We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Hotel in Suzhou”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Ranked #5 of 1,418 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Hard, Österreich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best Hotel in Suzhou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Every Time when i'm in Suzhou for Business i stay at the Shangri La and every Time there is great. The whole People from the Boy at the Lobby to the Manager and the Team at the Horizon Club specialy Michelle Catherine is very engaged and excellent

Room Tip: Horizon Club, Corner Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margit_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    255
    50
    3
    3
See reviews for
83
58
34
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is the best from all hotels that I stayed. They welcome me like going back to home like family. I only select this hotel every time I'm going back to Suzhou for business and leisure. Best and awesome

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Huckyeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Like every Shangri-La, an excellent hotel, very good breakfast buffet, nice health club with a huge sauna and nice pool
My first choice for Suzhou New District for business and leisure
The staffs are well trained and memorize guest names quickly



  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank taoist_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I basically lived here for a month one summer and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms are well appointed, clean, and modern. I have stayed in a "normal" room and they were fine. I was also upgraded to several of the suites and they were amazing. In fact one was larger than my first apartment.
The executive lounge was well appointed and the staff were very accommodating. The food was good with one exception. Apparently the cooks here think that hash browns are already cooked so they came out cold and undercooked.
The restaurants downstairs are fine. The buffet that they have is well stocked and a local favorite. They have a variety of food from around the world and it is well prepared.

Room Tip: I like the higher floors as they have nice views. If you can swing a suite then I'd highly rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraydonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
223 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel with amazing junior suites and a killing view during the night that reminds a little of Shanghai or even New York! The lobby bar serves live music by a pianist with a lady that sings in 4 different languages ( English, French, Spanish and , of course, Chinese). The waitresses serve small portions of white wine Ina glass, so if you are a fun just get the whole bottle. By the lobby you get to get the breakfast which is really Chinese and western. At the same level you can enjoy e Japanese Nishimura restaurant , served by geishas and hoping that spicy dishes won't be spicy enough for your stomach which begs for some ahead of time antacids. Overall clean rooms and polite staff would give them the 5 star spirit award (sounds familiar to Baylor Hospital residents of Dallas?). Swimming pool and gym available at most of the day (just don't use the pool in the early pm as it is crowded). Enjoy it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HellasKifissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 3:45pm and true enough based on what we have been "warned" by other online reviewers - the premier rooms we booked were not ready and they were trying to sell us the upgrade deal to club rooms!!! Seriously- not ready at 3:45pm??? Shangri-la conducting cross sell this way?

Anyway, we gave in and took the "offer" to upgrade. Good thing they called later to inform us the upgrade is complimentary because when we were going to bed, we realised the air cond does not work but we were too tired to request for another room!!

Saving grace - the excellent service by the team at club lounge, especially Robert. And this is good comparison as we were at Hyatt Shanghai earlier where we booked the club rooms as well.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyfeetII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanny H, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear HappyfeetII,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are very concerned about your unpleasant experience, and we would appreciate if you can contact us via email with further details at jeanny.hu@shangri-la.com so that we can carry out further investigation.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here for just one night (for pleasure) simply because I am a big fan of Shangri-La hotels. I booked a Horizon Deluxe room on this occasion as we had no children with us, the cost was minimal in my opinion and I thought I would get plenty of use out of the Horizon Club (via the hotel's own website). The hotel was quiet (mid Autumn holiday) so we upgraded on check in to a Horizon Premier room which was a bargain at 150RMB extra! In addition to the usual standard Shangri-La rooms (top quality linen, beds, pillows, towels, robes, slippers, toiletries ...) this room was on the corner of the building (44th floor) with dual aspect floor to ceiling windows with great views, fruit platter, and a lovely sitting area. If here on business you would appreciate the large, well lit desk with reasonable speed Wi-Fi (free) and a drawer containing stapler, paper clips, highlighter pen etc - never seen that before - a nice touch!
I also rather liked the copy of 'Lost Horizon' on the bedside table despite not having time to read it! We made really good use of the Horizon club - coffee and brunch type nibbles on arrival, tea in the afternoon, drinks and snacks in the early evening plus a fabulous breakfast the following morning! The best Horizon Club breakfast we have had as it offered hot food as well as the usual juices, fruit, yogurts, pastries ... The lobby lounge was nice (apart from the smoking which we rarely see in Shanghai now and never in the UK), we had tea and sandwiches before leaving, we also ate in Shang Palace which was nice (high praise indeed from someone who doesn't really like Chinese!) If sightseeing the hotel is a little way from the main tourist highlights but this wasn't a problem for us as taxis were plentiful and cheap and no-where was further than about 20 minutes away (including the railway station). Great staff in all areas, would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank CazRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
3.5 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#6 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
6.4 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.7 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#3 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#8 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
9.1 mi away
InterContinental Suzhou
InterContinental Suzhou
#4 of 1,418 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Address: No.168 Tayuan Road, Suzhou New District, Suzhou 215011, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Suzhou
#3 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#3 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#5 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#25 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri La Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing