We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star of Nanchang One of its kind”
Review of Star of Nanchang

Star of Nanchang
Ranked #3 of 111 things to do in Nanchang
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Star of Nanchang One of its kind”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

forget Singapore flyer or London eye, that's the thrill, I still cannot believe that this one is on of the largest wheels in the world, build with technology that reminds me on my childhood. Yes that the real deal no fancy high tech, computer control or security check. That wheel is turning. Don't go there at noon in Summer if too warm they start operating only in afternoon. And if you need to wait no problem for 100 RMB you rent a beach buggy for a fun ride along the river.
Amazing view at daytime, at night you better watch it from distance. Like a kaleidoscope changing color and create new pattern again and again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    43
    27
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“On a High!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A great way to see the ever-growing, ever-changing skyline of Honggutan and across the Gan River to Nanchang. Choose a clear day, or night and take in the views!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The ride lasted a good 30 minutes. Guess the best time to visit is in the evening. Was everything we expected.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“High ride over lit up city!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We walked down to the Star Ferris Wheel from the fountains, took us about 45 mins.
The wheel is BIG...
We paid 50 rmb each and got a carriage to our selfs.
Well worth the money.
Went at night so got a beautiful lit up view of the city.
Didn't notice it being tatty as other people have said due to it being dark.
IT IS VERY VERY HIGH!!!!!!!!!!
AMAZING!!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rosielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Poor Maintenance”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

On our last day in Jiangxi, we visited the Star of Nanchang [南昌之星], the world's second tallest ferris wheel after the Singapore Flyer. It was completed in 2006 and held the record for the world's tallest ferris wheel for two years. We each paid RMB50 for the experience. The guide asked us on the way to the hotel what we felt about it. I told her it was not maintained well; the gondolas were dirty and the fans inside were thick with dust. I told her I found it hard to believe it was begun only in 2006, seemed more like 1996. Tan Chan then sighed that "maintenance" is the common sickness of all China. "維護是全國的通病," were her exact words.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star of Nanchang also viewed

 

Been to Star of Nanchang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing