We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A must go when you visit Suzhou” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Classical Gardens of Suzhou

The Classical Gardens of Suzhou
Book In Advance
More Info
US$101.00*
and up
Suzhou Day Tour: Lion Grove Garden and Pingjiang Road with Canal Boat Ride
Ranked #3 of 343 things to do in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must go when you visit Suzhou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

As a native, I have been to this places so many times. I would not suggest a best time to go, as each season you would see a little different charm. In winter, there are far less people, and it is cheaper too. I suggest you follow a tour guide (a lot English tour guide available) to enjoy more of the scene. Two hours would be sufficient.

A small bonus: the free Suzhou Museum nearby. Less than a minute walk, it's the Suzhou Museum. Huge collection of ancient Suzhou, which was one of the main cities and economic centers in China for a long time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    179
    43
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
127 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A must see in Suzhou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I could spend hours at this place. There is a number of gardens in Suzhou, but I especially liked this one. It is a perfect example of chinese garden landscaping and a tranquil place. Also one of the few places which was not crowded with people during our visit to China.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens to while away some time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Warm weather this time of year, take a hat and water. Great history and views. We went on a holiday and it was packed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank davosls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
372 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“OK, but also not more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

The tickets are rather expensive and the sight is just OK. Maybe if there we 70% people in the garden it is better,....but that is Unfortunately not the case. If you come with a small kid, do not take your stroller in the garden - not so comfortable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchguy_in_Allgau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
258 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

In a nutshell, this is worth visiting as it is relatively easy to get to via high speed train from Shanghai, but it is quite large and will take several hours to see a good deal of the gardens. There are a lot of tourists, Chinese and Western. We preferred Tongli which is a further water town for which you need a bus from here but is less visited.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank getgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Classical Gardens of Suzhou also viewed

 
Suzhou, Jiangsu
 

Been to The Classical Gardens of Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing