We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wuxi International Hotel
Ranked #112 of 688 Hotels in Wuxi
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for three (3) nights in a room on Floor 16. The lobby area was nice and gave an impression which was not met upon entering my room. Leaving the elevator on Lvl 16 one is met with very dingy carpeting and it doesn't get any better in the room. The room I was assigned whilst spacious enough had an old feel as if it had seen better days. Lighting was a mixture of incandescent (who even uses this anymore) as well as CFL downlighters. The bathroom continued the theme of oldness.

However some of the lower floors appeared to be much nicer than ours upon a cursory look when the elevator opened on those floors. I suspect the 4 star rating they advertise is based on a few floors and not the entire property. I did not pay as my travel was arranged by my Chinese counterparts so I cannot give a value for money rating. The location of the hotel was pretty good though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2011

Rated as a 4 star, but actually more of a 3 star standard. Room rates were listed at 800RMB/night, but I'm sure you don't actually pay that much. We were part of a tour group, so actual price is unknown. The hotel lobby, entrance and location are all acceptable, but like many tourist class hotels in china, the rooms are where the differences in standards emerge. The rooms are old. Lighting in ours were from fluorescence bulbs while beds were of the ultra hard variety. I swore I could actually feel the planks underneath. Bathroom similarly is of old 80's design. At least it's clean. Beware, there are no effective non smoking rooms, so many of the rooms smell like smoke.
Breakfast buffet was provided as part of the room rates. The food was acceptable, no complaints there. Overall, as long as you treat this as a 80's hotel and pay rates commensurate to that, it's allright for a night's stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Went for a business trip. Its in the heart of the city with all amenities, markets, malls, etc just around the corner. The approach of the hotel is pretty small which can make you miss if not known. Once you enter, its entrance is pretty grand but rest everything is pretty average. The staff is not quite helpful which is mainly because of the language problem. Very few people speak English which becomes an issue while communicating. The rooms are pretty small and old style. The minus point was the cleanliness in the room. The carpets and sofas were old and stained, the bed sheet was torn from the side which when requested was change hence I give it a negligance from hotel. The bed was pretty comfortable but pillows were too hard. Breakfast was not upto the mark due to lack of choice. Overall I would give it an average. Value for money for staying in the city center!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuG2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The hotel facilities are pretty old, the elevator takes ages, but rooms were clean. The mini bar was empty and due to the location in the city center it was a bit noisy. But only 5min to walk from the train station and in the city center.

Overall nothing special, but comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank china_funshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 25 May 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hamaguri52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gaetano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wuxi hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Nikko Wuxi
Hotel Nikko Wuxi
#6 of 688 in Wuxi
179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Wuxi
Kempinski Hotel Wuxi
#1 of 688 in Wuxi
494 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Wuxi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Wuxi Binhu Hotel
4.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Wuxi
Millennium Hotel Wuxi
#11 of 688 in Wuxi
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Park Wuxi
Grand Park Wuxi
#7 of 688 in Wuxi
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuxi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuxi International Hotel

Address: No.88 Qiandong Street, Wuxi 214005, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Wuxi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 688 Hotels in Wuxi
Price Range: £31 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 369
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Wuxi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing