We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only things had gone to plan...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou
Ranked #471 of 1,413 Hotels in Zhengzhou
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If only things had gone to plan...”
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We arrived really late at the hotel, following a long train delay, to find that the booking we had made through Hotels.com for 3 nights wasn't there. The staff spoke a limited amount of English and us very little Chinese. They didn't appear to know what to do so in the end I called Hotels.com on my own mobile. I ended up passing my mobile to the receptionist who ran around looking panicked and eventually disappeared with it. I had to ask for it back and for the hotel to use their own phone to call the UK...they ended up putting us in a windowless cell, with faulty airconditioning. By this time it was almost midnight and we were exhausted and hungry. We told them we were not happy and that we wanted to move the next day. The room stank of cigarettes and the TV kept freezing up on the English language channels. Room service dinner was mediocre to say the least.

This did happen and we moved to a room with large windows which was fresh, modern and clean. They offered us fruit and weirdly two bags with crisps and cans of Coke in as compensation. They also offered us two free breakfasts from the buffet which is extensive and good (though not replenished after about 9.15 so if you go late, there is little left). On check out, they tried to charge us for the room we moved too and this led to 20 minutes of arguing. Eventually the manager was called and he knew all about out situation, shouted at the receptionist we'd been dealing with in Chinese and we paid only for what we owed rather than paying again for the accommodation. Unfortunately, this led us to miss our onwards train as we crawled through the endless tailbacks in the town.

The town itself doesn't really warrant a stay. We only went due to difficulties in getting trains and because it was a useful base for Shaolin and the Longman Caves (which we didn't get to due to the very late night and the need to shift rooms again). The hotel booked us onto a trip to Shaolin which was Chinese speaking only even though we had asked for an English guide, an experience but we learned very little about the place. The Chinese people on the trip with us were very kind and warm.

The hotel is very modern but I don't think that they are used to Western guests. They were hosting a conference whilst we were there and the delegates were all Chinese and Indian. They stated that they had a pool online and in their printed materials but they don't actually have one. There is a public one around the corner but we didn't go.

Location-wise, it isn't in the centre of the town and it is a big place to try and walk around. It is surrounded by the apparently best bars and restaurants in town though they were quiet (and we were there over a weekend).

In all, if the booking situation hadn't happened and we hadn't had a windowless cell for a night, I would give the place a better rating. Its fine as a business hotel (indeed the business centre as the cheapest I came across in China) but there isn't much reason to be in Zhengzhou really.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank confen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liu c, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
All the guest advices and suggestions will help us to make progress and provide better service.Again, thank you for staying our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    81
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
3
5
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2010

A great business hotel, with a good atmosphere and well-equipped rooms. The hotel was slightly out of town and not that well located for the train station, but still only about a 15 minute walk to Erqi Square. The staff were very helpful, and even went to the train station to buy my ticket for me! The restaurant wasn't great though- I would recommend the fantastic street market just around the corner. A great choice if you're in Zhengzhou, especially at bargain rates (only about $55 for a room!)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liu c, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for choosing Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou. We are looking forward to serving you and your client again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
139 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2009

This hotel is an excellent place.Our room was spacious -- with faultless facilities. The staff were very caring -- particularly the two managers, Mable [sic] and Mark. They were more than helpful! In fact, the whole hotel "team" were excellent. There are, however, a couple of things to consider. Chinese hotels generally want a prepayment on one's credit card at check-in. Somehow the internet rate for this hotel was much cheaper than the rack rate -- 700 yuan vs. 2l00 yuan (if I remember correctly). So we made rather a fuss when the front desk wanted a prepayment of 5000 yuan for our four nights. They did not seem to realize what the internet rate was -- a veritable bargain! (Mable intervened very nicely and sorted this all out... ) As well, the hotel pushed the hotel car service when we could take the bus or a taxi for much less money -- to Kaifeng, the airport, etc. However, we did take the hotel car to go to Luoyang, and although pretty expensive it was convenient. All in all, we were more than happy -- and spending Christmas at this hotel was a real pleasure!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liu c, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for choosing Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou. We are looking forward to serving you and your client again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
368 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

During our two week trek around China and over eight different hotels, this was definitely one of the best hotels that we stayed at.

To begin with, there is not really a compelling reason to go to Zhengzhou unless you are there for business or using it as a hub to visit neighbouring Kaifeng or to Shaolin. Otherwise, the city is quite grimy, chaotic, noisy and smelly! Even more reason why the Ramada was an oasis during our stay in this part of China. It was a very affordable luxury and the location was excellent.

I have not stayed at a Ramada for quite a while but the standard was excellent. I have the impression that western hotel chains invest more heavily in their Asian properties than they do in North America or Europe. In my mind, Ramanda is not a premium brand or chain however the standard in Zhengzhou was very much four to five stars. Speaking to locals, it has an excellent reputation and the facilities were excellent.

The property seems to be very new and the reception was very modern and impressive. The rooms were to a very high standard, decorated in a western style and very, very clean and well kept. The flat screen television was excellent as were all the bathroom facilities and beds. The room overlooked the front of the building and it was very quiet. The 6th floor gym and pool were under renovation which was a bit of a disappointment but the hotel stay was otherwise excellent.

The staff made a world of difference and whilst their level of English was limited, they were very hospitable and tried their best. We made good use of the business centre and received some excellent help from the staff to plan train and day trips around Zhengzhou. We also received a welcome drink coupon for the bar and a discount for their dinner buffet.

The online travel agency describes the area of the hotel as the “commercial district” of Zhengzhou. I expected this to mean commercial businesses and buildings but the area is actually a (smelly) market area with drying flattened ducks, squids and other goods. This gives the area a lot of personality and made the stay a lot more interesting. The hotel is in walking distance (about 15 minutes) to the train station and the night (junk) market that takes place in the city centre. Best of all, there are many excellent restaurants around the area of the hotel and this was a highlight of the trip.

We used Zhengzhou as a base to go on a day trip to Shaolin and Zhengzhou was en route to Kaifeng for their famous night market. Ask the hotel for help if you are planning a day trip to Shaolin because it can be a bit tricky. There are buses available but they sell out very quickly – best if you buy far in advance as soon as you arrive in the city. Ask for someone to write what you want on a piece of paper to give to the ticket office at the bus station. The trip is about 1.5 hours and the departures are quite frequent and the bus tickets are very cheap. There is no reason to take an organized tour to Shaolin as you can happily do it yourself and on your own time and without an obligatory stop at a tacky souvenir store. As for Kaifeng, don’t do it as a day trip from Zhengzhou, it deserves at least two days to enjoy the night market and the charm of the city. Kaifeng departures are about 5 per hour and depart from an auxiliary bus station (not the one across from the railway station) and are very, very busy.

Take note that you MUST have the Chinese name of the hotel written on a piece of paper (or at least know the name in Chinese if you speak Chinese) otherwise there is 0% chance in getting a taxi to take you to the property. Hotel names in China are translated into a completly different word or phrase in China. Saying “Ramada” or “Hilton” means absolutely nothing to taxi drivers or to your average Chinese person. Finding the hotel was one of the more stressful parts of the trip as no one had a clue what we were talking about. Therefore, plan in advance and ask the hotel what it is called in Chinese and if possible, get a Chinese person to write the name of the hotel on a piece of paper (including the address is even better!).

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

A.Wong

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liu c, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for choosing Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou. We are looking forward to serving you and your client again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zhengzhou hotels
Hilton Zhengzhou
#2 of 1,413 in Zhengzhou
161 reviews
JW Marriott Hotel Zhengzhou
#1 of 1,413 in Zhengzhou
138 reviews
Le Meridien Zhengzhou
#3 of 1,413 in Zhengzhou
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Zhengzhou Zhongzhou
#15 of 1,413 in Zhengzhou
200 reviews
Railway Station
Jinjiang Inn (Zhengzhou Railway Station)
Railway Station
Sofitel Zhengzhou
Sofitel Zhengzhou
#5 of 1,413 in Zhengzhou
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou

Property: Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou
Address: No.11 WeiSan Road, Jinshui District, Zhengzhou 450003, China
Region: China > Henan > Zhengzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Zhengzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhengzhou Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing