We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice festival”
Review of Sofitel Harbin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Harbin
Ranked #3 of 1,121 Hotels in Harbin
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ice festival”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Sofitel is relatively expensive, but generally provides the amenities that you expect for the price. The room was comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the concierge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank jeph2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding Sofitel Wanda Harbin. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

As you well noticed, we focus a lot on guest service, what we call "service with the heart". I am glad our different staff service was up to your satisfaction

I will share your comments with our team, I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Franck.G.P.Louis
General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Harbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    176
    55
    18
    11
See reviews for
39
55
10
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

supposedly the best hotel in harbin? room ok except poor insulated windows. ice forming inside. the smell of coal dust inside the room. if you care about pm 2.5 dont stay here its like im outside, with coal smell burning my throat. i stayed in room 927 suposedly a non smoking floor with smokers smoking anyway. the breakfast buffet was crap, poorly managed oily and overcooked. japanese restaurant buffet 338 rmb tasteless and low quality fish. shanghai restaurant no service to speak of...if your @ foreigner they dont know what to do with you. first floor cafe coffee has a strange sour taste. i asked the waiter why he said its italian fresh ground coffee. be aware 5 stars is not the 5 you get in beijing, shanghai, hk. very poor quality that does not live up to the quality sofitel is known for. no excuse can be made for lower standards in harbin...its not the end of the world. will stay next time at the shangrila.you are advised to do the same. to add insult to injury the room service said they are out of coke. i said go buy some then....5star hotels really? isnt this supposed to be the best service you can have?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shanghaiied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Wanda Harbin. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you you tell us detail information regarding our service. Personally I can not accept the matter that happened in our hotel .We already shared the inforamtion to tour eam, also take action to improve all your concern immediately.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. All the best to you!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice hotel... easy check in...excellent in-room facilities, fitness center. Free wifi in room which is the best thing i like in Accor group of hotels

I visited Harbin in winters, so in room temp adjustment was provided with humidifier. I had good sleep.
Complimentary breakfast was excellent...lots of item. Hotel is good for long stay too :)

Wanda shopping store near by have good options for eating outside the hotel also.
Dragon tower was clearly visible from room/ hotel.

just one thing i did not like was housekeeping staff was not good in english...

Room Tip: Choose front side room on upper elevation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrvikaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear UrvikaA,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Wanda Harbin. I am glad to see our products and services met your expectations.

I am sorry you encountered some trouble to communicate with our room attendants, we will make sure you get the necessary help next time.

As you pointed out, our shopping store next door is great help during Harbin winters, so extremely convenient.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Berta CANO
Acting Quality Manager
Sofitel Wanda Harbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Sofitel during the national holiday and had a enjoyable stay all in all. Service has sustained Sofitel five star quality. Staff were friendly and efficient. Special mention to the Sofit boy brock(uncertain the name) we met him on the Oct 3rd evening, his warm-positive attitude made a pleasant impression to us. F&B was good, a little suggestion to breakfast, if add dumpling as Harbin's feature,it won't cost more but so much the better. Lobby bar boy was friendly to us too. Hotel located in the new district, a bit distance travel if come Harbin for tourism purpose, however, taxi quite cheap here, Wonder if in the peak tourism season that hotel can provide a chargeable bus to the key attraction, thus, should cover the shortage of the location.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ser7ena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Ser7ena,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding Sofitel Wanda Harbin. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

As you well noticed, we focus a lot on guest service, what we call "service with the heart". I am glad our different staff service was up to your satisfaction, especially from Brook, working in SoFit and bar staff.

Regarding breakfast, we offer a selection of Northeastern Chinese food including dumplings on a daily basis. It is a pity you did not get to try them, but we hope you can taste them on your next visit!

I will share your comments with our team, also the idea about offering transportation during the peak season. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Olivier REVY
General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Harbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We returned again to the hotel for drinks and dinner on a few occasions during our stay in Harbin.
A big Thank You to Kevin and your lovely kind staff, you all looked after us so well at the Elements restaurant. The food is amazing so much choice the lobster was delicious.

Also a massive Thank You to Berta. You were always there to welcome us with a lovely pleasant smile. Your knowledge of Harbin was so helpful.
You went out of your way to help us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank julie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear julie r,

As on your previous reviews, we very much appreciate your comments regarding Sofitel Wanda Harbin. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

All around this year we have seen you coming to enjoy a drink in Ku Bar or having dinner in Elements. I am certain our staff were very pleased each time you returned.

I will share your comments with our team, specially with Elements staff and Berta. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you soon again!

Sincerely,

Olivier REVY
General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Harbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is one of the more expensive hotels in Harbin. I had originally booked the Holiday Inn city center, but my traveling partners had the Wanda, so I switched. I wish they had done so, instead. The Sofitel is in a shopping plaza, but far from downtown, the river, and the sights. The only thing nearby is the tower (if Harbin is the Paris of the East, is it the Eiffel Tower of the East?)

That said, the hotel itself is fantastic, mostly. The staff speaks good English, and, presumably, French? I did peg the one white staff member (in elements, the buffet restaraunt) for French... Anyway, the rooms were comfortable, some of the best beds I experienced in China (compared to Crowne Plaza and Marriott properties!), and the bathroom was excellent. The internet in the rooms wasn't free (always annoying, I decided to do without), but there was free wifi in the lobby.

The restaraunts in the hotel were excellent, if a little expensive. There were plenty of cheaper alternatives in the Wanda shopping mall, next door. The Bibimbap place was decent, and cheap, but the Pizza Hut should be avoided, my place was set with a white plate...with a mouse dropping on it. Also, I didn't finish my beer after a fruit fly landed in it. The breakfast platter at the McDonald's was fantastic, and I'm no fan of fast food (but even less of a fan of $50 hotel breakfasts!)

Getting taxis anywhere you wanted to go was easy. If you go to the 731 museum, arrange for the driver to wait for you and drive you back. The museum is a bit remote, and it should cost about 80RMB/hr for him to sit there (for a round trip total of 240RMB, give or take), and the museum should take about one hour.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polyglot_Solider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Polyglot_Solider,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding Sofitel Wanda Harbin. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Even though from our hotel to Central St. you need a 20-minute ride, we are conveniently located next to a shopping mall, as you mentioned, but also within walking distance from the Conference Exhibition Center, home to many business activities.

I am glad to see room and bathroom were up to your satisfaction. We are proud of offering a MyBed menu, unique to our Sofitel brand. Regarding the Internet in the rooms, it is FREE OF CHARGE for every guest, both cable and wireless.

I will share your comments with our team, and also with our French staff in Elements. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Olivier REVY
General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Harbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harbin hotels
4.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
#2 of 1,121 in Harbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn City Centre Harbin
3.5 mi away
Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Harbin
Kempinski Hotel Harbin
#6 of 1,121 in Harbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wanda Realm Harbin
Wanda Realm Harbin
#8 of 1,121 in Harbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Harbin Xiangfang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Harbin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Harbin

Property: Sofitel Harbin
Address: No.68 Ganshui Road, Xiangfang District, Hei Long Jiang, Harbin 150090, China
Region: China > Heilongjiang > Harbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harbin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harbin
#4 Best Value Hotel in Harbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Harbin 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the city’s business district, Sofitel Harbin brings the latest trends in hotel design to Harbin and sets a new standard in combining classic French hospitality with Chinese culture. Providing easy access to Taiping airport, the convention and exhibition centre, the hotel is your gateway to the region. Featuring 321 rooms of pure indulgence and Club Sofitel executive floors, 3 inspired restaurants, state of the art conference facilities, spa, fitness centre and indoor heated pool, the hotel has everything you need and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Harbin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Harbin Hotel Harbin
Accor Wanda Harbin
Harbin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing