We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was okay. Not a hotel you will dream to return soon.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorsett Wuhan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dorsett Wuhan
Ranked #14 of 2,300 Hotels in Wuhan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Room was okay. Not a hotel you will dream to return soon.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The room was ok. But my first room had small trash in the bin of the bathroom, had strange smell as someone had slept but not changed the bed sheet yet. The next day, the construction sound woke me up. The reception later assisted me changing to another room. My second room was up to standard. The towels of this hotel were unbelievable wear out.

The location of this hotel was good. Easy access to everywhere by bus or by Metro.

But this hotel never touch my heart. During my stay, hardly any staff say greetings to the guests actively, even during check in and check out.

Breakfast was so so. If you don't expect much from a 4 star hotel, you should be satisfied beyond a 3 star food quality.

If you want a hotel with good location, decent size of the room, this hotel still is worth of considering if you get a good rate. However, be prepared that breakfast may not so delicious and the service quality still require some improvement.

Room Tip: Ask a higher floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    122
    35
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
16
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
152 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Overall all I am satisfied with my stay given the rate is competitive.

Location is excellent. It's at the centre of Wuhan downtown. It's directly on the "pedestrian walk" which means it's the High Street of Wuhan (shopping only). Underground (2 stations on line 2)is just 5 min walk. River side (like the Bund in Shanghai, with listed western buildings (old Citibank, HSBC, etc.)) is within 10min walk.

Hardware-wise, the hotel is very photogenic. But when you see the actual rooms, the finish is 3-Stars max. (when it's new, should be 4-Stars). Carpet is ruined by cigarettes' burn (very common in China) and the beige colour make it so obvious. Fittings and hardware not best maintained. Towels are old and wear-out.

Breakfast is just ok, and is more attuned to the Chinese style. Still have certain western choices but expect it a not fancy buffet breakfast. The coffee taste "instant" to me. It offers a fried egg booth and a noodle booth. Cooks' English is not fluent so using sign language plus pointing to pictures helps. Initially you may find them a bit arrogant by western standards but later I discover they are very helpful. It's more the regional (Hubei) culture that they are more "rough" in their tone and manner.

I also have dinner in their Chinese restaurant (same place as breakfast). Actually not bad. The price-performance is pretty good. A friendly request of "less oily" while ordering would be good. Hubei cuisine is fairly oily. And order the dish and rice separately. The dish portion is much much bigger.

High floor is better as it's noisy on ground floor. Request room with windows when booking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ambambamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zhang d, Director of Sales at Dorsett Wuhan, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your stay Dorsett Wuhan and share your valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused due to our facilities during your stay. we will continue to improve our service standard and provide all guests an excellent experience while stay with us. we are looking forward your next visit.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

One of the best hotels that we had stayed in our China X-mas and New Year holiday trip. Even the hotel is next to the pedestrian street, it is easy to access many places or by taxi. Wuhan Dorsett members help me online booking due to our special request. Prompt communication with hotel.

I have read many stories from TA on China hotels staffs who cannot speak English. But, this hotel is not. All the staff members at front desk and housekeeping are understand what you are asking and find someone to help you. Easy check-in and check out. Their money exchange rate is also not bad. 24 hours small 7-eleven style store is next to the hotel. Good coffee and snack bar is at ground floor next to reception.

We got a room in 12th floor with 2 bed rooms for 3 adults facing to Pedestrian Street. Good view to watch sky line and people at shopping places. Our room is big, clean and good. All rooms have new digital TVs and can access Wi-Fi. Fresh fruit baskets and complimentary water are there. They clean their room every day and make the bed where many Chinese hotels do not.

The most I like in this hotel is their B/F. As an oriental, I do not have seen many choices of oriental and western menus in one huge dining room. All waiters are very helpful if you ask something that you do not know, they will find someone to assist you. Their daily different menu B/F is the best selection that we had stayed in 4 hotels in China.

Hotel security is keep an eye on every customer and assisted on security card key to use elevator. 6th floor of this hotel building has movies theater and sometime at night maybe you can hear sound from there or karaoke bar. I would highly recommend this hotel, if you are travelling to Wuhan for any purpose. Thanks to David and his crew in this hotel that has make us home for our 2 short nights in Wuhan.

Room Tip: Ask for higher room from street and karaoke or movie floor noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhtoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zhang d, Director of Sales at Dorsett Wuhan, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Mr.Htoon, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Dorsett Wuhan. Thank you for your positive recommendation for our hotel. it is the best encourage for us. we are looking forward your next visit.

Sincerely
Dorsett Wuhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were only in Wuhan for one night, so we wanted to be where the action was and Dorsett was just that! Surrounded by shopping arcades and restaurants it was really convenient looking for food and shopping. There's also a night market just down the street. However a word of caution - do try to get into the hotel before the night market starts. My train from Yichang arrived at about 7pm and by the time I got to the hotel, the night market has started and my taxi could not drop us off at the entrance of the hotel. We had to drag our bags and walked through the night market to get to the hotel.

The room was very spacious but the towels, bedsheets and carpets are old. I would rate Dorsett a 3 star rather than a 4 star hotel. There was a good variety of food for breakfast.

We only had one day in Wuhan. The front desk was very helpful and helped us to arrange for a private car to show us around Wuhan and then dropped us off at the airport in the evening.
We enjoyed our short stay in Wuhan.

Room Tip: Get in before the night market starts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana298313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at the Dorsett Wuhan one week ago, a great hotel except that you need to call for a taxi when you want to go to other places. The Hotel is situated in a very best location where you can spend plenty of time walking around so many shopping arcades, shops and small eating places.
All the fast food restaurants are just around the corner. I like the place very much and I certainly will visit this great hotel again and again in the near future whenever I visit Wuhan. Hotel rate are reasonable prices, room are clean , bed are good. I stayed for 5 days.
I give a thumb up.

Room Tip: For a lower price room come without window if you dont mind but if you like to see scenery from a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PoweRails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at the Dorsett in September 2013, The room was beautiful, the staff were very very good. Fanny showed us our room and gave us a very good price, She was excellent to us, we will always return to this hotel from now. The location is the best, the breakfast was very good. Nothing was too much trouble for the people working there.....

Room Tip: We took the business room. Very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malandqianqian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is my first time in wuhan city,I booked this hotel room online with pre-paid offer.It's a 4 star hotel in the most popular street.location was great,near the subway station.Local people called"luxury hotel in the street" and I think they were right!!!! The breakfast was tasty!!!!and the bed was great.Had a wonderful night here!

Room Tip: I think higher floor could be better to see the city view....and also with a window...LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Condans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wuhan hotels
1.5 mi away
New World Wuhan Hotel
New World Wuhan Hotel
#1 of 2,300 in Wuhan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Wuhan
Shangri-La Hotel, Wuhan
#5 of 2,300 in Wuhan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Riverside Wuhan
0.7 mi away
Marco Polo Wuhan
Marco Polo Wuhan
#8 of 2,300 in Wuhan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hilton Wuhan Optics Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wuhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wuhan

Property: Dorsett Wuhan
Address: Hong Kong & Macau Centre, No.118 Jianghan Road, Walking Street, Hankou, Wuhan 430014, China
Region: China > Hubei > Wuhan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 2,300 Hotels in Wuhan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Wuhan 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wuhan is situated in the heart of downtown Wuhan, located at the famous pedestrian boulevard Jianghan Road. With the convenient transportation network, travellers may easily access to major Wuhan attractions and commercial sectors by metro railway Lines 1 and 2 at Xunlimen Station. The Hotel sits atop the Hong Kong & Macau Centre with a movie theatre and a department store, adjacent to Jiqing Street which is famous for its wide array of gourmet makes it easy for guest to accomplish everything they needed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Dorsett Wuhan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing