We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun
Ranked #2 of 670 Hotels in Changchun
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Probably then best hotel in Changchun. The service and quality is equal to none, especially the service in the Executive lounge from Crystal and her team. The hotel is in central Changchun and close to shopping centres. We hired a guide to show us the delights of the city and I certainly would recomend this to get to know this exciting city.

Room Tip: Recommend upgrading to a suite to gain access to the lounge and breathtaking views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridelyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    291
    67
    11
    3
See reviews for
16
9
18
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Very good as usual, professional front desk and customer servise. But it is a bit hard to book a taxi during traffic hour from concier, hope this could be improve in the future. Like to stay at Shangri-La Hotel as always.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Paris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with lots of old dark wood decor. Spacious rooms. Bar lounge had live entertainment, comfy couches and great single malt scotch and/or tea selection. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andria1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Normally I am put up by the place I visit in Changchun, but this time I opted to go for the Shangri-La as I am a long-standing member of their Golden Circle...

It's not as swanky as Jakarta, KL or Bangkok, and it's not Beijing either. However, it is somewhere you can feel a little more cared for than at other establishments in Changchun.

Yes, it's dated - it's probably not a flagship venue, but it still has the Shang service. I am not so sure of the constant footfall of non-residents coming to the shops on the lobby floor, but then again, I only sat in the lobby bar area once.

Maybe I should have upgraded to the Horizon floor - but I didn't. I got a room overlooking the road/International Hotel - it was a bit noisy, but I slept.

No problem with the staff - all great and very helpful. Room service was excellent, though choosing the German cold-cuts may have been a mistake on my half :)

I'd stay here again. Though it's a bit far from where I work when I am in town, the little extras (like the lovely note from the staff in my room, and the little weather/temperature card) made it special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

While a bit dated, this is still an excellent hotel, with the high service standard that is the trademark of Shangri-La hotels!!
The nicest, friendliest, while extremely professional, staff; from the reception to the restaurant, to the doorman!!

Great breakfast, with just the perfect cappuccino and a "flawless" omelet!!

The room came a bit short as, in a newer 5-star hotel, you usually get a shower separated from the bathtub, which is not the case in this hotel; and the shower curtain flaps constantly as you open the shower water, and ends up sticking to your body, which I find quite uncomfortable!!
And, overall, the washroom is quite small, also!!
The last odd thing was the fact that the hair blower was not in the bathroom but, instead, I found it in one of the drawers of the desk??!!

The above being said, this is still a great hotel and a great value at RMB 920/night, including service charge!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isis080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel is amazing and staff is very welcoming and professional. The rooms are fantastic and comfortable, service is great and internet is very fast. The location of the hotel as well is very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is always my first choice when I'm in Changchun but will consider switching to Sheraton as I no longer felt "welcome" anymore.

When I checked in yesterday, the entire reception staff are new. They tried to upsell me breakfast (which is part of their job) despite repeated reminder that I'm a diamond member ie I get complimentary breakfast. All the known faces are not around anymore and I missed Sebastian (ex CS manager) was told he returned back to Germany. He used to show his presence as and when possible to welcome me and I seen it myself to other "repeated customers" as he greeted us by our names, understood our preferences etc.

It was also quite offensive where one of the lady manager/supervisor was trying to get the staff who was still attending to me to photocopy passports when it was clear that everyone was busy why can't she do it herself when the back office is just behind the counter? If it was Sebastian, he would have jump in and help out.

In the restaraunt this morning, again other than Veronica, 80% of the restaraunt staffs are new faces where they won't know my preference spot, drink etc.

Even the concierge staff except 2 of them . Not sure why but something is really wrong with such a rapid turnover perhaps conduct a employee climate survey to keep the quality staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ru2bz4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas S, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review. We feel disappointed on your unsatisfied staying experience with us and those problems that you mentioned has been well noted and are under review with our Management. We appreciate your honest and precious feedback, and would like to hear from you more through andreas.streiber@shangri-la.com at your convenience. At Shangri-La, we care what matters most to our guests. Please trust our determination for excellent service delivering and we look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us

Sincerely,

Andreas Streiber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Changchun hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Changchun
Hyatt Regency Changchun
#1 of 670 in Changchun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jin An Hotel
Jin An Hotel
#4 of 670 in Changchun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sheraton Changchun Jingyuetan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
New Century Changchun Grand Hotel
2.8 mi away
South Lake Hotel
South Lake Hotel
#10 of 670 in Changchun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
6.1 mi away
Abritz Hotel
Abritz Hotel
#7 of 670 in Changchun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun
Address: No.569 Xi'an Road, Chaoyang District, Changchun 130061, China
Region: China > Jilin > Changchun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Changchun
#3 Best Value Hotel in Changchun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun 5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most advanced PM2.5 filtration equipment is installed in all guestrooms, apartments and Horizon Club Lounge, purifying the indoor air quality and providing natural healthy air. The newly installed air conditioning system enables guests to adjust the indoor temperature to their preference all year round. The in-room humidifying system keeps humidity at the most suitable levels for the human body. Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun is the first and only international five-star hotel in Changchun City. The hotel has been named one of the “Top 100 Asia Hotels” by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and one of the “Top 100 China Hotels” by the readers of Travel + Leisure for four consecutive years. It was awarded the title of “Best Business Hotel” in Changchun by the readers of Business Traveller for ten consecutive years. The hotel is neighbouring with Charter Shopping Centre, Wanda Shopping Plaza and various banks. It is a 50 minutes’ drive to the Changchun Longjia International Airport, and only a 15 minutes’ drive to the Changchun Railway Station and High Speed Rail Station. Standing 25 stories high above the city’s commercial centre, Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun has 457 luxury guestrooms and 98 serviced apartments, equipped with deluxe amenities and modern conveniences as well as offering panoramic views of Changchun. All the guestrooms provide complimentary access to high speed broadband internet service. Wireless internet access available in all of the hotel’s public areas. The extensive food and beverage facilities include the food theatre of Shen Cafe, Shang Palace, Lobby Lounge and Beer Garden(opens in summer), serving international and Asian cuisine as well as northeastern specialties. The Health Club features trendy and state-of-the-art wellness and fitness facilities. The hotel also boasts one of the city’s largest Grand Ballrooms, which is completed with advanced facilities, the ideal venue for banquets, meetings and conferences and social celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Changchun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Changchun
Shangri La Changchun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing