We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robyn's horror”
Review of Glamor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glamor Hotel
Ranked #384 of 1,478 Hotels in Suzhou
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel was the worst hotel we stayed in in China, rooms had smoke odour, dirty and stained carpet and leaking toilets, they allowed people to smoke in restaurant and the food and service left a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

We loved this hotel, pity we only stayed here for 1 night, always the way when on a group tour the hotels that are lovely you end up staying for only 1 night and the not so lovely, more than the one. Anyway, this hotel is lovely.
Our room was huge........... We had room 303, as you walked in the huge bathroom was on the right, with everything you could want in it. Then next was an area with a desk huge office chair glass partition from the bed area. Again everything you could want was in this room. The bed was very comfortable. We had a great sleep, no noise around to annoy us. We ate our tea in their "breakfast " area. Food was very nice. The breakfast choice was not huge, but you would not go hungry. We would definately stay again in this hotel if we were in Suzhou, China. 9/10 for us.....

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

the photos of the rooms are deceiving. My room (real photo attached) was like a 1970s motel room with worn carpet, mouldy grout in the bathroom and water stains in the cupboard. The air cond stunk of cigarette smoke. If you are a smoker, then this hotel is fine but i hate smoke. It was a non-smoking room but in china that means jack $hit. Nothing glamorous about this place. The only redeeming quality is the breakfast buffet was normal. Pay the extra money and stay in a 5 star hotel in small towns like Suzhou.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussnowboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

The rooms were big and modern, with a large bathroom also. Service was good and there was free wifi.

I had an evening meal in the restaurant which was tasty and breakfast was also nice.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooms77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

This was a beautiful hotel with stunning views of the hotel's traditional gardens. The restaurant served amazing food and over looked a magnificent garden where one could go and sit.
The hotel rooms were all on the lower floor with conference rooms and other rooms on the top floors/out building.
The staff were extremely pleasant and if lucky, one would be given a surprise fruit basket.
Overall, the hotel had a lovel vibe and was very clean.
I would warn that the hotel is quite expensive when buying drinks things out of their machines. I remember a small tub of hagan daaz ice cream was 45 yuan (qpprox £4).

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unknownrebalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Only stayed for two nights as part of a tour. Nice large room. Good freebies - shampoo, conditioner, toothbrushes, bath foam, etc. Bathrobes in room.

Internet was very cheap - 10 yuan for 1 hour (no half-hour option) at the ground-floor business centre. The double spray shower was confusing!! Didn’t try the swimming pool/sauna.

Breakfast was very good, large choice and all lovely, don’t miss the pastries. Were in a group and so all seated together at large tables.

Took a short walk out of the hotel, seemed safe - nothing really to look at, tiny ‘shops’ and busy roads. Bit out of the way probably, but didn't matter as we were on tour.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayForUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Good acceptable four star hotel.
We had a new carpet so we were quite happy to walk around in bare feet.
Rooms fine, breakfast good, Chinese buffet pretty good.
A little out of town so nowhere to walk too.
As with the rest of China, friendly efficient staff.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#9 of 1,478 in Suzhou
822 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#12 of 1,478 in Suzhou
433 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#10 of 1,478 in Suzhou
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#4 of 1,478 in Suzhou
627 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Suzhou
InterContinental Suzhou
#8 of 1,478 in Suzhou
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glamor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glamor Hotel

Address: No.538 Tongjing North Road, Suzhou 215008, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 1,478 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range: £35 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glamor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Glamor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing