Business Hotel in Sanya
#1 Family Hotel in Sanya
#3 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#51 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: £145 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the privacy of a secluded 1.2 Km nationally protected coral bay and nestled amongst lush tropical flora, Mandarin Oriental, Sanya is an exclusive retreat where nature is celebrated and tranquillity is assured. The luxury resort features a series of private low rise and villa accommodation with ocean and tropical garden views, innovative restaurants and bars, recreational facilities for both adults and children, a blissful Spa Village and distinctive indoor and outdoor conference and banqueting facilities. Located just 20 minutes from Sanya International Airport, the luxury resort provides convenient access to all of the area's major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya Hotel Sanya
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing