We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel
Ranked #301 of 1,155 Hotels in Harbin
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Hotel is dirty and disgusting. Towels are tattered and dirty. Service is horrible and hygiene level is low. Couldn't sleep due to loud traffic noise throughout the entire night!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hfboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

The breakfest was not so good, but ok. There were so many people in hotel, that food was over very quickly. Coffe and juice were terrible.

The room was ok ( but not 4 stars, may be 3). The beds were big and comfortable, bedding was nice and clean, so we could rest. The bathroom was old and all scratched. Toweels - clean. The toilet had terrible designe: when you flash - everything first goes UP, and goes down only if you still pressing the knob!!!

We stayed there 1 day from the morning to the evening and left city by night train. We simply walked to the train station - it was very close. On the return our guide invited the local carriers - for 20 RMB per 1 unit of luggage - it was very smart and comfortable, since it was very big crowd right between the railway station and hotel.

So overall it was not so bad. But if you want to get real pleasure from Harbin - don't stay in this hotel, look for better, see my review on Modern Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This hotel seemed to be popular in Harbin from the huge number of guests we met in breakfast and hotel lobby. At all time, all common areas were packed with tour groups from our 2 days stay.
The hotel was simply overcrowded to expect any service. The location could been a selling point on top of its long history.
Our room was below average except the mattress and bed linen. The shower has been a pain to use as water temperature was either too high or low. The history of this hotel was shown through the carpet in our room. Looking outside from our room window was a huge chimney and lots of cooling tower.
If you just ask for a basic hotel convenient for your visit, it should serve the purpose. Other than that, there are better choices elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Good_Partner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

asking for 1500 deposit on top of cost of stay. said 'no' as dont use bar or phone. they agreed 150 yuan so why not ask for that in first place, i felt as if they just make deposit sums up on check in. reception staff rude, stood laughing when we were explaining things. got one girl over who could speak english who was no help at all though.

bellboy/doorguards stand around chatting do not hold doors/help you at all never once throughout stay of their own accord . we even had to point to door for them to help us.

room key not working, had to send cleaner wih a new one, lights were not turned on had to send cleaner again to sort. bathroom really dirty room not at all good. we did not ask to chnage as knew they would just be awkward as you could just sense tehy way they are with foregners, very rude.

breakfast terrible the wetsern style consisted of fries, chicken, bread and butter, cold coffee and watery orange juice. staff standing staring at you whilst eating off putting.

bowling alley 30 yuan for 20 mins and shoe hire also on top this price. no pool really bad for 4 star hotel. beauty salon/hair only from 9-2pm not good service for afternoon.

we asked for travel help but got shrugged shoulders and a miserable face when we went to travel section of hotel, we walked across railway station which was more help.

every night at 9.30 pm our room phone rang we never answered it first night as half asleep then did this following nights, again why complain as they dont care.

on check out we asked for depoist and they asked cleaner to check room, after 10 mins i asked if there was a problem, was told they wnated the room booklet back that explains about harbin. i said those booklets are complimentary in most hotels ive been too.they just laughed and asked for 5 yuan. i gave them it and the book as again just awkwardness.

the bellboy/guards were trying to take pics of my baby, i said no as after living in china for 6 months know that they put the pics in the local paper for money so i refuse now. they said sorry and laughed. then turned my back to see them doing it again, just pure disrepectfullness.

was glad to leave harbin is nice but this hotel is very bad and all staff need sent on cutomer service courses and to gain some respect. this is highly graded and needs gardde from a western point of view not just chinese !!!! as there were westerners staying there i noticed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank englishgalChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Very noisey as the location close to the railway station.Reception is not helpful, the porter watching us carrying the lugguages. Breakfast is awful ! Won't stay there again!

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank yaoyaogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2006

This hotel was not chosen by us, but booked by the train ticketing agent. The location is right across from the train station, but about a 15 minute walk from the central sights of Harbin. The rooms and premises were plain 2-star, but the service was horrible. There was no English spoken whatsoever, but this was not the problem, and to be expected because, after all, we were in China. But the staff's stupidity was not language related. For example at the restaurant, if you hold up an empty water glass to the waiter an point at it, he should be able to figure out that you want water. No. I didn't know what to do with the laundry, so I took it down to the front counter in the hotel's own laundry bag, with Chinese writing on it. I tried to leave it with them, but it was like they had never seen such a thing in their entire lives. I didn't know about the Shangri-la in town until afterwards, too late.

The Ice Festival is absolutely spectacular, though.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SurfaceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank epodlozhnyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harbin hotels
Railway station
Sinoway Hotel
Sinoway Hotel
#128 of 1,155 in Harbin
124 reviews
Wanda Realm Harbin
#9 of 1,155 in Harbin
47 reviews
Sofitel Harbin
#2 of 1,155 in Harbin
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
#3 of 1,155 in Harbin
883 reviews
Harbin Longda Holiday Hotel
#335 of 1,155 in Harbin
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel

Address: No.8 Tielu Street, Nangang District, Harbin 150006, China
Region: China > Heilongjiang > Harbin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 1,155 Hotels in Harbin
Price Range: £30 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heilongjiang Kunlun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing