We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, solid stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zhengzhou Yuehai Hotel
Ranked #58 of 1,425 Hotels in Zhengzhou
Beijing
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, solid stay.”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel was in a great location close to the train station in Zhengzhou. It is also close to some night markets and lots of food street vendors. The location was a big plus. Hotel itself was fine. Clean room, but the beds were quite hard. Not all that comfortable. Breakfast was typical Chinese buffet breakfast, but was unbelievably crowded the two days that we were there. May have just been our luck.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    53
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
6
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here just one night.

The hotel itself is quite nice and well-appointed. But the service was not good.

I got a room with a tub without any sort of shower door. As a result an otherwise beautiful bathroom already exhibits heavy rot in wood framing. The bed was comfortable.

Breakfast included a lot of choices, mostly Chinese, but I found what to eat. It is also rotating which I didn't realize at first.

The reason for only two points is the service, or rather lack thereof. Staff's English is very poor, but it is forgivable as not too many foreigners make it to Zhengzhou. However, we were not walked to our rooms and nobody offered assistance with luggage. Secondly, the following morning they absolutely refused to call a taxi to take us to the train station. Granted, it is close by, but a bit to far to walk loaded with luggage and secondly the station was very difficult to find if you don't speak and read Chinese. Thankfully, we found a helpful young guy who literally walked us most of the way to the station. This is just terrible.

Zhengzhou itself appears to be one large construction zone, including the area in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miami_Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The hotel is located at the station but when we stayed in May 2013 there are major construction works in the vicinity which meant we could not get a taxi to take us there and had to walk about 10 minutes to get a taxi when we left. It was not clear how long these works will take but it liked like months rather than weeks. If coming by the High Speed Train please note that its station is out of town and not close to Zhengzhou station.
.The hotel is reasonably priced, the rooms are huge, but in our room the windows did not shut properly and so the wind whistled all night. The tea bags on display turned out to cost us more than dinner the previous night and when we protested as they were not shown on the mini bar list we were shown sone tiny print in Chinese that purported to show an exorbitant price, so beware.
The location is lively and there are lots of reasonably priced restaurants close by. The English standards are a bit low. We asked for a converter plug and were escorted to a mobile phone shop!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This is a nice hotel in a rather bleak city. We stayed two nights so that we could visit the nearby Longmen Grottoes in Luoyang. We arrived in Zhengzhou by train and found it impossible to get a taxi that could fit our two suitcases. We decided to walk, as the hotel is quite close to the station. It was a bit difficult to find as the streets do not run parallel and not everywhere is paved (quite dusty in fact) but once we arrived in the hotel we enjoyed what we saw. The lobby is bright and sophisticated. The desk staff were friendly and helpful, with basic to reasonable English (our Chinese being slim to none) but more than willing to sort things out or find someone who could. Our room was the Executive suite (WELL worth the extra AUD$10). Only issue with the room itself was the lack of wireless internet- only cabled. The restaurant upstairs for breakfast had very nice food- mainly Chinese style with congee, noodles and dumplings. However, for a hotel built in 2009, I found the choice of making it a revolving restaurant a bit retro and 80s. Don't make a special effort to go to the Cantonese restaurant. The hotel is located in a shopping mall type area, and as we were there over the weekend a market was happening and it was a very crowded and busy area. Overall, a haven in the dusty chaos of Zhengzhou!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tubbygalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The major advantage of this hotel is its location - in the city center and close to the train station (10 minutes by foot). Interior is rather modern, rooms quite spacious and bathrooms nice with large shower cabins. We tried only top restaurant for the breakfast and we really enjoyed that - selection of food is really great, so everyone can find something for himself and have a good breakfast with a city view (I do not remember which floor was that, but that was probably the highest building in that area). What I definitely did not like about this hotel was the fact that is smelled of cigarettes in our non-smoking room, which is a huge problem for me... it is in general a problem in chinese hotels, however I would expect a really 'non-smoking room' from a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012 via mobile

The hotel is indeed strategically located near to the pedestrian street, with lots of shopping and eateries at the doorstep. The revolving restaurant was interesting, although it would have been better if they actually clean the windows regularly as the view is mostly marred by stains on the window.

I found the rooms above average. At least the the bed was not the back breaking hard ones. And the bathroom was reasonably clean with all the basic toiletries. I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank whinz_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We travelled a total of 9 days and stayed at this hotel most part of our trip - 5 nights. Travelling with family members including children from 3yrs - 9yrs old. We booked a total of 4 rooms/night.

All rooms comes slightly different from one another - some with fridge, better shower system. On our first night when we checked in, we were rather afraid to move around our room as it appears to be dirty; rusty taps, uncleaned bathroom floors and mini bar area (with no mini bar items) were stained with coffee/tea. We called our local guide to ask and were told that, that's because we were put in "tourist room" and that we will be given a new room the following day.
I later took to cleaning the room myself (for the benefit of my 3yr old) and found that what I saw were actually unremovable stains and not because they did not clean the room properly for our checked in. We stayed without moving to another room. Daily cleaning service covers only making up bed, rinsing of basin and toilet bowl.They did not even tidy up our the baby cot as we have expected it. Rubbish bin bags are only changed or emptied if there it filled to the brim!

The location of hotel is very convenient. There's a street of malls/shops just 5 minutes walk away and a McDonalds (very convennient for us after days of oily everything).

Breakfast is good with wide selection of local and weatern choices at the revolving restaurant (28th floor) however do not expect tea/coffee be served. You have to basically take everything yourself including looking for cutleries if they ran out of it. At night this restaurant serves Italian cuisines. There is a Chinese restaurant and we found it to be good and reasonably priced compared to some other chinese reataurant outside the hotel, which is pricey and food horrible.

Service wise, I would say it is only ok. They do their jobs, no less no more. PRC style.

Overall it's not too bad despite all of the above. It could be better if they make li'll changes here and there. We're make do with it as we travel China often and knows very well what to expect.

Room Tip: This hotel is filled with local tourist and I guess they segregate between international/local touri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zhengzhou hotels
Hilton Zhengzhou
#3 of 1,425 in Zhengzhou
176 reviews
Holiday Inn Zhengzhou Zhongzhou
#57 of 1,425 in Zhengzhou
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Hotel Zhengzhou
#2 of 1,425 in Zhengzhou
173 reviews
Railway Station
Sofitel Zhengzhou
Sofitel Zhengzhou
#5 of 1,425 in Zhengzhou
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhengzhou Yuehai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhengzhou Yuehai Hotel

Property: Zhengzhou Yuehai Hotel
Address: No.5 Dehua Street, Erqi District, Zhengzhou 450052, China
Region: China > Henan > Zhengzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 1,425 Hotels in Zhengzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zhengzhou Yuehai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Zhengzhou Yuehai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing