We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Emerald City Suzhou
Ranked #29 of 1,418 Hotels in Suzhou
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Large rooms”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Somerset. Although the hotel is not located in downtown Suzhou, it is attached to the Emerald City Mall giving access to shopping and dining options. The nearest metro stop Tayuan Lu is about a 10 minutes walk from the hotel and there you can get access to the city. The room size is impressive-Somerset style with a separate living area and bed room. Each unit has its own wifi router. The breakfast choice is better than average offering some Chinese, Western and Japanese choices. Overall, a great stay indeed and strongly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy N, Manager at Somerset Emerald City Suzhou, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Karn, thank you for your compliments and your kind feedback has been shared with the team of Somerset Emerald City Suzhou. Your compliments inspire us to continually provide the level of service that guests have come to expect.
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    27
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
6
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We enjoy our time at this property. Customer service was excellent, and all of the front desk agents went the extra mile to help us on any needs. Breakfast was decent and fresh. Location is a plus here, the hotel is attached to a shopping mall. There is a KFC and Pizza Hut at walking distance in case you are home sick (USA). My only complaints is the internet, is too slow. And the bed is hard as a rock. Other than that, everything was nice, good price for an excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near to the mall, mine was near the construction site. Noise 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoriTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy N, Manager at Somerset Emerald City Suzhou, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear BoriTraveler,
Geetings from Somerset Emerald City Suzhou. As the Residence Manager of this property, I would like to personally thank you for having taken the time to give us the feedback.
With regard to the bed, please be assured that we had make the improvement for that. Once we get the requirement from you, we will prepare the soft bed for your stay in advance. Many thanks for your understanding.
Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Emerald City Suzhou, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of ASCOTT serviced residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

the hotel is good, people dont speak as much english as they say they do. the rooms are really nice, the bed is horrible, hard as rock! its in a nice lcoation (probably a little hidden) awesome price,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

nice and clean!!and it is next to a shopping mall with supermarket. but a bit far away from the city. but you can travel taxi to the centre within 10 mins and in a cheap price. the price is super b!and the wifi network is really fast and stable. the room is really big with a living room, kitchen. you can cook by yourself if you want.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylviasze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment which included two free breakfasts and free high speed cable internet. The bed was a Chinese hard variety - not very comfortable. Safe was bolted to the wall. Breakfast included freshly made eggs and bacon to order and other Western and Chinese food. The ‘Vanguard’ supermarket in the same complex as the Apartment had everything that you would require. Western bread and pastries could be obtained from the excellent ‘Bread Talk’ shop also in the same complex. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPlanner2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I've already been in the Somerset hotel 4 times and every time I've been satisfied. The best service apartment in Suzhou. Rooms are really big, there is the kitchen to cook and all you could need to eat! It's quiet, even if above all in this period you can hear the noise of the works outside (but this is quite normal in China!). Nice shopping mall inside the same building and underground park car, useful if you have a car. The gym is really good. The only point to improve: the hotel hasn't a lounge bar, interesting above all for people coming there for business.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Nice location, Queen size bed a bit too small for my liking, but overall sleep quality good. Close to a shopping center with a supermarket, although it doesn't have much imported food products.The service was quite excellent, and the staff spoke English.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#8 of 1,418 in Suzhou
365 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
Wyndham Garden Suzhou
#27 of 1,418 in Suzhou
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wealthy All Suite Hotel Suzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#6 of 1,418 in Suzhou
959 reviews
13.6 mi away
Mercure Suzhou Park Hotel and Suites
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Jasmine Suzhou Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Emerald City Suzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Emerald City Suzhou

Property: Somerset Emerald City Suzhou
Address: No.436 Changjiang Road, Gaoxin District, Suzhou 215011, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Suzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,418 Hotels in Suzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset Emerald City Suzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Emerald City is strategically located in the heart of the Suzhou New District (SND) – a state hi-tech industrial park with an extensive presence of Fortune 500 companies and multinational investments. It is situated on top of The Emerald City shopping mall, giving you instant access to a multitude of international fashion, dining and entertainment facilities. Nearby attractions include Hanshan Temple, Tiger Hill and the famous Suzhou Amusement Park, as well as UNESCO World Heritage classical Chinese gardens in the city. Designed to accommodate your every need, Somerset Emerald City offers a balanced lifestyle with a comfortable living space complemented by our extensive services and facilities. Our one and two-bedroom units are stylishly furnished with contemporary décor and modern fittings, including a fully-equipped kitchen, HiFi system and plasma television with cable and satellite channels. Doing business in Somerset Emerald City is easy and efficient. With wireless Internet (WiFi) access and additional business support services and facilities in the Business Centre, you will have complete business connectivity in the comfort of your own home. Our recreational residents’ programmes allow you to meet people and network within your community. Gymnasium facilities are also conveniently provided on-site for you to relax and recharge. It is an ideal way for utive singles and couples to experience the culture of Suzhou while living in the security and spacious comfort of a serviced residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Emerald City Suzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing