We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best in town”
Review of Pan Pacific Suzhou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Ranked #6 of 1,427 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Wervik, Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“the best in town”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

from 1994 to 2010 i stayed over 100 times in suzhou.
from 1999 or 2000 onwards i almost always stayed in pan pacific (formerly known as sheraton hotel), and it has always been a pleasure
very nice and clean hotel, very friendly staff, and very good service
what more can people want

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoonsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear antoonsix,

The best way to make our team members feel proud of our property and our work, is to know we always have valuable loyal guest like you. Thank you for the long term support to us, and we hope during this ten years period you have seen the growth and improvement of our property as well as our associates. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon, as one of our family, and we are more than happy to continue to be your home away from home, here in Suzhou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    420
    94
    23
    3
See reviews for
112
138
36
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed two nights at Pan Pacific Suzhou last November.

The Hotel is located on the southern side of the Suzhou old town. Most of the popular sights in Suzhou are in the old town. The Hotel is adjacent to one of the sights, Pan Men, which is a big park with a pagoda and pavilions. Hotel guests enjoy free access to Pan Men. The Hotel looks like a castle and there are plenty of 'photographic spots' in the Hotel itself.

A few days before arriving the Hotel I received a email message, purportedly from the Hotel, requesting me to reveal all sorts of personal information including credit card number so as to enable them to expedite the checking in. Not sure whether it was a scam and in any event I considered them asking for excessive personal information, I disregarded that message. That message already made me feel anxious as to whether the Hotel can keep the guests' personal information confidential. Eventually I arrived the Hotel at about 3:00 p.m. and have to wait for 10 minutes before the room was ready.

The Hotel is built in typical Suzhou architectural style. If you want to stay in a hotel giving you a local atmosphere with international standard service and facilities, this Hotel will suit you. I chose a standard twin room during my stay. A big mistake! That room was on the ground floor, tucked in a little corner and far away from the lobby and restaurants, it was also very small and dim. Next time I will reserve a bigger room and more importantly, one with a balcony.

I did most of the travel in Suzhou by taxi. Don't wait for one at the hotel lobby level, you will get a better chance to get one on the ground floor level.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear IPSP,

Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is useful for us to further improve our service in the future. At the same time, we are happy to know you enjoyed the scenic area inside and around hotel and apprecitated the style of Suzhou classic architecture. Hope we can welcome you back this year as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We have visited Suzhou 4 times over the past decade and stayed here each time. It is a beautiful building built in ancient Chinese archtectural style with wonderful gardens and ponds as well as access to an adjacent park. When it was a Sheraton property it was superb but now it is becoming rundown and sloppy compared to before. We had booked a garden view room which we did not get. The bathroom sink was brken and leaked water allover the floor. After complaining,we were told that it would be fixed immediately - 4 hours later it was not.Then they decided to move us and gave us a junior suite because of the original room error and the sink. Here there is a kitchen sink which also had a broken tap that leaned over and flopped around when you touched it.This did not bother us as we did not intend to cook in the room but was an indication of the hotel operation. There were many other small bad details.Lack of cleanliness,badly stained carpets etc. The front desk was told about the broken tap but 2 days later it was the same. No one seemed to care, not even the duty manager. We have always used the same independent tour operator for private tours who has an office in the hotel. on mentioning our feeling about the hotel, he agreed and told us he was moving out to another location.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view when making a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Bomani ,
Thank you very much for your time to write us a detailed review and we are grateful you can give us the feedback about the facility. We already passed your review to management team for investigation and we found our engineer did went to your room to repair the sink within one hour they got the request. However they found the sink's problem is not easy to be fixed in short time, hence the management decided to upgrade you to the suite room later.
We are sorry you encountered inconvenience and our Director of Rooms and duty manager do remember you and the problem in your room. They helped to book a private room in our restaurant for your dinner next day and told manager to take care of you, hoping you have a nice dining experience.
We do appreciate your comments and wish to have chance to exceed your expectation in your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The hotel is a mini resort. A choice of restaurants of all types, bars, pools, gym, spa and even access to the adjoining gardens. Standard rooms are comfortable and well looked after. Staff are all courteous, especially reception.

WiFi coverage was poor however, but can manage without for a few hours!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMadmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear LondonMadmax ,
Thank you for your review and we are happy you had a pleasant and relaxing holiday in our hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We arrived Suzhou on the fast speed train from Hangzhou. Duration of train journey is 1h7m. Taxi service at Suzhou train station is orderly and fast and journey to Pan Pac took 30mins at RMB 23.

Check in was prompt and we were upgraded from deluxe room to the pacific wing (without club privileges). View from room is great as it overlooks the swimming pool.

We patronized the Garden Brasserie restaurant at 1500h and ordered char kway teow and Nasi goreng istimewa. Although there were a few guests at that time our food & drinks took more than 35 mins. Staff was inattentive and although we specified less oil the char kway teow was 'swimming' in oil and was bland. Nasi goreng was slightly better. Front desk staff are friendly and gave good tips on where to eat and how to take bus #2 to Guan chian Jie pedestrian area. Fare was RMB 1 each and ride took 20 mins. We had a lovely walk passing the flowers and pets market and the Suzhou Museum and the Humble Administrator's Garden.

Suzhou is indeed the beautiful city of gardens as seen in their many scenic gardens.

There is a good cafe called 85degree cafe about 100 meters when exiting the front entrance to the right.

Pan Pac is a beautiful hotel with lovely landscaped grounds. The Panmen garden is very charming especially in the morning!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Rainbowlad,

Thank you very much for the time to write us a detailed review. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel scenary and the morning in Panmen Garden. We hope you can come back to stay with us in your next holiday in Suzhou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

A very friendly hotel, with amazingly helpful staff ! The hotel itself is great, the rooms comfortable and gym and pool fantastic, but what really makes this place is the location. The grounds and park are superb, particularly great with young kids where you can easily and quickly get out and wander around the ponds. Great when the seasons are just changing.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear jlofe,
Thank you very much for the positive review. Autumn in Suzhou is indeed charming season and the Panmen Garden ajacent to hotel has nice scenary in this time. Looking forward to your next visit to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Room service was available when we needed it and the staff delivered it with a smile. Reception staff was speedy in answering questions concerning nearby places for delicacies. Environment and garden facilities were comfortable for a morning or evening stroll. Restaurant waiters in particular need proper training to upgrade them to a standard compatible with the 'hardware' of the hotel. Management must improve.

Room Tip: Ask for upper level rooms with a broad view of Panmen scenery area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Pan Pacific Suzhou, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear hkgus,

Thank you for the review and your feedback is important to us. We will look into your suggestions for further improvement and we wish to exceed your expectations in your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#8 of 1,427 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
3.2 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,427 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#3 of 1,427 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#4 of 1,427 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
2.2 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,427 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Suzhou

Property: Pan Pacific Suzhou
Address: No. 259 Xinshi Road, Gusu District, Suzhou 215007, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#6 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#8 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#15 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pamper your senses at Pan Pacific Suzhou, a private paradise in the heart of a city steeped in Chinese artistry, culture and tradition.Indulge in the culture of this quaint charming city at a sanctuary that fuses the artistry of local architecture with contemporary luxury. Pan Pacific Suzhou offers modern-day conveniences, outstanding service and state-of-the-art amenities. Let us inspire your imagination and heighten your senses with a stay at our 5 star hotel.Flanked by a magnificent backdrop of traditional gardens, our luxury hotel is just a one-hour drive from Shanghai, close to Lake Taihu and Hanshan temple. Spend time exploring Suzhou, savour gourmet meals, tempt your senses at our spa, or experience enchantment in our silk boutique. Discover your own private paradise at the Pan Pacific Suzhou hotel, where tranquility reigns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Suzhou Hotel Suzhou
Sheraton Suzhou Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing