We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel which is good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake View Garden Hotel
Ranked #77 of 2,402 Hotels in Wuhan
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I restrict my comments to the hotel and not Wuhan itself which although interesting I would not recommend as a place to visit.

I stayed for 7 nights in this hotel. I had a nice room on the 5th floor facing the lake. It was by Western prices a good deal, I paid 400 RMB per night. The room was spacious, with desk, tea making facilities, plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. The bathroom was clean and everything there worked. There was a turn down service and everything was kept well serviced e.g. supplies of free bottled water. Also the WiFi worked almost all the time although with variable speed and having to switch networks.

I found the restaurant less good. I was enthusiastic about Chinese style meals for lunch and dinner (provided by my hosts at CCNU) but preferred a Western-style breakfast. The options were pretty limited there. Also the tables were not really cleaned up properly between diners. There did not seem to be a bar to sit in the evening, although I was too tired anyway.

The style and ambience are quite glittery, not very understated (like say the Optic Valley Kingdom Plaza down the road which is much more expensive though). The location didn't seem that good but it is not clear where one should go out to anyhow. Finally there were a few oddities like the fact that people were smoking in their rooms and leaving the door to the corridor open.
Staff on reception spoke good English and the process went smoothly.

I would stay here again though. I give it more 3.5 stars than 4 but 3 seemed harsh because it is better than average in several categories.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

NIce decor in a hotel built and decorated in a traditional style. Grounds, which were well done, were separated from the busy, uncrossable street outside. A nice boardwalk on the lake took one to the lake tea house and nice views. Breakfast was extensive with both Western and Chinese offerings including a make your own noodle bowl. Lunch was good. One group dinner for our meeting was not so good. Wedding parties appeared to have a good time.
Sit in the lobby and tea is delivered immediately while you listen to the live piano music. However, I could not find a bar. Bottled water was supplied daily and in room tea and coffee were always stocked. I did not use the business services. Wireless worked but had to find the right sign-on wireless. TV got CNN, BBC, and HBO along with many local channels. Well lighted rooms with nice bedside reading light. Elevators fast.

Room Tip: Get the lake view for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeNWUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I have been here for business purpose and it's a wonderful hotel. All the architecture of the building is chinese style and the service is pretty good.
I have faced some problems with the cold and hot water in the bathroom. It looks like it's common to use very hot water in China, as other friends had same problems in different rooms.
Besides this, the TV had only one english channel. This should be improved if the hotel wants to become more international.
The breakfast was chinese style and pretty complete, but lacks of western style food.

It's a good option, as the location is excellent (Optical Valley).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPNieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

i'm staying here for a few nichts (5th floor, seaside). the hotel is a conference hotel, also bus groups are located here. the hotel is in the middle of wuhan, greatly located at one of the 1000 lakes. IF you have a seaside-located room you will have a nice and great view to the lake, really nice; if not you will detect that you are in the middle of an unattractive city.

this brings me to the point: the nice thing is that the hotel is doing everything that you should not detect this. nice springfalls produce waterfall sound so you will not hear wuhan. very good.

the restaurant is lower than average, tables and chairs are sticky, the food is ok, the quality is something between those of a 2 and 3 star hotels restaurant, may be more 2star. the restaurant personal is not speaking chinese. mosten it's not written what you are eating, if something is written it's not identifying whether it is.

i let my chinese assistent arrange a non-smoker room: what i got was a middle-sized flavored room at the (5th floor). the furniture was ok, nice arranged. the bathroom is ok, everything works, looks used, partially damaged. the water is not clear, hints about this (no drinking water) are missing. wireless lan works perfectly, it seems that the wireless repeater are very close and room-wise located.

the conference location (close by) is unacceptable and neither related to national or international standards. on the lower level (sea level) the mold smell was tried to compensated with incense cones: wooaahh i have seen this stupid things before. the rooms are badly damped, so you hear what's going on closeby. the furniture is partially old. nothing representative.

incentive: three oranges and some sweets a day: nice.

if you have the smell in the nose you catch this within the whole hotel, neither knowing if this comes frome your clothes or from the hotel rooms.

the personal is friendly, but unexperienced. hope that your creditcard is not locked due to douzends of trials for charging your bill. it may also be helpful if they hire more experienced personal with better english language skills.

conclusion: acc. for some days if you have to be there, if not: choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joedi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2006

I didn't actually stay there but had a business meeting/pickup in the spectacular lobby. We arrived early so asked to see some rooms with a view to possibly staying there on a future trip (we were staying at the Shangri-La). Rooms did not look impressive and had a strange smell.

Stayed: May 2006
Thank member_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

Spent two nights at this beautiful hotel. Incredible lobby, including a fabulous dragon in the ceiling with a light bulb in its mouth. Statues and artwork line the hallways to guest rooms, with directed lighting creating a feel of walking through a museum. Room was compact, but clean and adequate for a single traveler or a romantic couple. Best bed I had in China -- high thread-count linens, comforter, firm mattress. Only had a stall shower -- certainly not an issue for me, but might be something to check if you prefer a tub. Breakfast buffet was fine; didn't have any other meals here.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Megapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
12
Reviewed 21 May 2006

The Hotel is fine. My room was spacious and clean , bed comfortable. It had a view overlooking the lake, very nice. Very reasonably priced. Restaurant was fine.

I took a taxi from the airport to the Hotel, 87 RMB on the metre excluding tip. I asked the Concierge about a taxt back to the airport, he said he would arrange one for me but make sure when I left to make sure to take one with registration number was AY 7840. It was waiting for me when I left, I did not realise until half way to the airport however that the driver had not put the meter on and he charged me 200 RMB - so watch out!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wuhan hotels
8.3 mi away
New World Wuhan Hotel
New World Wuhan Hotel
#1 of 2,402 in Wuhan
734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Modena by Fraser Zhuankou Wuhan
7.2 mi away
Dorsett Wuhan
Dorsett Wuhan
#18 of 2,402 in Wuhan
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Wuhan
Shangri-La Hotel, Wuhan
#9 of 2,402 in Wuhan
1,533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Hotel Wuhan Guanggu
Ibis Hotel Wuhan Guanggu
#224 of 2,402 in Wuhan
16 reviews
6.8 mi away
Marco Polo Wuhan
Marco Polo Wuhan
#7 of 2,402 in Wuhan
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Garden Hotel

Address: No.533 Luoyu Road, Hongshan District, Wuhan 430079, China
Region: China > Hubei > Wuhan > Guanggu Square , Wuchang District
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 2,402 Hotels in Wuhan
Price Range: £29 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake View Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake View Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing