We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a convenient location in Suzhou”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Suzhou
Ranked #8 of 1,478 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times (for a workweek at a time) in 2013 and have had a good and hassle-free experience every time. This is my preferred hotel for business trips to Suzhou.

Hotel is located next to Jinji lake and has easy access to lakeside walking paths, shopping malls and other points of interest for visitors. I am a runner and I have had the chance to take long runs along 3 different areas of Suzhou while based at the hotel.

Clean rooms, good service, varied breakfast spread, multiple restaurants (good food) & bars to choose from and plenty of staff available everywhere to take care of your needs. A business traveller cannot ask for more in this price range.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake facing room. The other side of the hotel faces a major construction site and somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniruddha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staffs and service made your visit enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and to learn that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed, is the best reward.Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in October. All aspects of the service at this modern hotel were excellent - all the staff were so helpful and an English speaking concierge was always available to handle those tricky questions that are best expressed in your own language. Room size was generous and quality bedding made sleeping very easy and restful. While admittedly a taxi ride (or train ride) away from 'old Suzhou', it was central enough for my purpose of moving around to a number of establishments in the area. Locally, if you have a few hours to spend, the Lake, entertainment park and shopping centers are on your doorstep. If I am in Suzhou again I would happily stay at the Intercontinental again and use it as a base for moving around this large metropolitan precinct. Tip - good (better) coffee available across the road in the shopping center.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Lake have a great view and, I am told, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staffs and service made your visit enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and to learn that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed, is the best reward.Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just stayed here last night and had a great experience. Was upgraded to large lake view room with huge self-standing tub facing a TV (didn't get to use it though).

Went for a jog alog the lake in the morning and it was lovely. Ran by the Ferris Wheel (nicknamed Eye of Suzhou) and there lovely places to enjoy the view all along the path.

Came back to the hotel and went for a quick dip in the beautiful infinity pool on the 3rd floor. The adjacent hot tub was huge and had one of the most comfortable seatings I've experienced in a hot tub. It was curved just right and the jets were great.

Then there was the incredible buffet breakfast with a huge selection of both Asian and western fare all at top notch quality. The steam baos were great and the I really enjoyed the traditional rice porridge. I was a bit late or else I would have indulged more.

All in all a great stay!

Room Tip: Lake view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staffs and service helped make your visit enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and to learn that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed, is the best reward.Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights last week for work in a room with lake view. This is one of the best hotel I have stayed in a China. Service was great from bell staff greeting at door to check in staff etc. The room is spacious and tastefully decorated. The location is good as it is next to moon harbor and shopping centers. There are a lot of choices for food, bar, and cafés. The walk along the lake and harbor is very pleasant. It is about 20-30mins by taxi to old town for sightseeing. I will highly recommend this hotel for work and leisure.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank HappyfeetAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staffs and service helped make your visit enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and to learn that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed, is the best reward.Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My friends and me three of us stayed a week in Intercontinental Suzhou, It was one of the best travel experience to me. Big nice room, good location. Concierge is very helpful. They even introduced and offered a Shanghai map to us when they knew we had a trip plan of Shanghai, very impress~~

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyZhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staffs and service helped make your visit enjoyable. we are highly-trained staff cater to your every desire, while the ‘In The Know’ Concierge team abounds with local knowledge and insights to ensure that each guest needs.Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at the Intercontinental Suzhou for 13 days on vacation. I couldn't have asked for a better stay. The hotel is located next to Lake Jinji and offers nice views of the lake and surrounding areas. The hotel is only a few years old, very clean and nicely decorated. The fitness centers equipment is nicer than my gym's. The infinity pool is amazing and has nice views of lake Jinji. The resturaunts were all good and there was great entertainment in the bar.

The staff all spoke very good english and were very accommodating. David Hu was very kind, generous and made sure all of my needs were taken care of. Misa in the club level was also very nice and kind.

This is a wonderful hotel and I would recommend it with high rankings to anyone wishing to stay in Suzhou!

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading to a lake view room. The views at night when the island, music center an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markysurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that our staffs and service helped make your visit enjoyable. We strive to achieve excellence at every level and to learn that our professionalism and attention to detail did not go unnoticed, is the best reward.
Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights. The lobby, the room, the breakfast, the evening show at the bar, the wonderful fitness room, all was so good amd we really enjoyed the hotel from all aspects. Great taxi service to any destination, all was very good.
We use the concierge service to buy train tickets to Shanghai and had a small issue.
We've been told that 1st class tickets from Suzhou Industrial park station to Shanghai cost 54 rmb+20 rmb for the service. Total 248 for 2 tickets. When we revived the tickets next day we saw that the tickets price was 46 rmb each.
Since we only saw it on the train we didn't had the chance to complain but unfortunately left with a bit bitter taste.
Any way we recommend the hotel with high ranking.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Boazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icsuzhou, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Suzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear InterContinental Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Suzhou. We are very glad to know that we make your visit enjoyable. However, we are very sorry to hear your experience about the train ticket. our Concierge provide Tickets Booking Service for guests, we asked guest to pre-pay cash in advance (usually the cash amount beyond ticket fee and delivery fee).Sometimes the train station will give the discount frequently, we will give the ticket to guest together with change when guests collect the tickets.

We have shared your comments with related department and we will take action to make sure that won't happen again. Thank you again for your recommendation and support and we look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back to the InterContinental Suzhou in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
7.6 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#4 of 1,478 in Suzhou
627 reviews
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#9 of 1,478 in Suzhou
822 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,478 in Suzhou
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Suzhou
Hyatt Regency Suzhou
#17 of 1,478 in Suzhou
264 reviews
5.8 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#10 of 1,478 in Suzhou
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Suzhou

Address: No.288 Wangdun Road, Suzhou 215028, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#5 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#8 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#39 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range: £136 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Suzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Suzhou is the most prestigious luxury hotel in the historic garden city of Suzhou. This stunning new property occupies a coveted location on the shores of Jinji Lake, a showpiece destination in one of China’s most cherished tourism cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Suzhou Hotel Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing