We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful new Hotel, perfect for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Ranked #2 of 1,327 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful new Hotel, perfect for families”
Reviewed 14 May 2009

This is probably the best place to stay while vacationing in Sanya. I haven't tried the Ritz Carlton yet, but the Mandarin sets a new standard for the hospitality industry in the south of Hainan.

Being new, the hotel still has some problems - mostly with staff - but they are probably working on it.

the pros:

the kids facilities are fantastic. the entry pool with sand makes it perfect for very young toddlers. Our 2-year old loved it. Hilton has one in Yalong Bay, but the kids MO pool is 5 times bigger, very shallow, and full of beach toys. Also, the MO MO kids club has toys, books, dvds and the young crowds - unfortunately it closes at 6pm (they should maybe extend it during dinner time, so that parents have a quiet meal...)

The pools are great. The kids pool is separated from other pools, and singles or couples will find the tranquility they are looking for. One of the pool areas has 3 slides making it fun for the whole family.

The Food is good, but the proximity to the city makes it very easy to change restaurants every evening - unlike in Yalong Bay. Finally, the rooms are well designed, and spacious.


the cons: the beach is really average. It is short, narrow, covered with rocks and one needs shoes to enter the water. It dissapears during high tide; and Water is much less clear than in Yalong Bay. Also, the service in the pavillion restaurant is painfully slow, even when the restaurant is empty. average wait is 45minutes, making it difficult for parents with hungry kids.

according to the locals, Mandarin has the merit of having developped an area of Dadonghai which was previously a dump; nobody was going there, and the hotel has worked on this project for the last several years, reshaping the landscape. Being said that, it is located at the end of a lane behind a navy facility. During navy excercises, soldiers cut the road and taxis cannot go thru. We had to take a short stroll to reach the city and ... :-)

Overall, I still give the hotel a full mark, and will come back again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stef-paris-shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    213
    37
    7
    3
See reviews for
270
185
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We visited the resort in Easter 2009. It is a beautiful facility but it was clear that operationally it was not fully there. I was disappointed that several restaurants, shops, and entertainment facilities were not opened yet. The local staff are still getting up to speed and while very well intentioned, still need alot of practice. It was apparent that the management staff had their hands full...they were constantly running around trying to make sure everything was served, cooked, delivered, etc... it looked to me like MO had underestimated the amount of trainer staff they would have to import. I found the beach to be a disappointment and thought that the website for the resort was not honest in the photo depiction which shows couples strolling along the beach.... this is not that kind of beach.

Overall, I given what I paid (full price) I felt like I had a lackluster experience. A five star resort needs to be held to a high standard for this and ultimately I felt that I was paying for the privilege of being practice for the staff. Moreover, the fact that several of the restaurants were not open really angered me as this was not advertised ANYWHERE. I was sick of the Pavillion and their food within one day, but there were not many other choices.

MO Sanya has beautiful facilities, but I would advise anyone to avoid it for at least a year until they get up to speed.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dilzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We stayed at the MO in Sanya for 1 week end of April. We had an Ocean View Suite which is simply stunning and great for a family with 2 kids, you still have lots of space.

The positive sides :
- the resort is fantastic, it has many pools (I can't even remember how many !) and the vegetation is beautiful.
- our room was exceptional, very confortable, excellent seaview, quiet and very well appointed.
- the Spa is really nice and we had a few treatments there, they all were excellent.
- the Kids Club is spacious, airy and very clean (well it's brand new). It's still not completly finished but even though, it was really good and the ladies working there were friendly with the kids.
- it's very kids-friendly but if you want to relax and have some peace, you can easily do so as the resort is very big (but we never felt we had to walk too much).

The "negative" sides :
- the service is not so good. It really depends on who you deal with. The main problem is the language. Also at many occasions we noticed that Chinese guests were receiving attention first... that was quite annoying at the end.
- not all restaurants are open yet (the seafood restaurant is still closed), same for some of the facilities (tennis courts not operational).
- the food was excellent in the chinese restaurant but other than that, it was really disappointing and soooo expensive, that is really not a good deal.
(so we had dinner at The Banyan Tree a few nights, at the Thai restaurant that is really excellent. It's a 10 mn ride with a taxi).
- the beach is very rocky.

Another piece of advice : don't take the hotel transportation from the hotel, it's 7 times more expensive than a metered taxi (and there are plenty of them).

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hong_Kong_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

A friend and I stayed at the MO during the Hong Kong Labour Day long weekend. Like the previous post mentioned, this is a great resort if you want to get away from the masses of people and hotels that can be found in the Yalong Bay area. This property is secluded, and beautiful - we never left the property except for one dinner at the Banyan Tree (just to check out the competition - and we came back very happy that we chose the MO over BY).

The taxi ride from the airport is approximately 30min, and costs 60RMB. This hotel is located near the city centre, so if you want to do some exploring in the city, its really easy to do so (whereas the hotels in Yalong Bay, this means a 30-40min taxi ride).

We had lunch at the Chinese restaurant (food was OK; don't order dim sum); dinner bbq buffet at Pavilion which was quite nice, and also tried out the Wave restaurant, which offers thin crust pizzas, past, burgers, etc. The pizza was great.

The resort is very family friendly. There are 3 outdoor pools (one has 3 waterslides!). Most guests were from Hong Kong, Korea and Europe.

Poolside staff still need some training/practice though. But its evident that they do try (just as other reviewers have noted). For example, when we ordered some fries, and I requested mayonaise, I got milk delievered instead! They got it figured out in the end though.

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza, Marriott, Hilton and Ritz Carlton on previous trips to Sanya, and would choose to stay at the MO over these other properties again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkstar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We visited the MO over the Easter weekend. The MO is away from Yalong bay where one hotel after another lines the beach. It is in a secluded bay and away from the masses which is what we liked about it. However, the beach is a lot smaller than the long strip of sandy beach at Yalong Bay. We spent most of our time by the pool and it did not matter to us so much.

Our experience at MO was not dissimilar to Hong Kong Kara and Ms Hermes. Our check-in experience left us frustrated and restless. On top of that the spa receptionist did not properly take our bookings leaving us without bookings for the 2 out of the 3 days we were there. All the above said, we think these are teething problems any new resort is facing and it is worth giving the MO a chance. The management certainly took our complaints and disappointments about the spa very seriously and made up for it by assisting us with making an alternative booking at the nearby Banyan Tree spa, arranged for transportation there and back. That meant that we would miss our dinner but on our request, the resort arranged for our food order to be made and served it to us when we returned to the MO around 10.30pm after the kitchen had shut. Although we were upset with the mix up at the spa, but seeing the MO's efforts in trying to make up for it, it left a positive impression on us. It was also worth noting that the number of MO reception staff had also increased substantially on the check-out date and our check out was done in 5 mins.

The resort has 3 large pools, one catering for family with kids and another where children are not allowed. The standard of the restaurants and the F&B staff are very commendable. The chinese restaurant in particular has excellent food. Their F&B staff have clearly been very well trained as they were able to offer the little things which are often lacking in the service in Chinese hotels. For example, when we remarked to one of their indian wait staff that the indian dosai was on the oily side, he said that the item had probably been sitting on the buffet table for too long and he promptly went and got the indian chef to make us fresh ones. These are the little things which matter and go along way in making every guest feel special.

Lastly, we used the spa extensively during our 4 day stay and were very impressed with the ambience, infrastructure and therapists. They have 5 balinese therapists along side 5 Chinese therapists who spent the last 18 months in training at the MO Sanya with an MO spa trainer. We had the chance to test out the spa at the Banyan Tree but found that it was a few notches below the MO spa in terms of the ambience and technical standards of the therapists. The MO just needs to work on training the spa reception staff in taking reservations.

The resort is very pretty and the architects have done a great job with the landscaping. We will definitely go back but will probably wait a few more months to let them work through the teething problems.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My experiences at MO Sanya were pretty much similar to the other 2 posts. Slow service and late check in at 3:30pm. However, I must say that the staffs there were very friendly though I believe that they still need time to improve their efficiency. Overall we had a very nice and pleasant stay there and liked the Mo environment a lot (with high privacy and activities like cooking classes, kung fu & tea ceremony sessions). We would still consider MO should we visit Sanya again next time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Hermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We have had a relaxing vacation at the new Mandarin Oriental in Sanya with our two young children. I agree with the other post on this forum about the hotel. Our children loved the beach entry pool and the water slide is a lot of fun (although 2 of the 3 water slides are in fact closed for no advertised reason). The food is tasty and good value but we also disappointed to learn on arrival that the seafood restaurant hasn't opened yet (especially since we don't care for Chinese food so that restaurant was not an option for us). We had an Ocean View suite which was very spacious and great for 2 children. The hotel is nicely designed and beautifully landscaped with so many different pools. The service is very friendly but like the other poster mentioned, needs some practice. We were also greeted by blank stares to some common requests. Also, we were a bit disappointed by the beach. It is small and rocky and no one uses it. Lastly, we had a very rocky start to our hotel experience which I assume will be something that improves with time. We arrived on a busy holiday weekend on a flight from Hong Kong with several other hotel guests. When we tried to reserve a hotel car pick-up, we were told there were none available and we should take a taxi. After arriving, I asked the Mandarin representative at the airport if they had been able to locate a car pick-up for us and he said he would contact the hotel and get back to me (he never did). So we took a taxi which was not as easy as it sounded. We didn't have RMB and there is no ATM in the arrivals hall so we had to change money. Then, the taxi drivers don't speak English and don't seem to have any idea what or where the Mandarin hotel is (because it is new). So we had to have the MO represntative give our driver directions. Then, we got into the taxi and there were no seatbelts and we have two young children. Then, we arrived at the hotel and were told to take a seat in the lobby. While other people were receiving flowers, cold towels and welcome drinks and being checked in to their rooms, no one ever came back for us. Eventually, we stood up and got into a line to check in. After clearing the line, the receptionist couldn't find our reservation. Then she found it and said our room was not ready (we arrived at 1:30 and check-in is officially at 3 pm). We found this pretty disappointing especially with 2 young children who desperately needed a nap at this point. After a fuss, we were shown to a hospitality room where our kids could sleep. However at 3:15 pm, we still had not received a key to our room so I went back to the front desk. The manager there said our room was still not ready. When I asked her why, she said she didn't know and that it is a big room. At 3:30 our room was finally ready. When I asked to speak to the manager of the resort to alert him about these experiences, we were given a dinner voucher but the manager never followed up with me. Anyway, you might think twice about the hotel because of these comments but I urge you to give it a chance. I think the hotel is just new and was not prepared for the onslaught of guests on a busy weekend. It's a beautiful place and a wonderful place for young children and we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We intend to come back but hope that the management has resolved some of these issues by then.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongKara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
MGM Grand Sanya
#9 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Club Med Sanya
#1 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Sanya

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Address: No.12 Yuhai Road, Dadonghai Scenic Area, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hainan > Sanya > Hedong
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sanya
#1 Business Hotel in Sanya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#55 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the privacy of a secluded 1.2 Km nationally protected coral bay and nestled amongst lush tropical flora, Mandarin Oriental, Sanya is an exclusive retreat where nature is celebrated and tranquillity is assured. The luxury resort features a series of private low rise and villa accommodation with ocean and tropical garden views, innovative restaurants and bars, recreational facilities for both adults and children, a blissful Spa Village and distinctive indoor and outdoor conference and banqueting facilities. Located just 20 minutes from Sanya International Airport, the luxury resort provides convenient access to all of the area's major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya Hotel Sanya
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Sanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing