We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel
Ranked #7 of 1,155 Hotels in Harbin
Reviewed 10 January 2014

IBIS HOTEL

Not that pleasant

The room was small and very basic, compare to other hotel, the heater in the room was better. The bed was hard though. No way to borrow hair dryer from the hotel, it was always out there somewhere, even though we need to pay a refundable deposit for borrowing it. Can’t request for extra pillow with the housekeeping, they said it was all out to the rooms. The bathroom was quite the size of an airplane bathroom, small and might easily bang on the wall if not careful.

The hotel staffs were not helpful, we asked some inquiries and quite often they seemed reluctant giving us information.

The hotel only serves breakfast and the food was average. The restaurant and the bar were closed after 12 pm; that means we could not order food from the restaurants for supper.

Wi-fi is only at the lobby, we had to stand at the corner doing our wi-fi as the sofas were often occupied by the tour staffs who work together with the hotel.

There were always men who rent their car as taxi, standing at the lobby. When we ask inquiries from the reception about some places, they would come close wanting to know and they would tell us how far it was to travel to the place we were inquiring, and they would ask us if we need a ride. Some of the time, we suspected that they made it up about the distance of the places so it seemed far and better to go there by taxi.

In conclusion, the stay was not pleasant as we thought even though the review of the hotel was high.

Room Tip: Request for a room with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Son8876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Read the Hotel website, then read the Ibis website and whatever they say count on virtually the opposite! Make special note of their oft repeated promise "If it is not fixed in 15 minutes it's on us"
They state if the rooms food or bar is not up to expectations they will fix it in 15 minutes or you do not have to pay for it. I am expecting some fun when we go to pay as we are not happy with any of it

The lobby is tiny, no room to sit and wait to meet guests or to await your vehicle. There are 4 seats permanently occupied by local young tour guides touting for business. The manager or owner obviously get kickbacks from these groups or it would not be allowed.
The hotel is narrow but one block long so when you get to the floor you are on if you have a high room number the corridor is very long. Perhaps 350 or 400ft.
We had booked our rooms 4 months prior, requiring one double bed room and room with double for couple PLUS single for child plus cot for infant. No cot in the entire hotel, we went to our room my wife and I had a double bed with about 18 inches of space from the foot of the bed to the wall. The "spacious work desk: of the website is about 8 foot long but not wide enough to hold my laptop in full. The "bathroom" is a prefabricated unit in a semi circular shape, which have just been pushed into the corner of the room. There is even a quite high step up to get into it. There are no face washers, no hand soap, only a "Multi purpose" soap dispenser in the shower recess. The towels are just strips of terry toweling cut to long lengths and hemmed at the ends.
Just as we were getting settled my daughter came and informed us that as the hotel had no cot and no room with facilities to sleep 2 adults and 2 children that we would have to move rooms and go to one called a "Family room", so my grand daughter can sleep with us and the infant can sleep with the parents. The ONLY difference between the room first described and the Family Room is that the desk is removed and a small single bed is in its place.
Breakfast, a real joke! According to Accor and the Hotel website there is a "Continental" breakfast from wherever you are around the world. The serving area is about 8 foot long by 5 foot wide once a small kitchen it looks like. Two of the hot pots are in the two piece sink on the bench. The breakfast consists of about 4 or 5 hotpots with various foods inside a toaster and some bread and a little plate with some indeterminate jam on it. If you run out of jam they scoop about 3 tablespoons more jam on the dish. No butter and HOT orange juice. I kid you not the OJ is in a heated dish. It is not really OJ just orange drink about the only orange it got close to was one waved over the top of the cordial as they mixed it.
I took 3 boiled eggs and some toast. After eating the toast I cracked open one the eggs. The yolk could clearly be seen to be grey! I cut the egg open to find the yolk was grey almost to its centre this, to me, shows that they probably leave whatever is not finished one day in the hotpot and heat it up the next day. We did not go back here for breakfast the rest of our stay. There is a Starbucks and a McDonalds within 5 -7 minute walk, if you do have the unfortunate luck to stay at Ibis Harbin go there for brekky
The room "extras", no hairdryers, 4 for use in 215 rooms. Not available after dark?????? Why not after dark? Are they solar powered? So with three women with long hair here for 4 nights we could not get one hairdryer the entire stay! The so called "Tea and Coffee making facilities in each room" consists of 3 Green Tea bags and 2 paper cups and a kettle. Go to reception and ask for coffee? No sorry. Milk? No sorry? A FRIDGE in the room? No sorry! Cannot believe in this day and age that there is any hotel that does not have a room fridge. They do have a drinks fridge in the lobby where you can buy a few drinks but the fridge is not turned on so the drinks are all lukewarm, even the beer.
After the breakfast we did not go to the hotel for lunch or dinner any more! There is a nice little collection of cafes/restaurants next doo to the hotel called "Food Street" many locals eat here and the food is good and well priced but all Chinese of course.
The hotel website says the food is available 24 hours but the other guests we spoke with said they just tell you kitchen closed!
The rooms are fairly clean but the windows haven't been washed since Adam was a boy! In winter you need to keep the blinds closed and a towel on the window ledge to catch all the condensation which runs down the glass. Room temperature is run from somewhere else but the room was quite comfortable not overly hot nor cold.
The water in the shower was high pressure and hot but the controls are stiff and you need care when adjusting the temp.
ALL floors seem to be smoking floors there are ashtrays in the hallways and also in the rooms. Our room s did not smell smokey but the halls were gross at times.
On paying for our stay reception could not give us an itemized account as the system needs 24 hours to catch up, so we can get our itemized statement one day after we check out! What a joint!
Beds are hard but not the worst I have had in China, pillows are inordinately soft and I had to use 2 where I normally use 1.
I cannot fully condemn this hotel enough. It is awful no service, no food, no fridge in room, often no staff who speak anything other than Chinese, for a tourist hotel pretty poor. Luckily my wife is Chinese so she gave them the rounds of the kitchen when required.
If you ever choose to stay here don't say you were not warned. There is a large hotel called the Manhatten just 2 blocks up the road check that out first it looks OK

Room Tip: Stay at any other hotel try the Manhatten
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Excellent location, 2 blocks from Sophia Church and on second parallel road to pedestrian street. Definitely great value for the price of ~300 yuan, comfortable bed and warm water. Those who want better amenities should go for Shangrila/sofitel/holiday inn and pay 1000+ yuan for that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khnavneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I travel extensively every year (about 100 days) and stay in hotels of large cities and small towns, the IBIS in Harbin has been the worst.
People giving this hotel a fair or good review may have very low expectations.

Location is ok
Beds hard
Breakfast haha what breakfast?
Bad odor in the hall ways
Kids believe the hall ways are a playgroung......and their parents dont mind
Rooms are "cleaned" in 10 minutes so you figure it out
People in the reception are her only to swap your credit card
If lucky you will be able to sleep from 11:00PM to 07:00 if the cleaning lady turn her radio down and kids are not let loose yet.
TV with 10 channels
No WiFi in the rooms
The pictures of the hotel are decieving

If you need a place to leave your luggage while in Harbin this is a good place but dont expect much more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Singa201325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Date of Stay:
21 December 2013 to 23 December 2013 (2 Nights)
Problems:
No Twins Room offer, only Family Room available (a Double Bed + a Small Bed)
Extremely poor water pressure with ONLY Warm Water on first night
Everything is excellent on 2nd night after moving to a Twin Room next day morning

Date of Stay:
30 December 2013 to 1 January 2014 (2 Nights)
Problems:
My booking record did not match with Hotel booking record (some guests got the same problems)
Good water pressure but ONLY "Warm" (not cold) shower available
Requesting Guests to have hot shower in next day morning
Not patience to listen to Guests' reasonable requests
Offering free breakfast after 30 minutes "negotiation"
Putting personal comment by Security during the process of "negotiation"

Advantages:
Good Hygience with good basic facilities
Comfortable Bed

Dislike:
Poor booking record
Unreliable water heating system
Rude Security
Travel agencies around the lobby of hotel

comment
Cheap price (because of poor and unreliable accommodation services)
Poor Breakfast Y22 per person with very limited options (totally 4-5 choices)

Not recommend because you would get angry with the responses of staff

Room Tip: Hot Water is an issue/problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed three nights at the Harbin Ibis.

PROS:
- fantastic location. Did not have trouble getting taxis, Walking street is five minutes away, starbucks six minutes away, st sophias four minutes away.
- great value for money.
- beds were just fine - maybe the cold air tired me out, but no one in our group of 11 had trouble sleeping
- heat was just fine
- no problem storing our luggage when we arrived early
- quiet..except for crackly staff walky talkies blaring all the time!

CONS
- staff not trained in tourist highlights of the city. No one at the front desk knew what time things were starting or finishing.
- we nearly missed a flight because the car we ordered from the hotel was 45 minutes late coming to collect us and when it did, they hadn't taken into consideration that it would be 11 people plus luggage, so it would only seat seven, so we needed to pay an extra 150RMB to get the rest of us to the airport
- hallways reek of smoke and you often see people smoking in the hallways. If management wanted to stop this, they could
- no hairdryer. There are a limited number of hairdryers you can borrow.
- in the bathrooms there are only body towels, not washcloths or handtowels
- internet in lobby is dodgy

Would I stay there again? Yes.

None of us speak Mandarin but we managed fine, but don't rely on the staff for advice. There is nothing regarding tourist highlights or attractions in the lobby. Do your research and have a great visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 545, 548, 549, 547
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dim-sum-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harbin hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn City Centre Harbin
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Harbin
Sofitel Harbin
#2 of 1,155 in Harbin
500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
#3 of 1,155 in Harbin
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Harbin
Kempinski Hotel Harbin
#6 of 1,155 in Harbin
72 reviews
6.0 mi away
Aoluguya Hotel
Aoluguya Hotel
#1 of 1,155 in Harbin
107 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wanda Realm Harbin
Wanda Realm Harbin
#9 of 1,155 in Harbin
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel

Address: No.92 Zhaolin Street, Daoli District, Harbin 150010, China
Region: China > Heilongjiang > Harbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,155 Hotels in Harbin
Price Range: £16 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing