We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel we stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel
Ranked #7 of 1,135 Hotels in Harbin
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    293
    126
    28
    20
See reviews for
92
102
65
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

i chose ibis because an international brand assurred me that i would get heat in harbin's freezing winter. the location is great, walking distance to sophia church, central street where the shopping is. the hotel is clean and comfortable. the staff are inconsistent - some quite helpful, some tried to sell me tour packages when i asked for advice, some just said they didn't know. overall, i felt i made a good choice. but unfortunately, on the last day, i had a poor check out experience. i called them to say i would be slightly late and reached the reception at 12.30pm. most hotels, and certainly all international brands would be fine with a 30 minute late check out. not ibis. they gave me 2 choices, pay for a membership that would give me till 1pm to check out, or pay for half a day. they were extremely adamant that they could not waive the fees. a small hotel might do so, but i really did not expect this from ibis in the accor group. overall, would still recommend this hotel. but be prompt in checking out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kas, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

For the price, you cannot do better. The rooms are the standard Ibis deal. Clean, comfortable but without frills. However, this is not really important unless you want to spend your days in your room. The heating was adequate, there was an electric kettle and the beds were good. The reception was somewhat chaotic, and full of baggage at all times. Maybe they could find another place to store it to avoid the initial sense of over-crowding and disorganisation that hits you when you arrive? I would recommend this hotel, which is in a convenient central location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triciaemptage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have just spent 3 nights here for the Ice Festival at the recommendation of a friend. It was perfect for our needs being well located and near to most amenities, clean, had family rooms (rooms for 3) and at a good price. We found the staff to be very helpful - Mary went out of her way to find us a reputable camera repair shop, and Oliver was also helpful organising storage of our bags for a day and also securing a taxi for the airport. Our toilet malfunctioned but was repaired within 10 minutes of us making the phone call to report it. Our rooms were well cleaned and refreshed daily. Location is good - walking distance to St Sophia Cathedral (and a great market/6th floor food hall overlooking the cathedral - Gold Sun or similar?), Zhongyang Lu (Central Street), Zhaolin Park and Stalin Park. Next door is also a food hall with many options. Two outlets of King of Oriental Dumplings restaurants are also nearby. But while on the subject of food - don't bother with the breakfast at the hotel. It's terrible. Egg and leek dumplings are a far better option. Of final note - our check in and out was the most efficient we have ever encountered during our 6 years in China.

Room Tip: The corridors are long. Request a room near the lift if you have any physical limitations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xingming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights during the ice and snow festival - it's a good hotel in a very central location, just down the road from important destinations like St Sophia church, the ice sculptures at Zhaolin Park and the main shopping street. The rooms are comfortable and importantly, well heated! Staff are pleasant enough, as per usual service levels in China, speaking enough English to help you with the basics but if you need anything more they might struggle a bit. Don't bother with the breakfast though, as it basically consists of toast, some canned fruit and yoghurt on the Western side and congee and steamed buns on the Chinese side - duck down the road for some local street food or the nearby international supermarket instead. Nonetheless, a very comfortable hotel for the price that you pay.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bec_H10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harbin hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn City Centre Harbin
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Harbin
Sofitel Harbin
#2 of 1,135 in Harbin
489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
#3 of 1,135 in Harbin
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Aoluguya Hotel
Aoluguya Hotel
#1 of 1,135 in Harbin
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gfour Holiday Hotel
Gfour Holiday Hotel
#94 of 1,135 in Harbin
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jingu Hotel
Jingu Hotel
#10 of 1,135 in Harbin
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel

Property: Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel
Address: No.92 Zhaolin Street, Daoli District, Harbin 150010, China
Region: China > Heilongjiang > Harbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,135 Hotels in Harbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing