We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Strong Recommendation From a Local Suzhouer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu
Ranked #25 of 1,418 Hotels in Suzhou
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Strong Recommendation From a Local Suzhouer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

It is funny for me to review hotels in Suzhou since I grew up in Suzhou and rarely stayed in hotels in Suzhou. But for my wedding night, I decided my wife and I would stay here, and we made the right decision! As a person who has travelled to many countries and is also super familiar with Suzhou, I would say this is the best hotel you can find in the old city of Suzhou. This is the only hotel that I can find in the old city that provides international quality - Suzhou's other good hotels are all in Industrial Park or the New District, which is quite far from the old city. Located in an old Suzhou garden, it provides you with the very authenticate Suzhou cultural experience. The rooms are overall of decent quality and the business suites are particularly spacious, well decorated and maintained. If I were to stay there again, I would definitely choose business suites over regular rooms as they are so much better despite slightly more expensive. The location is great for tourists, as it is within walking distance to the Garden of Humble Administrators, Pingjiang Road, Guanqian Road, and many other famous Suzhou gardens and attractions. One downside of this hotel is that there is no subway near it and it sometimes can be hard to get a taxi. You should always call a taxi beforehand. But as a proud Suzhouer, I would recommend this place to any travelers from outside Suzhou who expect to experience the real Suzhou culture.

Room Tip: Business suites are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    37
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
33
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent only one night in this lovely hotel in Suzhou This is a small boutique hotel well deserving its membership of The Small Hotels of the World. The hotel is furnished with beautiful Chinese antiques used in a modern stylish manner. The bedrooms are lovely the gardens pretty and peaceful and the staff very helpful, caring and professional. A most enjoyable night spent in beautiful surroundings

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

we were very happy with this hotel...lovely rooms and great breakfast..we sat out in the garden to eat... My only complaint is that there was a smell in our room...we had been upgraded to a suite...had to keep the windows and air on...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12soup-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for our short trip to Suzhou. The hotel is centrally located in the old town of Suzhou so it's very convenient to walk to PingJiang Walking Streer and Humble Administrator Garden. The room was elegantly decorated, clean, and quite. The breakfast was also very good. But it'll be a bit challeging for guests who don't speak any Chinese as the front desk staff's English was quite limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugby_Joe_Taipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Although I was not able to stay at this hotel, I did enjoy very much visiting here with my local colleague for tea during my stay. A wonderful, quiet solace in the midst of the city, great for talking about research, students, and general perspectives on systems engineering. I would enjoy the opportunity to stay here at another time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Not a typical hotel for Americans but it's very good. Excellent food with very nice entertainment, Chinese singers. Close to local sights. Room was excellent. Staff is very friendly. If you want something a little different, this is it. When I'm in Suzhou, this is my hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Putterface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

reading all the reviews from this site, we decided to book a room in july, which was quite expensive compared to other same class hotel in hangzhou or shanghai. or maybe i had the bad luck here. the interior of the lobby and garden was indeed beautiful, but my room was not what i expected to get with the price i paid. the carpet was very old and looks dirty and worn out. the bathroom got rusty and very small. related to location indeed very close to some big gardens like lion grove, humble administrative garden, ping jiang road, but when we need to take taxi, one to tongli and going back to train station, it was very difficult. and the hotel staff cannot help us call taxi. so we have to wait at the road side a long time (about 30 min) and even took some walk. it really depend on the coming taxi with passengers coming to pingjiang road or to the hotel. if i return, would for sure look for other hotel option

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
#27 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#8 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.6 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hovle Mansion Club & Hotel
Hovle Mansion Club & Hotel
#110 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#6 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
3.2 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu

Property: Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu
Address: No.60 Baita East Road, Canglang District, Suzhou 215006, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,418 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing