We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Ranked #3 of 1,444 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
1 review
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed in Shangri-la Suzhou for 4 days during public holidays and everything was great. Rooms are spacious and theres a lot of natural light thanks to floor to ceiling windows. Hotel is a bit far away from the city center/Jinji lake area but metro station is very close. Amenities in the hotel were great and staff was extremely helpful and attending.

Room Tip: Horizon club room gives extra value for your money here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mc1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    260
    51
    6
    3
See reviews for
92
64
41
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markina City
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Check-in was a breeze as I checked-in in my room. I was given a Horizon Club room which was at the 43rd floor. Great room as expected with a nice view of the city. Great service as usual.I would like to thank the front office staff for packing breakfast for me as I needed to leave early when I checked-out.
Thanks to Calvin for providing the note to the taxi driver to drive me to the Suzhou train station. Thanks to one front office manager (I forgot his name sorry) for writing a note that I can give at the train station so I can secure the train ticket going to Shanghai. It was my first time to use the China high-speed train alone and the Shangri La's staff helped me a lot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjing
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel offers everything you expect from a Shangri-la hotel. Very good servive, the rooms are very clean, very quiet and the breakfast is very good, it includes a nece veriation of western and japanese styles, the area where the hotel is located is frequented by a lot of japanese customers though.
The staff is very attentive and the whole facility is excellent.
Only the price is a little bit on the hiogh side.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andie6931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Have stayed in the Shagri-La now twice and on the face of it; it seems a bargain for a 5-star hotel. However I would not rate it as a 5-star hotel. The rooms are large and spacious and the common area's are well decorated and pleasing to the eye. Some of the service is excellent and I can't praise the concierge enough who helped me far and beyond the call of duty.

However the other service I received was somewhat questionable. The front desk staff are generally gloomy and disinterested. The main restaurant staff on the ground floor were the same. Very slow and looked like they were doing you a favour. The speed in which they try and get rid of you from the restaurant at 9pm on the dot is actually quite funny. Also the chamber maid service is not what they profess it to be. I twice left my shoes to be shined and both times they were ignored without a note!!

As I say in my title it is pretty average.....Also be aware of other costs....The room prices are competitive but the restaurants are extortionately priced,. as are the drinks, mini-bar charges and cleaning charges. I would avoid like the plague.

I would stay here again but think it could be so much better if they had a look at themselves and made some small changes.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanny H, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Vinnie1979,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am disappointed to hear of your unpleasant stay experience. To investigate the issues thoroughly and to ensure there is no repeat of such experience, would you mind letting us know your contact information by emailing us at jeanny.hu@shangri-la.com, so we can address your concerns in more details.

At the same time, I do appreciate your feedback about our Concierge colleagues who provided service meeting your expection.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Only a few miles away from Huqiu Scenary Area, 5A sightseeing area in China! Free parking service! Welcome fruit for us! We asked to change our room from twin room to king room and receptionist did it to meet our needs very quickly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Sophia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have seen a few hotels that are physically more beautiful, but the Shangri-La in Suzhou gets everything right. From the welcome at the front door to the food quality, service levels and comfort level. The service is anticipatory and proactive. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dongguan, China
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I spent just 2 nights at the hotel, but I had a great experience... Big room, excellent bathroom, excellent room service and delicious food.

When I go to Suzhou again, for sure I'll stay at Shangri - La Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio_Arn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
3.5 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#8 of 1,444 in Suzhou
997 reviews
1.7 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,444 in Suzhou
465 reviews
6.4 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,444 in Suzhou
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#4 of 1,444 in Suzhou
915 reviews
9.1 mi away
InterContinental Suzhou
InterContinental Suzhou
#5 of 1,444 in Suzhou
511 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#11 of 1,444 in Suzhou
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Address: No.168 Tayuan Road, Suzhou New District, Suzhou 215011, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Suzhou
#3 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#3 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#3 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#15 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri La Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing