We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Local -- so so”
Review of Aster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aster Hotel
Ranked #115 of 1,469 Hotels in Suzhou
Reviewed 11 January 2013

we stay only 1 nite before to Beijing by Bullet Train. Hotel renovated but room still old. Location not central. Breakfast only Chinese buffet not impressed. ya...that only 5* local. Beds was only 1 m for twin bed

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImmADean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

We were fortunate to have been referred to this hotel for 4 nights on our first trip to China. We couldn't say enough good things about our stay. The breakfasts were fantastic with a wide variety of choice, both Chinese and western foods.
The rooms were spacious and very well maintained and the staff were courteous and extremely helpful. While there were some language concerns, we always were able to handle the situation satisfactorily.
We would imagine that a Chinese visitor to Cork in Ireland would not expect that all staff would be fluent in Chinese, as much as it would be unreasonable and arrogant to expect that all staff in any country could communicate in all languages of visitors (including China).
Hooray for the Aster Hotel. One hell of a first class, five star hotel.
Keep up your standard!!! You deserve nothing less that a five star accolade. Thanks to Zoubing for recommending it to us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is one of the nicer hotels we have tried in China. Staff is very nice and helpful. Most of them speak and understand English at a decent level. Breakfast buffet is nice and with a lot to choose from. We had one of the big corner rooms which are very nice and big with own balcony. The tv has international channels like HBO and cnn. There is a revolving restaurant at the top of the hotel with a nice view. They mostly serve a dinner buffet but that did not look interesting so we decided for a drink instead. Note that this is a children friendly restaurant so there will be noisy kids at times. Prices in the higher end but the drinks are nice and coffee good.
Beds are hard as on every Chinese hotel we have tried. That is standard in this country.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Hotel staff / crew - Very nice people, accomodating, willing to help anytime requested.
But most of them have a hard time to speak English. Still they try to communicate.
Food is nice.
Replace drinking water everyday.
Soap, shampoo, lotion and toothbrush is always being replace by new ones.
Room is cleaned and fix everyday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marney_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I had read the reviews, but upon entering the hotel, the lobby looked great,- so I wondered whether people were too critical. No- the lobby is far nicer than the rooms. We had requested a king bed and were advised the hotel doesn't have any. Once on our floor, the smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming in the halls. In our room, exposed wires were evident in bathroom where a phone was semi attached to the wall. The beds were like rocks , and the walls were thin. The best thing about the hotel was the buffet breakfast, which was pretty good.
We did check out the revolving restaurant. Food was laid out at 4 pm and was dried and not placed on ice (shrimp shrivelled... not safe to eat). We opted to go out and had a very average meal. We stayed in 2 other hotels on our trip to Beijing,Suzhou/Wuxi and Shanghai. By far, this was the worst.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marigot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Hotel was definitely not a four star--more like 2 1/2 stars. The room was clean and comfortable but the mini bar had nothing in it. There were 2 small bottles of water in the room, we would have paid for more. There was a restaurant on the first floor, so we went in for dinner, not even sure if it was open. They sat us and took our order and got food from, I guess the other restaurant. We were the only people in there and looked like they were setting up for the morning. Not good communication. A decent buffet breakfast and it was not that close to anything. It might be an a decent business restaurant but not that great for tourists.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealtOr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This hotel is clean and comfortable . I like it. breakfast was Viking style. I enjoyed various foods. you'll be full up.
but the location is not so good.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnatul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
2.3 mi away
Gloria Plaza Hotel Suzhou
Gloria Plaza Hotel Suzhou
#682 of 1,469 in Suzhou
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scholars Hotel Suzhou Xuchengs
0.9 mi away
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
Suzhou Marriott Hotel
#3 of 1,469 in Suzhou
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#11 of 1,469 in Suzhou
409 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#10 of 1,469 in Suzhou
1,035 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aster Hotel

Address: No.488 Sanxiang Road, Suzhou 215004, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Suzhou
#65 Best Value Hotel in Suzhou
Price Range: £40 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suzhou Aster Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing