We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan
Ranked #5 of 2,363 Hotels in Wuhan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

At over 1000 yuan per night this hotel is overpriced for what you get. The rooms are not big. The bathroom is small. I stayed in November and the heat could not be adjusted. They did bring a fan but the room still felt like a sauna to me (okay, it was 26C). The included breakfast buffet was very good; nevertheless, the next time I visit Wuhan, I will try another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 581paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed there several times and actually hotel is very good with excellent river view. Rotating roof restaurant is excellent. Only flaw was that there was tobacco odor in non smoking rooms, I think management will need to work hard to ban clients not to smoke in non smoking places.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank Aytun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed for work in and was surprised by the size of the rooms - which were very large and had great views of the river...

However despite being a '5*' hotel it is very tired and dated, towels and bedding etc are worn down.

Room service was one of the bonuses with surprisingly good western food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charleyquant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is situated in the old part of town. You see a lot of colonial style buidings but it also means that the area is run down with a lot of slummy buildings. The nearby restaurant we ate at served the worst meal of all our time in China, better you should pay the extra to eat at the hotel. Our room was OK except for a water stain half the size of the room on the carpet. They packed us a huge box breakfast to take to the airport because of our early departure which was great and greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reece V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on business, okay location, close to quite a few restaurants, and SoHo Bar :) Rooms are comfortable and spacious, well appointed and clean.

Only a few of the front office staff speaks English, same with 2nd floor restaurant. Ate in the restaurant/cafe on the first night, ordered ribeye....was served a 'new york strip' slice of mystery meat....never again....

Breakfast buffet was ok, but eat early before 8am of you want to avoid the crowd.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Wylie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Very nice hotel and food. Only issue is language as I had issue with my room and they didn't understand me at all ..after receiving an iron, duvet and water ..they finally moved my room

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelbel310779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The Howard Johnson in Wuhan is a five-star hotel, and it certainly deserves each of those stars. My so-called “standard” room was fabulous. It had two single beds with fluffy duvets, two night tables, two lounge chairs, a flat screen TV with cable, a writing desk with a lamp, a chair, and free broadband plus tea/coffee makers, bathrobes and super nice slippers (I took home two pairs of the latter item), and a superb view of the Yangtze River. I was in hotel heaven!

The bathroom, which was spotless, had a bathtub and shower, sink, commode and plenty of towels plus the usual amenties: soap, shampoo, body lotion, hair dryer.

The room was too hot, and it could not be controlled by the switch on the wall simply because the temperature was permanently fixed. Otherwise, I had no complaints about the room.

The hotel has a wonderful, large indoor swimming pool and exquisite décor throughout the building.

What I enjoyed most of all was the absolutely fabulous breakfast (included in the price of the room) on the second floor of the hotel. I have stayed in at least 1,000 different hotels during my world travels, but this one had one of the five top buffet layouts that I have ever experienced. There were at least 100 items on choice, and each one was beautifully displayed in an extremely attractive and relaxing setting. I gorged myself like a big pig.

I highly recommend this wonderful hotel whose service was deluxe. Come and find out for yourself!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wuhan hotels
2.4 mi away
New World Wuhan Hotel
New World Wuhan Hotel
#1 of 2,363 in Wuhan
696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Wuhan
Shangri-La Hotel, Wuhan
#7 of 2,363 in Wuhan
1,521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marco Polo Wuhan
Marco Polo Wuhan
#8 of 2,363 in Wuhan
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Westin Wuhan Wuchang
Westin Wuhan Wuchang
#2 of 2,363 in Wuhan
297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dorsett Wuhan
Dorsett Wuhan
#16 of 2,363 in Wuhan
221 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Wuhan Hankou Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan

Address: No.182 Yanjiang Avenue, Hankou District, Wuhan 430014, China
Region: China > Hubei > Wuhan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wuhan
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wuhan
#8 Business Hotel in Wuhan
Price Range: £67 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 43-Storey deluxe Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan with its distinctive golden globe tower, is conveniently located in the heart of city's commercial and entertainment district, the hotel is just a few minutes walk to the government offices and just across from the famous Yangtze River. Most of the 393 comfortably appointed rooms and suites offer stunning and panoramic views of the river. This international hotel is just 15 minutes' drive to Wuhan International Exhibition Center, 15 minutes to the Hankou Railway station and 30 minutes to the Wuhan Tianhe International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Pearl Plaza Wuhan Hotel Wuhan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing