We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Oasis on a cold winters night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Harbin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Harbin
Ranked #2 of 1,110 Hotels in Harbin
Certificate of Excellence
Xiamen, China
Level Contributor
186 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Oasis on a cold winters night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The winter in Harbin is brutal and you are better off inside than out. This hotel is an oasis in a great location within the Wanda brand. Hotel has swimming pool/gym/spa and is right next to the Wanda Plaza with restaurants and coffee shops. Stay here if you want a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xian1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Value Guest:

Greeting from Soiftel Wanda Harbin.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Wanda Harbin. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Gerneral Manager
Sofitel Wanda Harbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    174
    55
    18
    9
See reviews for
39
54
10
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at Sofitel Harbin last December. Didn't like the experience. We arrived at midnight with two toddlers. There was no bell desk, or front desk to help us with out luggages when we got off the cab. The lights in the lobby was dimmed owing to the time (very strange) and there was only one person on duty at midnight. So it took 20-30 mins to check in.

We asked for an extra bed when we booked the hotel. However, the room was without the rollaway bed when we checked in. We needed to call the house keeping and waited for another 20mins to get the bed all set up.

The rooms were very stuff and dry, owing to the heat. True, it's cold outside, but the heat was so strong that it was a but difficult to fall asleep. They did provide a humidifier, but didn't help much.

Room is okay by China standards, but below the normal Sofitel standards I would say. Bed is comfy, but the bed sheets are a bit worn down.

Service level was awful at night, but the staff, concierge and bell desks are very good in the day time.

Smoking was allowed around in the lobby. No separation of smoking area versus non-smoking area.

Location - quite far away from he tourist area.

All in all, I think I would stay at Shangrila next time.... If I have a choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenchankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Value Guest:

Greeting from Sofitel Wanda Harbin.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Wanda Harbin. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Harbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
197 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My first visit to Harbin I of course checked some TA hotel reviews. Didn't have much choice to select the hotel as I was invited to join a large conference happening in two of them. Stayed in the Sofitel and must agree, i was a little worried about the English language but as one of the reviews advises this is not so much the case at this hotel.

Transportation and check in were well organised. The rooms are in good condition and size and this hotel is one of the few respecting my wish "do not disturb" for 3 days in a row as I don't like my stuff to be moved around etc. In other hotels this is not always the case.

A visit to the bar was fun and even the General Manager said hello which in quite some hotels in China is a difficulty to find management interacting with guests. Most I liked the breakfast buffet choice wihch was top! Only downside food wise was the burger patty but then I haven't had a decent one anywhere in China the last two months and this one certainly was among the better attempts. Couldn't try the Japanese restaurant but then that's a good reason to return in winter when this place goes ice city.

Great also is the feature of a shopping mall right next door.

Room Tip: I would try for a high(er) floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Value Guest Guest:

Greeting from Sofitel Wanda Harbin.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Wanda Harbin. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Harbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
164 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nothing in particular stood out for me. It was like your regular business hotel and as I was there during the non peak season.

The cafe/bar at the lobby level has a view of the street outside. The orange juice was freshly squeezed and was good.

The gym is adequately equipped and its open 24/7 which is ideal for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your feedback.
We are happy that you could fully enjoy our facilities and have appreciated our
Lobby lounge atmosphere whilst trying our freshly prepared beverages.

One more time thank you very much for your feedback and patronage.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon here in Harbin.

Yours sincerely,

Franck G.P.LOUIS
General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Harbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

the sofitel hotel with very good location, it s very easy to go and see around the city, good traffic come n go fm airport! Cormfortable room+Good circumstance+very nice boys and girls always ready to help you!! It is a good memory to visit the city with the top class hotel service! almost forget the important point: the food! Unbelivable delicious chinese hand-made noodles----u hv to try it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurencexu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are happy that you could fully enjoy our facilities and have appreciated our All day Dining restaurant offers that indeed does not only offer western specialities , but also a large choice of chinese specialities from dim sum to freshly prepared Noodles to experience .
One more time thank you very much for your kind feedback and patronage.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon here in Harbin!

Yours sincerely,

Franck G.P.LOUIS
General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Harbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed in late June - early July, 2014. It was during the Harbin International Fair and the hotel was packed. It is obvious, that the staff is not trained well enough for this kind of pressure. Breakfast is a disaster - you hardly can find a clean table, you ask the waiter to clean it up and it takes him ages. Room service is slow as well. Be sure you are well prepared for the business trip, because there are no irons in this so called 5 star hotel. It is far behind its Big Brothers - Sofitel Chengdu and Sofitel Macau. Consider another option in Harbin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all please allow me to thank you very much for your feedback whilst I would like to sincerely apologies for the service shortfall.
As you mentioned indeed your last visit was falling during the Harbin China-Russia trade Fair in highest occupancy level with numerous large groups that were coming to have breakfast more or less at the very same time. We realize that at some stage our restaurant has been challenged with rush time at breakfast, and that at time our ambassadors and part timers were not efficient enough as not fully prepared to such a pressure , with the lack of seats at some stage.
Please rest assured that we are taking very seriously the incident that happened to you and that this is definitely not the kind of service standard Sofitel Harbin wishes to provide our Guests with,therefore reviewing thoroughly our all day dining breakfast flow process and efficiency, as well retraining our Service Standards operating procedures to our Members.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly through email address quality@sofitel-wanda-harbin.com for the reservation of your next stay here and welcome to process your booking through me to ensure your stay is to your satisfaction.

Once more thank you very much for your feedback and patronage,

Most sincerely yours,

General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Harbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Have not stayed in any other hotel in this area as we usually use this one for corporate purposes so cannot compare with any others in this area. Good hotel and has always met my needs anytime I stayed here. Location is good for central Harbin but can be a nightmare if you have to travel in and out of the city everyday during your stay. Mind you, alot of development going on with road network so is much better now than 2 or 3 years ago when I first went.

Nice friendly staff on the reception but have to say the concierges can be a little bit too eager to take your luggage off you when there are people who prefer to cart it themselves. Can feel like intruding on your privacy.

Restaurant is not bad, has a mix of Chinese and Western cuisine but for the same item on the menu, you may not get exactly the same presentation or content of it if you have it more than once in the same week for example. There is always the option of the buffet menu too though. Have not tried the Japanese restaurant opposite the main restaurant but heard it is good.

Rooms are good and comfortable, sometimes felt like A/C didn't work. You need a tool to open the windows by calling reception but if you are high enough up in the building, you may not see alot due to the air pollution (comes and goes, a bit unpredictable).

Overall form my experience I would recommend it. Fine for a weeks stay or thereabouts but you may find yourself getting bored and if you have someone with local lingo or can speak it yourself, it is good to take a walk in the vicinity, there is abig mall next door with shops and restaurants and a few restaurants in the vicinity, it will certainly make it a bit more worthwhile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J5TPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Harbin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are happy that you could fully enjoy our facilities and have appreciated our buffet restaurant as well as our rooms, Location and surounding of the hotel .

One more time thank you very much for your feedback and patronage.
We are looking forward to the pleasure to welcome you back soon here in Harbin.

Yours sincerely,

Franck G.P.LOUIS
General Manager
Sofitel Wanda Harbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harbin hotels
4.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
#1 of 1,110 in Harbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn City Centre Harbin
8.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Harbin
Kempinski Hotel Harbin
#5 of 1,110 in Harbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel
4.9 mi away
Wanda Realm Harbin
Wanda Realm Harbin
#7 of 1,110 in Harbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Harbin Xiangfang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Harbin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Harbin

Property: Sofitel Harbin
Address: No.68 Ganshui Road, Xiangfang District, Hei Long Jiang, Harbin 150090, China
Region: China > Heilongjiang > Harbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Harbin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Harbin
#4 Best Value Hotel in Harbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Harbin 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the city’s business district, Sofitel Wanda Harbin brings the latest trends in hotel design to Harbin and sets a new standard in combining classic French hospitality with Chinese culture. Providing easy access to Taiping airport, the convention centre and Zhongyang Dajie Pedestrian Street, the hotel is your gateway to the region. Featuring 322 rooms of pure indulgence and Club Sofitel executive floors, 3 inspired restaurants, state of the art conference facilities, spa, fitness centre and indoor heated pool, the hotel has everything you need and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Harbin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Harbin Hotel Harbin
Accor Wanda Harbin
Harbin Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing