We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel with Beautiful Grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
Ranked #18 of 1,438 Hotels in Suzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel with Beautiful Grounds”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband, adult daughter & I enjoyed our one-night stay at this hotel. The grounds of this hotel are lovely. Guest rooms, conference rooms and banquet facilities are dispersed among several buildings on the grounds. Our building (I believe it was #8) was quite a distance from the main building (where the check-in is located), but that was no problem. The hotel provides small vehicles similar to golf carts, complete with driver, to transport guests & their luggage about the grounds. We enjoyed strolling through the grounds, where there are many large, beautiful trees. Each tree bore a label listing its genus, species & age; many trees were 80 years old or more. We ate at a dining room on the grounds, where we were able to order a delicious vegetarian dinner. Our room was spacious, clean & quiet, with a nice bathroom. In the evening, the hotel sent fresh fruit to our room, which was a lovely welcome to Suzhou. This hotel is within easy walking distance of the Master of the Nets Garden. If you are spending any length of time in Suzhou, this would be a wonderful hotel for an extended stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SECh694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    133
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
80
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a Wendy Wu tour.
The hotel is set in large grounds featuring a local lake with gold fish (koi) and rock formations, very pretty. The bedrooms are clean, generously sized with rock hard concrete beds, and a good bathroom. Breakfast was a choice of either Chinese or western. A nice hotel, with friendly polite staff. However Wifi was only available in the reception area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We arrived by canal barge which is the way to do it in Suzhou (the Venice of the East). Despite the rain the gardens looked lovely. The first hotel (out of 9) in China with a modern 'business' feel to the rooms. Free WiFi/Internet, large screen TV, large comfortable beds. Just a shame it was a one night stop. We ate in the hotel with a wedding reception going on, but food and service was excellent - we even got to sign the bride and grooms wedding book.
A brisk 20 minute walk will bring you back to the old canals and it's red lanterns in the evening - well worth the trip as the canals look so much better in the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a hotel to stay if you want to immerse yourself in the "gardens" atmosphere of Suzhou as the grounds are practically a classical garden. Apparently many dignitaries stayed here before. It is a 5 star hotel, rooms are clean, modern and well-furnished. LAN and wi-fi are free. Staff are friendly and polite. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

The hotel is situated right about 10 minutes walk from the Master of the Nets Garden and beside Shiquan Road which is full of pubs, boutiques and restaurants. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant or use other facilities.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Flintstong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East London
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed here for one night and the room was good, clean, with a comfortable bed and all modern conveniences. The walls were not very well sound proofed however.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and felt that the staff were avoiding serving us because they didn't speak English and didn't want to take our order. They ended up bringing a dish which we hand't ordered.
The reception staff were very pleasant.
Breakfast was very crowded and not very good from a Western point of view.
The hotel has some lovely grounds and overlooks the canal, which is a nice way to arrive there.
Didn't have time to sample the gym or swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

I am a professor of English at Soochow University. Even though I teach on the new campus near Du Shu Lake, I knew I wanted to stay in the heart of Suzhou (especially because taxis are very reasonably priced here). After researching, I decided that Nan Yuan Bin Guan (the real name of this hotel and the one you MUST tell the taxi drivers if you want to end up at the right hotel) was the best. There is a huge swimming pool, a wonderful spa with the best foot massage I have found, a fantastic restaurant (Lotus Pavilion), beautiful grounds where flowers are constantly replanted (occasionally there are operas in the garden), a villa where Chiang Kai-Shek's second son lived (which you can stay in—Margaret Thatcher stayed on the second floor, allegedly room 7203), a creepy but fascinating bunker that Lin Biao (second in command to Mao) built when he was planning his failed coup, a bar and tea lounge, live piano and gujin music every night, and the nicest staff ever. Scott, one of the bartenders, has excellent English, so have him translate if you have any issues. He makes a great pina colada too. The area surrounding the hotel is fantastic and vibrant. The Master-of-Nets Garden (Wang Shi Yuan) is a block away down an alley of fascinating art, jewelry, and "Obamao" T-shirts for sale. Kung Fu Mud is a block and a half east on Shi Quan Jie, and they will help you throw your first ceramic pot and paint it for only 100 yuan (circa $16 at the 2013 exchange rate). They are lovely people, and if you just want to paint already-made ware, you can do that too. Casa Vostra is two blocks west on Shi Quan Jie, and it has great pizza, pasta, arugula salad, and desserts. The Bookworm Bookstore is a block past Casa Vostra on the other side of the street and over the canal; it is a lending library for members, who also get discounts on their vast menu and multiple beer choices; on Wednesdays there is Open Mic night where a variety of musicians play starting around 9 p.m. If you go out the north entrance near the spa and pool and turn right, less than a block down is Jane's Bar where two fantastic and beautiful singers sing for free and will let you do karaoke (and hopefully you will sing as well as them). Plus there are wonderful shops full of clothing, jewelry, leather, scarves, rocks, chocolates, and more. The more Mandarin you attempt to speak, the better the price. My room in the hotel is taken until January 2014 (except for July 12-August 24), but there are other suites, and they include a huge buffet breakfast. If you come to China to experience the real China, this is a classy choice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dingos8baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a Wendy Wu tour. The room was nicely decorated and had nice bathroom. The room was a good size and had all the usual amenities. Breakfast was the same as I had in other parts of China, Chinese breakfast food as well as Western food for those who wanted something more familiar. A nice hotel, staff friendly and polite.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
1.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#8 of 1,438 in Suzhou
996 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#10 of 1,438 in Suzhou
384 reviews
4.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
Shangri-La Hotel Suzhou
#3 of 1,438 in Suzhou
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#2 of 1,438 in Suzhou
464 reviews
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
Renaissance Suzhou Hotel
#1 of 1,438 in Suzhou
695 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Crowne Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#4 of 1,438 in Suzhou
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)

Property: Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
Address: No.99 Daichengqiao Road, Canglang District, Suzhou 215006, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Suzhou
#7 Romantic Hotel in Suzhou
#7 Spa Hotel in Suzhou
#10 Business Hotel in Suzhou
#17 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#27 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road) 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Suzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing