We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars hotel zero star restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel Dalian
Ranked #316 of 1,227 Hotels in Dalian
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We are a group of 11 people and came over to the Terrace cafe for a buffet BBQ. We have spoke to the manager the day before and told him we are here for a wine exhibition and would like to come tomorrow for a buffet and wine tasting session. He said it was ok to bring our own wines. (the beers and drinks are free) after booking and arrival, we were refused wine glasses and had to fight for 20 minutes before we were given wine glasses. From then on our food delivery was at snail pace. And when we were leaving the place, we were stopped at the door and we re told to pay RMB20 per glass. (reason- the glasses needed to be wash) We refused to pay, we have already felt mistreated by the staffs and finally the manager even threaten to report it to the cashier and insist on billing us for the rmb220. Its not a matter of the money. We are already paying rmb 1000 for the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee huai dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good size room. Decent breakfast. Very poor English spoken by the staff. It was a nightmare to get soap and shampoo: "may I have shampoo?...did you say pizza? No, I said shampoo. Ahhh..how do you spell it? S h a m p o o. So did you said coffee?" Hopeless! The hotel is not in the city centre

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days with my husband due to his business trip. Rooms were comfortable, staff pretty attentive. Service at the restaurant was pretty slow, however.

There's a convenience store attached to the hotel and a Gong Cha iced tea shop just outside. There's not many options for a light lunch / dinner around the hotel, but if you want to sit down for a formal meal, you're in luck.

Breakfast was pretty good!

Very close to the square. It's a nice relaxing walk down to the ocean and the fairground.

You need to have the address printed in Chinese and a Chinese map. Nobody will know the English name of the hotel "Howard Johnson" or "Parkland" the Chinese name is totally different

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Travelernyc168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was my first trip to Dalian , Stayed for 4 nights in September-13 . Highly recommended for its comfortable rooms , well maintained property and on top excellent location. Breakfast was amazing , helpful front desk since I had lot of queries (as first time in China) . Coffee shop is amazing on the top floor which I liked most , you can sit alone and spend some quality reading time there. Lot of different restaurant options available nearby and in hotel. HoJo also had an Indian restaurant which I didn't liked becoz of food and they close it pretty early arnd 9 pm(if I remember) which is not a standard dinner time for Indians . Due to this concern , I am giving very good rating to this property otherwise I love the stay here .

Anyhow very good experience and would visit again !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was my 4th trip to Dalian and 3rd time staying here. And it is still one of my favs. Great service, and very comfortable rooms and a great location. If you have not figured it out yet, this hotel is very modern. A little like the Ws in the US. It is located within in walking distance from the Expo. and Xinghai Sq. (Singhi) Or you can also that the bus or street car to Dalian Ctr. The area still has some construction but not like a few years ago. Dalian has many westerners for its size and it seems that there is no shortage of businesses that will cater to your taste where ever you are from. If you are looking for a Chinese style this hotel may not be for you. It is only a 15/20 min bus ride to Youhao Sq.for some great shopping in city center. If you are a man looking to buy some fashion clothing the you only need to walk 3 mins from Youhao Sq. to Dashang's. It is the best men's clothing store in all of China. They only carry the best. Best to look for names that you may not know to get the best prices for well made clothing. You can the the same items here in the US and pay double for what you pay there.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Face south or west for the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed 1 night on weekend in 2014. Not small or big size clean room with big bathtub!
Overall it is a find place to sleep. Most like part was the location, only 5min working distance to Xinghai Square.

Room Tip: 1. Check the distance between your working place and the hotel, because it is located at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Howard Johnson in Dalian for 3 nights in late December 2013. Overall it's a nice hotel however now showing some signs of ageing.

I booking the room for 3 night with breakfast under the name of my wife and myself ( to make it clear two of us would be staying)

We were told on check in that the breakfast is for 1 person and this is just there policy despite 2 people being listed. I complained about this to the front desk however they did not seem to have any authority to provide my wife with an extra breakfast. We were then told that the extra breakfast is 80rmb. When we went to the restaurant the next morning they explained it was 129 rmb for breakfast.

This is a terrible policy and should be reconsidered.

Good points

- wifi in rooms great compared to most Chinese hotels
- amazing location
- the bar attached to the hotel is amazing at night

Bad points
- the breakfast is Awful ( cold and tasteless) and considering its and American hotel chain id expect better western food.

- No pool


Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tomtom1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalian hotels
Somerset Harbour Court Dalian
#25 of 1,227 in Dalian
83 reviews
Furama Hotel Dalian
#11 of 1,227 in Dalian
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan District
Hilton Dalian
Hilton Dalian
#9 of 1,227 in Dalian
256 reviews
Shahekou District
Grand Hyatt Dalian
Grand Hyatt Dalian
#1 of 1,227 in Dalian
164 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#2 of 1,227 in Dalian
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel Dalian

Address: No.95 Huizhan Road, Shahekou District, Dalian 116023, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 1,227 Hotels in Dalian
Price Range: £23 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel Dalian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Parkland Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing