We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Wuxi
Ranked #1 of 678 Hotels in Wuxi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Though the hotel was a little out of the way, it was a breeze getting to and fro the city centre as there were many cabs there at all times of the day.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms were cozy & spacious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Wuxi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a great 5-star hotel, with lots of amenities. The lobby feels very nice and high-end. The glass bridge in the lobby is pretty! The room is clean, spacious, modern, and nicely decorated, with free wi fi internet access. I loved their indoor swimming pool. It's big and the water is clean. The resting room for the swimming pool is so spacious and clean, and equipped with hot water shower and drinking water. The only thing I am not too happy is their breakfast buffet. The food choice is quite limited, speaking about a 5-star hotel. Their coffee tasted weird, especially to someone like me who is really picky about coffee. Their coffee tasted like instant coffee, rather than being just freshly brewed.
Overall it was a nice stay at this hotel, and it will be nice if they can improve their breakfast buffet a little bit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apple00189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a pretty expensive standard hotel with nice rooms. Paulaner bar inside has quite a nice feel although very expensive to have a beer or two. The rooms are large and well cleaned with a good working WiFi connection. It's located 5 minutes by taxi from one of Wuxi's bar streets. The breakfast is very average.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Was there for 2 nights of business but get unpleasant experiences from the night counter staffs at the first night. The person named Louie or Louis was giving a hard time to my Chinese business partner when he tried to buy my room by paying the local RMB credit card. The staff asked double slide and said the first time didn’t go through. But it was showing a notice on my partner’s cell phone for charging from bank. The staff shows the poker face and no answer our question. We need to wait and call bank to verify the transaction to avoid possible double charges. We asked the staff’s name or number to help proof the transaction but he said he has no employee ID. We need to find his name on the name tag he wears.
Claim to their leader named “Red Getleman” when leaving, but got a very general reply email from Jessie Xu (title: Front Office Manager). I wrote back to ask for more details for how they will do to improve but no answer which it is already two weeks. My customer from Canada who stayed at another room disappointed for their service and follow up. Don’t know how they will get so high scores in their service review?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great five star hotel, Very comfortable room with wi fi internet access. Very nice and luxury lobby & lobby lounge, amazing water glass on dome (see pic.)
clean room, especially the bathroom, very modern and designed so as to watch TV from inside with roof speaker.
Unfortunately I had never tried the food at hotel, despite of many reviewers had unpleasant experience with meal, I can't judge on that. but I had tried the Danish and croissant from the bakery on the reception, it delicious.
Great 5-Star hotels exceed expectations with great service. Glade to stay at the Kempinski Wuxi when on business.

Room Tip: check in to rooms that facing river/garden view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hima2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Spent 3 nights here on a half biz / half leisure trip with family.

Let's start with the positive:
1. Great location as it was very close to central Wuxi (Congan Templ)e and to all the places that I needed to run errands to.
2. Very nice and spacious lobby & lobby lounge, loved the glass bridge over water decor (see pic)
3. Great room, especially the bathroom, very spacious clean.
4. HSKP staff always greeted guests when you meet up with one on the floors or in public area. (at least they would if you're Chinese)
5. Great concierge team at the door entrance, remembered the 5-star standard smile.

Now for the need improvements:
1. Breakfast buffet: the selection of fruits were very fresh so we know the purchasing team didn't cut corners there, but what happened after all the ingredients got heated? Alot of the items were cold (bacon, sausage, etc...) Variety was less than impressive for a 5-star.

2. F&B service staff: I asked for a cup of coffee, I was brought half a cup. When I asked why did I only have half a cup of coffee, the server explained that because that's the quantity given by the coffee machine. Not that she had an attitude during the explanation, but why did the service training not include a section notifying servers that when guests ask for reason, they don't want an explanation, they want the problem fixed.

3. Apart from the HSKP & Concierge staff, it seems all other staff are lacking smiles on their faces. Is this really such a terrible hotel to work in?

I would still say Kempinski Wuxi is a great hotel with a lot of potentials, but HR / Training Dept really needs to do something with the service training for F&B and FO staff.

Great 5-Star hotels exceed expectations with great service, after all, hardware will only go so far, for so long.

Hope your future reviews on service standards will be better than this one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels
1  Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel felt very high end. I was extremely comfortable here. Great minibar, great breakfast, great view, fantastic service. I wish I had gotten to spend more time here than the 10 hours or so I had. Very clean and comfortable.

They did not honor the original price quote, however, and charged us 194RMB more than quoted. Not that the room wasn't worth it, but it was annoying.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FINNasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wuxi hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Wuxi
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Wuxi Binhu Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Wuxi
Hyatt Regency Wuxi
#4 of 678 in Wuxi
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Pullman Wuxi New Lake
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nikko Wuxi
Hotel Nikko Wuxi
#6 of 678 in Wuxi
167 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wuxi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Wuxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Wuxi

Address: No.18 Yonghe Road, Nanchang District, Wuxi 214023, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Wuxi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wuxi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wuxi
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wuxi
#6 Business Hotel in Wuxi
Price Range: £70 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Wuxi 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Wuxi is located at the beautiful Taihu Square. Its impressive size of 200 m height makes the hotel the most significant landmark in the downtown area. The hotel is the latest international 5-star hotel in the Jiangsu province, providing all guests with an atmosphere for rest & relaxation as well as a luxurious platform for business activities. 30 min from Wuxi airport and in close proximity to the Wuxi New District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Wuxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuxi Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing