We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu
Ranked #29 of 1,458 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
35
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We only spent one night at the Scholars and first impression was of a beautiful and elegant looking hotel. Good location and with great character. The room wasn't ready when we arrived so we had breakfast at their restaurant. There was confusion as to where breakfast was actually being served and after a few staff went backwards and forwards we managed to get to the right restaurant (there are only 2).

We ordered and one persons dish came first but the dim sum ordered didn't arrive. After my wife finished her noodles, and after asking the waitress who smiled and looked clueless, the dim sum arrived much later cold. We didn't eat it and refused to pay. Not a good start.

Friends of ours checked in and managed to get a room. When they got to the room, the door was wide open and there was plaster on the floor fallen from the ceiling. The reception were confused and seemed clueless about the repairs about to start.

When our room was ready we made our way there, and with a suitcase, baby stroller and baby in tow we were offered no assistance. The room was very nice and a baby cot was provided, but when we asked for two more bath towels as there was only one, the housekeeper gave us two small hand towels and didn't understand why that wasn't enough to bathe with. When pressed that we needed bath towels to take a shower they said they had no more. It was obviously wash day (so make sure you don't book this hotel on weekends as they run short of towels).

We also booked a car through the hotel to take us to certain locations we wanted to see. Travelling with an infant, this made it more convenient. We only wanted to visit certain places as we only had a day so told the driver where to go. After a few places he asked us if we wanted to go to a silk factory, but we weren't interested. He asked several times but we graciously declined saying we only had a limited time and wanted to see specific landmarks. But he still went on. My wife became quite annoyed. Then he pulled up at the silk factory after driving to it. We were furious, and he'd wasted time that was precious to us. We refused to go in, and then he went on about how he needed the commission. We told him to take us back to the hotel as we'd then run out of time and needed to put our daughter to bed.

We left the next morning and ordered a taxi to take us to the train station. The car arrived but refused to take us so we asked the hotel to get another one (again after much bafflement). There seemed to be lots of taxi's on the road but the hotel staff said they can't get them to come in, so we walked to the road to flag one down. A taxi came and we left.

The hotel is in a great location and is quite impressive. The rooms were nice but the service was severely lacking and the staff often clueless as if it was their first day at work. Cold food, ignorant drivers and overall poor service made what could have been an enjoyable stay unenjoyable. Towels anyone? We shall return to Suzhou, but not to Scholars.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Was taken here on New Years day for a lovely lunch. We were a party of 6 plus one child and we ate in a private room.
The food kept coming and coming, and each dish more delicious than the next. The "squirrel fish" was excellent and even the eel dish was very tasty. Prawns, goose, pork, soup and a host of vegetables made for a memorable meal.
A great place to go for a great Chinese banquet.
WE DIDNT STAY ONLY ATE

Room Tip: We only ate here but it was excellent
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank flemingmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Visited the hotel for lunch during a visit to Suzhou . Great local food (make sure you try the mandarin fish )in a very tranquil location. Good for lunch or just for a quiet cup of tea. Beautiful gardens

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jock1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

It is funny for me to review hotels in Suzhou since I grew up in Suzhou and rarely stayed in hotels in Suzhou. But for my wedding night, I decided my wife and I would stay here, and we made the right decision! As a person who has travelled to many countries and is also super familiar with Suzhou, I would say this is the best hotel you can find in the old city of Suzhou. This is the only hotel that I can find in the old city that provides international quality - Suzhou's other good hotels are all in Industrial Park or the New District, which is quite far from the old city. Located in an old Suzhou garden, it provides you with the very authenticate Suzhou cultural experience. The rooms are overall of decent quality and the business suites are particularly spacious, well decorated and maintained. If I were to stay there again, I would definitely choose business suites over regular rooms as they are so much better despite slightly more expensive. The location is great for tourists, as it is within walking distance to the Garden of Humble Administrators, Pingjiang Road, Guanqian Road, and many other famous Suzhou gardens and attractions. One downside of this hotel is that there is no subway near it and it sometimes can be hard to get a taxi. You should always call a taxi beforehand. But as a proud Suzhouer, I would recommend this place to any travelers from outside Suzhou who expect to experience the real Suzhou culture.

Room Tip: Business suites are the best value.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent only one night in this lovely hotel in Suzhou This is a small boutique hotel well deserving its membership of The Small Hotels of the World. The hotel is furnished with beautiful Chinese antiques used in a modern stylish manner. The bedrooms are lovely the gardens pretty and peaceful and the staff very helpful, caring and professional. A most enjoyable night spent in beautiful surroundings

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

we were very happy with this hotel...lovely rooms and great breakfast..we sat out in the garden to eat... My only complaint is that there was a smell in our room...we had been upgraded to a suite...had to keep the windows and air on...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12soup-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for our short trip to Suzhou. The hotel is centrally located in the old town of Suzhou so it's very convenient to walk to PingJiang Walking Streer and Humble Administrator Garden. The room was elegantly decorated, clean, and quite. The breakfast was also very good. But it'll be a bit challeging for guests who don't speak any Chinese as the front desk staff's English was quite limited.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugby_Joe_Taipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#12 of 1,458 in Suzhou
403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
1.8 mi away
Scholar Shang Tang Hotel Suzhou Shantang Fudi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#9 of 1,458 in Suzhou
1,024 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
#31 of 1,458 in Suzhou
265 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu

Address: No.60 Baita East Road, Canglang District, Suzhou 215006, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,458 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range: £76 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing