We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star appearance 2 star substance” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jinjiang International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jinjiang International Hotel
Ranked #26 of 2,301 Hotels in Wuhan
Lexington, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 star appearance 2 star substance”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

From the outside, this hotel looks nice and impressive. Even the inside it does not look shabby until you move into your room. First of all, my room can not cool down, guest service told me the central AC is broken, or they can open the window to let outside polluted air to cool the room.

The hotel gym is a complete shame. The locker room looks like a local bathhouse change room from the 60s. No towel at the pool, and the floor and shower stall is completely filthy, and the many staff just stand there chatting and do nothing to care for the facility or the guest.

Many other things in the room in the room is broken... (e.g digital scale out of battery)

The breakfast is also poor considering this is a 5 star hotel.

Overall, the only pro is the location. Otherwise, go stay in Shangri-la. Jinjing needs to wake up and learn from other management companies.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoName777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    284
    46
    9
    2
See reviews for
2
6
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

we stayed at this hotel for chinese new year , half the hotel was closed the hotel never said a thing about this until we checked in ,even then we got a letter that was wrong , the food was the same both times the eat there so we went to the local show bar every night for dinner , the bar staff would not let me take an drink to my room , i had a cold and wante to have a drink in bed , my wife went mad and the hotel said it was all down to me . my debit card was cloned and 700.00 GBP was taken , the hotel then took 17 days to refund the deposit back to me , we wil never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalampard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,672 reviews
320 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

after suffering from 1 jinjiang in chengdu, thankfully this one is slightly better. The lobby looks newer and grander, and the room is slightly newer and better also. The shower head is unsually low, and there isn't a close power socket to boil the minibar's flask , but these are small issues. The room service was prompt and food quality was ok. They have a Tera wellness chain gym in the hotel, so it should be pretty decent for health fanatics. They even have a tera wellness massage service, which comes with qualified and certified masseurs, which I didn't try. The room internet is also free, which is good for tourists.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
170 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

I stayed at the Jinjiang International Hotel in Wuhan for just one night, and mainly because the hotel booked for the trip, the Shangri-La, was sold out that night. The hotel's lobby was impressive, lots of white marble, and the check in was fine (despite some attempted interruptions by some irate guest that didn't want to wait for some foreigner to finish).

The room was large and impressively fitted out, lots of wood veneer furniture that will need replacement in a few years' time of wear and tear but still looked new for now. The internet was not exactly brilliant - repeated login attempts kept putting me back on the start page until I actually called the front desk, when they just told me they had to activate my room. I guess most Chinese travelers wouldn't have wasted half an hour trying to sort it out on their own, but the process could have been a lot more user friendly.

It's also a small point, but this was the type of place where someone slipped an ad for some sexual massage services under my door. Hardly unknown in China, but it does not happen anymore so explicitly in the international hotel chains.

The gym, which opens at 630am, appeared very local, almost like some kind of boxer's weightlifting center. The staff were fairly unprofessional, just waving me in without looking at me because they were watching some soccer match.

I didn't try the restaurant but it doesn't seem like I missed anything. I would stay at the Shangri-La if I came back to Wuhan, the hotel chain in general seemed to invest in hardware and appearances at the expense of actual staff training and guest experience. Or at least the type of guest experience that mattered to me.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Public_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2008

I have stayed in the hotel for 10 days. and I was desapointed by the food. It gets boring because it every time the same!! (specially for dinner).
I have tried 2-3 times at lunch time, but they can not cook every thing in the menu. so i was so surprised for a 5*. and as excuses they can not say so much because they can not spek english!! even if the manager!!

so i was out for eating evry day. I went to jian han lu. lots of choice of restaurants, place to buy things. i say this because around the hotel it is very boring, nothing to apreciate the real values of china!

I will not recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Liked — nothing furniture bad quality
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KennedyUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2007

The rooms are very nice and very clean, the hotel staff also very nice and professional, though in Wuhan generally sometimes there is a language gulf if you do not speak Mandarin, which we do not, unfortunately. Laundry inside and even outside of the hotel is expensive, so bring plenty of clothing. Not much to walk to from the hotel, but there is a nice hardscaped park next door where there's lots of dancing and other communal exercise and activity. Dept. store and supermarket and McDonald's (the last open 24 hours) are across the street. Food at the hotel in the buffet restaurant on the first floor gets boring after a few days. There is a Chinese restaurant on the 2nd floor that's pretty good. Look for the Prince restaurants in town, which are very good.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable room
  • Disliked — not much to walk to
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BSS9878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wuhan hotels
4.0 mi away
Hilton Wuhan Riverside
Hilton Wuhan Riverside
#70 of 2,301 in Wuhan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wuhan Xinhua
Novotel Wuhan Xinhua
#29 of 2,301 in Wuhan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Wuhan Hankou Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Tian LU Hotel Wuhan
1.2 mi away
New World Wuhan Hotel
New World Wuhan Hotel
#1 of 2,301 in Wuhan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dorsett Wuhan
Dorsett Wuhan
#14 of 2,301 in Wuhan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang International Hotel

Property: Jinjiang International Hotel
Address: No.707 Jianshe Avenue, Jianghan District, Wuhan 430015, China
Region: China > Hubei > Wuhan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 2,301 Hotels in Wuhan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jinjiang International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wuhan Jin Jiang International Hotel is a five-star deluxe hotel, surrounded by three lakes in the most picturesque area of the city. The hotel offers an ideal location at the heart of Wuhan's Central Business District. It is only a 30 minutes drive to Tianhe International Airport and 5 minutes to Hankou Railway Station, making it an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. You will enjoy comfort and leisure space with lake views in all of the 407 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jinjiang International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing