We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good arrangement for Inner Mongolia tour.”
Review of Anda Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anda Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 50 Hohhot B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I did not stay in this Hostel, so I cannot speak for the accommodation.

But I made use of their travel and guiding arrangement knowledge for booking a tailored 5 day trip in the Inner Mongolia surrounding of Hohhot, Baotou and Ordos, visiting most of the scenic spots in this area, and arranging them for booking, the accommodations and meals in between.

All I can say is: Excellent (except for one night Baotou hotel-pick). Also from a cost point of view my feeling is that this trip was "not overcharged", certainly when counting for the total travel distance of + 1000Km. And even better; the scenic spots for Dessert and grasslands were not the "massive Chinese tourist sites" but small scaled local "family arrangements". The setting of the trip was Driver + English speaking guide + sedan car (Peugeot 408); 1st day airport-pickup Hohhot and bring to my hotel; 6th day Baotou airport drop-off in the evening.

One can easy take contact with the hostel for their standard tailored 1-day, 2-day and 3-day group-, 4-pax- or 2-pax-arrangements starting from Hohhot city. Then you also can get an idea about the daily cost pp.

No photo's this time because I didn't stay in the accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank globetravelerNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed for 4 days and 3 nights last week, also took both the 2-day/1-night desert tour and the Great Wall tour. The hostel itself is cute, but has the same problems that other hostels have - smelly bathrooms, a bit crowded, staff sometimes disorganized. Overall, the facilities were not worse that any other place I've stayed, and the people were friendly. I always had hot water and the wifi worked fine. We called ahead and arranged a pick-up from the airport, with no problems. We used the washing machine in the hostel (10 RMB). We took the desert tour and had a great time. Conditions for the desert camping were a bit rugged (no bathrooms, no water) but it was standard camping (and beautiful scenery). The guide's English was limited, but he was very eager to explain local history and Mongolian traditions. He even sang some Mongolian songs around the campfire. The one-day Great Wall tour was also really nice, a pretty drive and then a steep hike up to the wall. The guests and one employee all went out for dinner, drinks, and KTV on Friday night. All in all I had a fun time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed one night and found the hostel to be OK. The staff are friendly and the decor eclectic.. which is nice if thats your taste. The toilets of course smelled bad, like people have mentioned earlier. Its tolerable for a night or two.

We used their services to book tickets to Ulaanbaatar via the border crossing at Erlian/Zamin-Uud, We read that the tickets from Zamin-Uud to UB can get booked out and wanted to be sure of the connection. For 800 RMB/person the service we received for this was ABYSMAL. There was confusion at the chinese border as to who we had our tickets, turned out our tickets were with someone on the Mongolian side. On the mongolian side, it was a total mess. No one was around to meet us with the tickets and the person we called repeatedly didnt turn up until 10 minutes before train departure.

We would strongly recommend NOT using their travel service. Just book the tickets yourself as you go. You will pay about 30% the cost Anda charges and it will be a lot more straightforward.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manish_Sr_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Well that's about all i could say about this Guesthouse. Ambiance is a bit eerie for my liking. Bathrooms are average and the shower is very low pressure. You need to on it for around 30mins to an hour to get hot water and if it is kept on it will give out a weird sound. Rooms are decent. There's lounge area where you can watch TV and chat with the staff there. They are quite friendly. The place is a bit hard to find but it's near to shops and food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KW1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We picked this place due to the recommendation in the Lonely Planet and the tours they organize.
But first we were told the free train station pick up is only available for one train station in the city, which of course was not ours. Once we got there we went on the trip to the dessert. The guide (if you can call him that) did not explain anything and if you asked he sometimes even ignored you. The only thing he said was “arrive” whenever we stopped anywhere on the way. Once we have got the camp in the dessert there where two tents and a lot of trash everywhere. There was nothing organized to do there like hiking or at least explaining what the buildings in the distance where. Well the four power plants we knew what they were but they did not give us any dessert feeling. At night it was freezing cold and we made a fire. The guide and what seemed to be his boyfriend which he brought along burned plastic and stuff even though we asked them not to do it. Afterwards they went to bed first and when we went to bed everyone took one of the sleeping bags which they had put out. Everyone was freezing that night. The next morning when we told the guide he just said “why didn’t you take another one?” We felt like punching him because he had not told us there was more than one per person. The camels on which we were riding back to our car (50minutes) were not treated nice they even got kicked by the owners. Back in the Hostel we hoped they had booked tickets for us to leave the town that night, as we had asked them to before. But they told us there was no availability and we would have to stay an extra night. Interestingly we got tickets when we went to the train station ourselves. It seemed they just wanted to charge us for an extra night. Over all it felt for everyone in the group like a big rip off.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lampedusa32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The place could be better, it's hard to find (leave the hospital behind you and look for a little street on the left). The staff helped me with the booking of my next hostel.They speak English. The rooms are ok but the bathrooms are dirty.

I took grassland tour (1day+1night): the location (only very good point) was very nice: 2yurts in the middle of a field,( not an ugly yurt-hotel )
But water was not included (2yuan)and the guide got mad when we told her that we were acpecting tea during the 3 meals...

If you take the horse-ride, ask for special socks (part the mongolian boots) and a headprotection. They won't give it if you don't ask

And be prepared to pick up cow-pies to make the fire!! that part could be funny but not without gloves...They will tell you that you can wash your hands later, but .... in a little bucket of rain water, without soap...and don't forget to bring very warm clothes, it's really freezing at night .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flo-from-brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here twice, with a visit to the grasslands (not arranged by Anda) separating. Our first visit we made a confirmed booking a week prior, and we were impressed by the free pick up from the train station. Once arriving at the guest house we were told that our booking had been "forgotten" and that we would not be able to stay in the rooms we requested. Upon arriving for our second visit (again a week booking ahead), we were told there weren't enough rooms and we were forced to change. The staff are so-so for helping out, the manager's attitude runs hot and cold. The hostel is homely if not a little overcrowded but has a good atmosphere and decor in it. Rooms were not great but not bad either. Having two toilet/showers and two more toilets among the 9 rooms and 4 dorms meant that mornings were waiting around for availability. The Internet worked around 5% of the time during our stay, apparently due to the weather, however some days were clear blue sky. As it seems this is the only travellers' hostel in Hohhot, the hostel is saved by the vibe of the folks staying in it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halberd6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hohhot hotels
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Hohhot
Shangri-La Hotel Hohhot
#2 of 461 in Hohhot
365 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hohhot
Holiday Inn Hohhot
#4 of 461 in Hohhot
185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Hohhot Hotel
Sheraton Hohhot Hotel
#1 of 461 in Hohhot
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inner Mongolia Hotel
Inner Mongolia Hotel
#5 of 461 in Hohhot
142 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wanda Vista Hohhot
Wanda Vista Hohhot
#3 of 461 in Hohhot
48 reviews
2 mi away
7 Days Inn Huhhot Railway Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anda Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anda Guesthouse

Address: No.78 Northern Hulun, Hohhot, China
Region: China > Inner Mongolia > Hohhot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hohhot
Price Range: £13 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Anda Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anda Guesthouse Hohhot, Inner Mongolia, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing