We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempinski Hotel Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Suzhou
Ranked #19 of 1,413 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luxury stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed one night in the Kempinski Hotel in Suzhou - I was traveling for a group function, but booked solo on booking.com - great choice, they upgraded me to some type of presidential suite! - and the staff was super nice. Close to some bars and clubs (try the popular Harry's Bar near by). I wished I could have stayed longer. Will choose next time I am in Suzhou.

Room Tip: Wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank originalglobalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    167
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
6
6
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This was probably "The" hotel 10 years ago, but it is getting a bit tired and in need of some updating. It's location is out of the way a bit and the facilities are huge. Staff was good however the check-in and check-out both took longer than they should. Room was huge and had a great view of the lake, but smelled a bit like cigarette smoke. Carpet and furnishings are a bit worn. Food was acceptable although nothing special. I do recommend the tea service in the main seating area. That staff in particular was very attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cclark72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Kempinski Hotel in Suzhou over the weekend. From the moment of arrival to the time of departure, the overall facilities and service levels were excellent. All staff spoke excellent English, which can be a challenge sometimes when travelling in China, but not so here. Food & Beverage, too, was outstanding. We had the pleasure of tasting a menu by the hotel's new Portuguese Executive Chef and it was both creative and of high quality. Very nice. Breakfast was very enjoyable too with ample choice and a very good bread selection.
The room was very spacious with beautiful views over the lake and Suzhou, and certainly ticked all the boxes in terms of comfort and amenities.
All in all, an excellent stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senninha888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We had poor experieces for our first night with Crowne Plaza Suzhou and moved to Kempinski. I and my husband like this hotel's enviroment where more peaseful and quire. But not easy to get taxi to go out to town. The staffs here are much more warm and nice, and willing to offer their services while we need any help.
Room is a bit old, but acceptable. Good place for those people like golf as there is a course next door. Will try to stay back again for future visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monicayu, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou and share the good comments to us !
Although our hotel opened four years more and some facility looks a little old but we're pleased to provide you with the unique experience and a warm comfortable stay.
Next time you may call concierge to book a taxi in advance if you have any schedule to go outside .
Last but not least ,looking forward to see you again and please feel free to contact me directly via monica.yu@kempinski.com if any accommodation

Assistant Front Office Manager
Monica Yu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

In-your-face big grand ostentatious pompous come to mind. The ferrari parked blocking the hotel lobby sums up the "money counts" attitude of this property. Yes its nice surrounded by the lake and golf course - but so is the Intercontinental 3km away - and there you can have a nice walk to some lakeside restaurants if you tire of the hotel food - and at the Kempinski you will because for all its 5 stars, the food is 4star at best. The pool is very good, but not as spectacular as the IC. Oh - I got a wake up call at 7am "for my appointment" - i did not have an appointment

Room Tip: the best room are not at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mightymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monicayu, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments shared with us but it seems that the service you rightly expected get from us is not good ! First of all please let me do apology to you about your unpleasant experience with us and I will share and discuss your comments with our management especial for the food quality . The Ferrari parking is just temporarily blocked in hotel lobby and remove it already .Obviously , service is more significant and we will focus on training and service offering .Hoping that you are able to be back in the near future to experience the service you expect from us and more .

Again please accept our sincere apology and look forward to hear from you .Please contact me directly via monica.yu@kempinski.com for any further assistance.

Regards,
Monica Yu
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed for only one night and had a fantastic time. The view from the room allows fantastic sunsets over Dushu lake, you can see the traffic disappearing in the lake tunnel. Turning right offers a view to JinJi lake and the Oriental Gate building (construction) far away. Room interiors is of high quality. The hotel is located separated from the city centers, this gives a silent environment. The hotel has a Golf course nearby, a jetty at the Dushu Lake, and the big Spa is in great demand also for non-guests but not crowded at all. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I liked the lobby bar design, and there is also a Paulaner restaurant. If you need a taxi, don't forget to order in advance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minipixl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monicayu, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou and gave the precious comments to us although only one night !

We're pleased to provide you with the unique experience and a warm comfortable stay. We will consistantly to satisfied with our guests .

Last but not least ,looking forward to see you again and please feel free to contact me directly via monica.yu@kempinski.com if any accommodation request .


Warm Regards!

Monica Yu
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We live in Shanghai and went to stay in the Kempinski Suzhou for a weekend getaway. It’s in a great location in a low rise green country club on the edge of town overlooking two lakes – well away from the busy downtown of Suzhou. If you are into golf, there is a course next door (belongs to the hotel I think?) Closest place to get of the train is Suzhou Industrial Park Station (not the main train station which is a nightmare) – taxi ride was about RMB20 and took 10 minutes.

It’s a big hotel so you are not getting ‘boutique’ qualities. But you are getting international standards of service. There was fairly long queue at the check-in at Saturday lunchtime but a helpful concierge showed us to another desk to check in faster. Staff were all generally very helpful and spoke good English.

Because the hotel is away from the downtown of Suzhou, you need to get a taxi to the historic sights, but that was no big deal.

The indoor pool is huge – 50m long and very nice. There was spa and gym which we did not try. We ate at the Wang Hu Ge Restaurant which had very tasty Suzhou style dishes. We also stopped by the Paulaner Beer House on site which was pretty buzzy on Saturday evening. They brew their own beer on site which was pretty tasty.

We had a room overlooking the lake which had a stunning view first thing in the morning. Room was huge and clean – no complaints really.

Only small quibbles were no snacks in the mini-bar (I guess you have to order room service) and that an outdoor pool would have been nice (someone told me there almost no hotels in this part of China with outdoor pools as getting tanned is not what most people want in this part of the world).

All in all, we had very good time and would stay again if we go back to Suzhou.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor overlooking the lake - stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monicayu, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all , thank you very much for staying with us at Kempinski Hotel Suzhou and share the precious comments to us.
Although our hotel is not located in the downtown of Suzhou ,for leisure guests must will have an unique and comfortable stay with us !Only 15 minutes by taxi take you to the historical site or 10minutes to the nearest "LI Gong Di " will be a nice choice .

It's our honor to have you a memoriable stay and looking forward to you soon . Any further assistance ,please feel free to contact me directly via monica.yu@kempinski.com .



Warm Regards!

Monica Yu
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
8.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#5 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#3 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
3.3 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Suzhou
InterContinental Suzhou
#4 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#6 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
7.5 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,413 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Suzhou

Property: Kempinski Hotel Suzhou
Address: No.1 Guobin Road, Industrial Park, Suzhou 215021, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,413 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Suzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Suzhou is Kempinski’s latest collection of individual to open in China. Situated along Jinjihu Avenue and Guobin Road, the Kempinski Hotel Suzhou emerges before your very eyes after a short but scenic drive within large parkland which encompasses a 27-hole Jinjilake International Golf Course, Villas and Dushu Lake. The entire surrounding to this property is refreshingly lush with trees and picturesque landscaping providing an atmosphere of tranquility and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing