We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Soul Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Ranked #11 of 1,454 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with a flat-screen TV and an electronic safety deposit box. Rooms also have ironing facilities, hairdryer, bathrobes, toiletries, slippers, refrigerator, electric kettle. Bed is large and very comfortable. Also, in the rooms is available Wi-Fi. Breakfast is adjusted to Westerners, but there are also a selection of Chinese dishes. Big plus is that the hotel is near main street. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langolijeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for choosing Hotel Soul as your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Suzhou.

It gives us great pleasure to note that you have furnished us with a positive review of your stay. These positive comments serves as an encouragement for the team as we strive towards achieving a level of consistency in guest services.

On behalf of all of us at Hotel Soul, we look forward to be of service to you again should you be visiting Suzhou in the near future.

With warm regards,

GS C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    162
    43
    6
    6
See reviews for
71
125
49
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hello tou you all,

We travel every year to Suzhou for business and holiday (Me, my wife and little daughter(6))
We have stayed in many hotels in the centre of Suzhou because it is nice to shop look around and eat there. But to be honest the hotels that we have stayed and that are quite a few did not always meet the expectations that we are used to in Europe. This year that has changed.
We have found a hotel that caught our eye and decided to go there with the hope it would be better than the other hotels in the centre of Suzhou. Well..., that expectation came trough. The hotel is simply the best in the centre of Suzhou. When you come in to the hotel it is nice and cool and it smells nice. It is clean and the staff is professional and kind and willing to help. From the door boys to the general manager. The rooms are clean like I have never seen in any other hotel in the centre of Suzhou and they are well equipped. It is also quite so you can do your work easy on the work desk in the room (which I needed). Internet is sufficient. The hotel is in modern style.
The breakfast is also of the international one and is also very diverse. So you can also eat a normal English breakfast there if that is what you prefer (like I do).
The hotel has a lot to offer for the price. As I said the hotel is just a few steps away from the center where you can walk shop and eat.
I will recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues.

Thanks everyone for the nice stay at your hotel.

Best regards,
Fam. Kamstra

Room Tip: Ask for the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_J_W_Kamstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Soul during your recent visit to Suzhou.

We would like to extend our appreciation for the detail description furnished on the experiences encountered during your stay. We are glad that you have given us a positive review which has been shared with the team here. These positive comments will serve as a confidence booster and motivation to us to further improve on all areas of guest services.

On behalf of Hotel Soul, we look forward very much to be of service to you again should you be visiting Suzhou again in the very near future.

With warm regards,

GS C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel Soul is a great 3 star hotel. My partner and I just returned from a 8 night stay at the hotel, which is located in the middle of the old part of town, near a busy pedestrian shopping street. It is situated so that you could walk to the Humble Administrator's Garden and other major attractions. We stayed in a very large room that had plenty of space. The housekeeping was quite good, too. Some reviewers have criticized the hotel for its breakfast being too crowded and not of high quality. Well, I don't agree because of the value/cost ratio of the hotel. This hotel consistently costs below $50 per night. In my opinion the value was awesome. The breakfast was fine, not great, and there are a number of choices. It isn't the Shangri-la, but it costs a fraction of such a place. I do recommend the second floor Chinese restaurant, where we enjoyed two delicious dinners. I do not recommend the afternoon tea because the pastries and sandwiches weren't very good. Overall, I highly recommend the hotel for someone wishing to stay in a great place that doesn't cost too much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realrere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for staying with us at Hotel Soul during your recent visit to Suzhou.

We are glad to note that you have managed to visit the areas of attraction which is located within close distance of the hotel. Your positive comments are well acknowledged and have been shared with the team.

We do try to have a balance between Chinese and Western items available for breakfast and have 2 rotating menus used during the week. As for the High Tea, we have noted your comments and have looked into it together with the Western Chef in terms of further improving its quality.

On behalf of all of us at Hotel Soul, we look forward to be of service to you again in the very near future.

With warm regards,

GS C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I really appreciated the staff's smart thinking when checking us in - a large tour group came in right ahead of us, and they were using the elevators to get up to the restaurant (there were probably 50-60 people in the tour group, so it was taking awhile). The staff at reception took us around to the back freight elevators and personally took us up to our room, so that we wouldn't have to wait for the tour group to clear the main elevators. How thoughtful!

The in-room wifi was great, and we had no issues with our internet connection - in fact, it was some of the most consistent internet we experienced during our three weeks traveling in China.

Our room was very spacious (I believe is was on the 7th floor), although it didn't have a very nice view as it overlooked part of a roof that wasn't so nice. We didn't ask for any particular view, so I do not fault the hotel for this - I mention this in case view is important to you, be sure to ask about it when checking in.

There was some mold/grime along the inside edge of the bathroom sink that should have been cleaned out. Otherwise, the room and bathroom were very clean. It isn't a luxury hotel, but the room decorations are fun and interesting.

The biggest issue we had was that the air conditioning quit working around 2am. In the morning, we went downstairs and asked reception about it, and the AC was fixed by the time we returned after breakfast, less than an hour later.

I recommend this hotel if you can appreciate some funkiness, and if you are looking for attentive customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiGalOutNAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for choosing Hotel Soul as your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Suzhou.

We appreciate the postive comments which you had kindly furnished us and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. We have also taken note of the inconvenience which you had encountered with the air condition during your stay. This matter has been addressed with our Engineering Department and we will take measures to avoid any repeat on the problem encountered with it.

On behalf of all of us at Hotel Soul, we look forward very much to your visit again in the very near future.

With kind regards,

GS C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had all we could desire:
> Neat hotel with central location, short walking distance to attractions
> Room upgrade, with enourmous bed and bathroom
> Early check-in
> Very helpful staff, patient and english speaking
> A vacation package (hotel's own special offer from the website) including tickets to Humble administrator garden, lunch & breakfast for 2 and shuttle to/from Train station for a very good price.
We perfectly know this is not a luxury hotel, BUT it is a very good hotel with all the conforts you might need.
Well done, too bad we stayed only one day and could not test gym too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentOrangeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetinngs and thank you for choosing Hotel Soul as your choice of accommodatin during your recent visit to Suzhou.

We are delighted that you have furnished us with a positive review of your stay. The room packages have been put together are with the guest comfort in mind and we are glad that you have found it value for money.

As you have only managed to stay with us for 1 night, we hope that you would be able to stay with us again for a longer period during your next visit to Suzhou.

With warm regards,

GS Chin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed just one night but if should stay longer prefer to change this hotel for other one.
Positives:
+Strange, but nice decorations
+Big room
+Speaking English stuff
+Comfortable bed

Negatives:
-Difficult to find this hotel
-Strange view from windows with noisy sounds
-Room&bath were average clean
-Decorated glass between bath and room not so comfortable if someone in the room waiting for you
-Poor light in the bath
-Terrible breakfast: A lot of people, not so many places to sit. Poor choice for European kitchen. I was waiting fried eggs about 10 minutes. Dirty tables and walking around stuff.
-Checkout takes about 20 minutes (messy crowd near reception)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory_msk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for taking time to furnish us with a review of your recent stay at Hotel Soul.

We appreciate the information that has been provided and have discussed these matters with all the relevant Department Heads in order for continuous improvements to be carried out.

We hope to be given another opportunity to impress upon you to stay at Hotel Soul again should you be visiting Suzhou in the very near future.

With warm regards,

GS Chin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great. It's a bit quirky which makes the hotel more fun. Rooms have plenty of room with all the standard amenities... We got a free upgrade because we wanted a non smoking room. Breakfast is also quite. Also, you can't fault the location... A tad tricky to find but well worth it! I can't recommend this hotel enough...

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GS C, General Manager at Hotel Soul Suzhou, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for choosing Hotel Soul as your choice of accommodation during your recent visit to Suzhou.

We are please to note that you have furnished us with a positive review and enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. These comments received will enable us to move forward as we continue to take steps in ensuring that every guest has a memorable stay experience.

On behalf of all of us at Hotel Soul, we hope to receive your patronage again should you be visiting Suzhou in the very near future.

With warm regards,

GS Chin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.5 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#9 of 1,454 in Suzhou
1,009 reviews
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#4 of 1,454 in Suzhou
823 reviews
2.4 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,454 in Suzhou
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
2.4 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#3 of 1,454 in Suzhou
470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soul Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soul Suzhou

Property: Hotel Soul Suzhou
Address: No.27-33, Qiaosikong Alley, Gusu District, Suzhou 215 000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,454 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Soul Suzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in May 2010, Hotel Soul is the first contemporary boutique hotel in Suzhou, China. The 220 room hotel's design concept juxtaposes elements of modern and ancient China, celebrating the nation's remarkable swift modernisation while paying tribute to its distinguished past. Guests at Hotel Soul can enjoy a wide range of culinary delights at the continental restaurant, Brasserie 101, inspired by chic Sino-French interior design. Bar Soul brings a unique blend of retro and industrial elements. It is also the ideal place for carousing with regular live band performances and a variety of drinks and snacks. Chinese restaurant Ying Fook Court serves carefully crafted Chinese cuisine and an innovative congee hotpot. On the second floor, Ying Fook Heen boasts a bright, spacious banquet hall and three VIP rooms perfect for hosting banquet receptions and business dinners for all occasions. Hotel Soul also offers a fully equipped gym alongside premium leisure and meeting facilities, making it the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Soul Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing