We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gloria Holiday Villas Qinhuangdao
Ranked #256 of 874 Hotels in Qinhuangdao
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“One night experience”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I browsed for quite abit before deciding to reside in Gloria. There was not much choices available on the internet for this town and I am totally relying on the reviews and made the best choice I can. Anyway, my plan was to stay for a night and objective was to visit the sites here.

This is a resort, chalet concept. The peak seasons understood from the locals are from late May to Oct. Most of the surrounding hotels around Gloria were not in operations, is not that they have closed down. It is located next to the sea, away from the train station that is in the town center. You need to either take a bus (number 21 or 35) or a taxi (around 20 rmb) to reach the resort. I would advise that you prepare Chinese name and address of the resort in advance as the local folks communicate in Chinese. Nearest site is the Lao Long Tou (Dragon's head).

The facility can be a little of low maintainence, understood that it was low season at the time I was here. Room was very basic but comfortable, only consolation was free internet connection (LAN) available in the room! Breakfast was decent with some variety, not to expect hotel standard and I am fine with that. Service staffs were alright, willing to assist. Not much entertainment in the night so maybe you may want to have a book or an early night. I think it should be different during the peak season.

Room Tip: Request for sea view, highest is only 3rd storey - no elevator though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gecko_cheeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Hi
i stayed in this hotel for about 4 days. Hotel is situated very near to great wall, dragon head and rooms overlooking beaches provide a very scenic look. Staff is very helpful. Complimentary breakfast is average. And food is so so. Hotel is worth staying for a day in budget overlooking sea and beach. But not for long stays.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qingdao
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I was there periodicaly in 2009 between January and June, and...ur coments are ridiculous ! U are poor organize boy if U dont realized that U go to small city, far from center... For future pls stay at home with mummy, that's my suggestion to U.
FOR ME HOTEL ARE PERFECT, NICE LOCATION, ALWAYS IS SOMETHING TO IMPROVED BUT IN THAT CASE I WILL BACK HERE WHENEVER I CAN.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alike_Jiaonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We booked a stay at this hotel from 4 to 6 June 2010. Upon arriving on the 4th of June, we decided that we would only stay one night. One of the factors that led us to decide to return to Beijing early was the terrible state this hotel was in.

The hotel's website on www.gloriahotels.com is nothing less than a sheer misrepresentation of what the hotel looks like. Photos are usually rather deceptively nice. But for this hotel, the difference between photography and reality was huge.

The buildings looked shabby and gray. There was a "golf course" which was no more than a 15m long strip of synthetic grass. Floor tiles were broken, weeds were growing on grass patches and it was nothing like the nice cheery pink colour that the website depicts.

Inside the room, the best part was the bed which was clean. The floor was uncarpeted. The air-conditioning was not really air-conditioning as no cold air came out. I suspect it was just an air-circulator.

The toilet was gross. the shower curtain had long large black streaks of mold and mildew on it. There was NO separate shower area so everytime you showered the whole toilet got wet. the shower head looked like it was 20 years old.

The location of this hotel was also far from the town. if you want to go to the Shanhaiguan town, you need to take a bus for about 15 minutes. At night, the place is practically deserted although this could in part be due to our being there during the low season.

Overall, please do not stay here. The hotel is rated as being 3 stars. But i would give it 1 star. Note that we stayed in the "Common Room" which is the cheapest kind of room. Maybe the more expensive rooms would be better? But i wouldn't bet on it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shangjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Qinhuangdao hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Qinhuangdao hotels
0.0 mi away
Shangri-la Hotel Qinhuangdao
Shangri-la Hotel Qinhuangdao
#1 of 874 in Qinhuangdao
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Qinhuangdao Peninsula Seasons Apartment Hotel
Qinhuangdao Peninsula Seasons Ap...
#158 of 874 in Qinhuangdao
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Qinhuangdao Beidaihe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jinhai Hotel
Jinhai Hotel
#63 of 874 in Qinhuangdao
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guailou Qiyuan Hotel
Guailou Qiyuan Hotel
#55 of 874 in Qinhuangdao
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Holiday Villas Qinhuangdao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Holiday Villas Qinhuangdao

Property: Gloria Holiday Villas Qinhuangdao
Address: Yunnan South Road, Shan Hai Guan Economic and Technological Development Zone, Qinhuangdao 066206, China
Region: China > Hebei > Qinhuangdao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 874 Hotels in Qinhuangdao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gloria Holiday Villas Qinhuangdao 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gloria Holiday Villas Qinhuangdao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing