We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for a couple of nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel
Ranked #7 of 1,152 Hotels in Harbin
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Nothing special about this place - chain hotel.
Rooms are clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast is paltry with virtually no choices - don't bother, go and find the Starbucks just down the road!
We stayed for two nights to see the Ice Festival and for what we paid it was excellent value, considering the hotels could charge an absolute premium at that time of year.
The location is excellent and I would despite the average rating recommend this to any friends going to Harbin for the festival.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Ok, this place is cheap, the rooms smell a bit musty and the sheets a kind of grey, but the location is just good. A lot of things in the neighborhood, a tour service for the icefestival and the staff speaks english. All in all a good stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

After reading some of the reviews left by previous travellers I was pleasantly surprised. If you are looking for somewhere basic but comfortable and central, particularly for the Ice Festival, and don't want to shell out for the likes of the Sofitel or the Sheraton, you could a lot worse than the Ibis. My double room was clean, warm and comfortable, with complimentary bottled water and a hair dryer (though no safe) in the room. The bed was pretty hard but this is pretty much standard throughout China. Plenty of hot water in the morning. Didn't eat breakfast as it wasn't included but there are Western coffee shops (Starbucks, Costa) a few minutes walk away on Zhongyang Lu anyway. I found the staff generally helpful and friendly although front desk service cold be slow at times. There is wifi in the small lobby but none in the rooms - annoying but again pretty standard for a Chinese hotel.

The hotel is handy for the shops and restaurants along Zhongyang Lu and for getting out and about to the Ice Festival. Short walk to the Cathedral, about a ten minute walk north to the river and Zhaolin Park where the ice sculpture displays are. A metered taxi ride to the Snow Expo on Sun Island and the Ice and Snow World park should only be about RMB 20. Cab from the airport should be around RMB 150, watch out for opportunistic cabbies trying to charge more, especially if you don't speak Chinese - mine tried to charge RMB 200 and when I said that was too much, cheerfully told me "Well I normally charge foreigners RMB 300 if they can't understand Chinese".

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Luo_Qing81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed in the "family room" for 2 nights during the Snow and Ice Festival. They arranged a taxi from the airport for us at midnight for 150Yuan which was the cheapes I found online, and the lift was about the best thing about our stay at Ibis. On arrival the lady at reception on night shift find it hard to break a smile and be pleasent in anyway. She told us we would have to pay for breakfast (and later we found out it was included in the rate I'd paid - my fault for not checking first). The whole hotel stinks of cigarette smoke. Ashtrays in the corridors and public places. the room was small for a family room and although basically clean it wouldn't have passed a close inspection. The bathroom was like a pre-fab type plastic cube which had been placed in the room. Over all the room was fine for a place to sleep for 1 or 2 nights but I wouldn't have stayed there for a good hotel experiece - just a place to lay our heads for 2 nights (one of which we had arrived in the middle of the night). There was toothbrushes, soaps etc. The staff the next morning spoke better English and were more helpful. They sell maps for 10Yuan at the reception and there are 2 computers standing in the lobby. Breakfast was terrible, it seemed like water had been added to the orange juice, coffee and milk and there were few options. However breakfast was cheap (can't remember how much exactly but about 29Yuan). I wouldn't stay there again, but for the price it was fine. Good location walking distance from the main pedestrian street and one of the Snow Festival venues.

Room Tip: You can take a shuttle bus to the Ice Festival at 4:30pm and they bring you back a couple of hours l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mash66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

If you want a bargain, in a good location this could be ok for you. We didn't like it because the beds were uncomfortable. It was hard to sleep, even with more bedding. Matresses were rock hard. Initially we booked a twin room, but the beds were like concrete. More like a camp bed - you could feel every spring. We swapped our rooms for 2 queen beds instead, that was a little better. Rooms are compact - everything you need - bottled water, kettle, shower, etc. A/C was fine - building was warm. Walls were very thin - we heard people shouting along hallways from 4am. Check in was easy enough, check out was a nightmare. Staff are not trained and english is poor. We were asked to pay for our rooms twice because they couldn't find the paperwork they needed. We moved to the Holiday Inn in Harbin which was more expensive, but a far superior Hotel regarding customer service and quality of beds.

Room Tip: Avoid twin rooms - beds are terrible. Queen is a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Towels are threadbare and literally falling apart. Housekeeping are rude and loud from 6am in the hallways. Reception have NO idea what they are doing. Took about 30 minutes to check in and the same to check out. Had to ask for water most days.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank TVH3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank bradsil123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harbin hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn City Centre Harbin
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Harbin
Sofitel Harbin
#2 of 1,152 in Harbin
500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
#3 of 1,152 in Harbin
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Harbin
Kempinski Hotel Harbin
#6 of 1,152 in Harbin
71 reviews
6.0 mi away
Aoluguya Hotel
Aoluguya Hotel
#1 of 1,152 in Harbin
107 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wanda Realm Harbin
Wanda Realm Harbin
#9 of 1,152 in Harbin
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel

Address: No.92 Zhaolin Street, Daoli District, Harbin 150010, China
Region: China > Heilongjiang > Harbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,152 Hotels in Harbin
Price Range: £17 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing