We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO a/c”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ibis (Dalian Sanba Square)
Ranked #18 of 1,214 Hotels in Dalian
Osaka, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“NO a/c”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I guess the hotel would be average apart from the a/c issue. It is clean, and the staff is fine. Free wired internet in the room is nice, but I suppose wireless in the rooms would be too much to ask.
Little complaints: A bathroom sink drainage system that only drains water if you hold the valve down. i suppose this is to save water. Also, there is just one substance for body soap and shampoo, and it's not so great as either.
The big complaint: When the hotel says they have air conditioning, it means they have it when they want to have it. My stay in late May apparently is deemed a non-a/c time of year, and the room got really hot. When I asked about the a/c, they told me there is none, and I should open the window. Well, sure, but if you've been to places like this in China, you know how loud the honking is from outside. Then there are also the bugs, as of course there is no screen.
When you book a place in this price range, you should be ok with no refrigerator, low water pressure in the shower, kinda crappy soap and amenities... but being hot in your hotel room should not be part of the bargain. Especially when it is just because the hotel is being cheap.

Room Tip: They're all probably the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    194
    47
    9
    0
See reviews for
17
19
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This hotel has the standard of cleanliness and service. I stayed during my spring holiday and it was great. Staying in the family room where 3 people could fit in just fine. The room design was typical Ibis hotel standard with capsule bathroom. The location of the hotel is not bad for traveling around and the price of the room per stay was quite cheap. Its an efficient, budgeted hotel i must say but most importantly the room was clean and comfortable. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Vince G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puchong
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Taxi from Dalian railway station to here cost only RMB 10. Has a bus stop just in front the hotel. Near to Carrefour and also the trams that takes you to Russian Street and the train station. Room is clean and breakfast cost RMB 22 . If taking the Bullet train from Shenyang, choose to stop at Dalian Station instead of Dalian North Station which is far away. Bullet train cost only RMB 120 and takes 2 hrs 20 mins. Would recomend to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_TanPuchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This hotel does an excellent job of creating the Western standard of mid price hotels in China. I literally felt like I was staying at an Ibis in Germany for example. The reception was efficient and there was free coffee there. The bathroom was done in an efficient way and the shower was very user friendly. Rooms were probably smaller than comparable Chinese hotel rooms but it also did not have the Chinese "low chair in the middle of nowhere" feel. The Ibis color scheme made it feel comfortable. The location was pretty ideal; close enough to the port and the architectural monuments with lots of eating options nearby. This being Ibis the price was competitive too. Overall a very recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, DK
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Staff is very helpful and friendly and the whole hotel was spotless clean.

There was always at least one with proficient English skills at hand in reception.

Its the typical IBIS standard design which means small but efficient room layout. small desk, small television, small bathroom with an efficient shower, quiet and working air-conditioning.
For the price paid you might be able to find better value on Chinese owned hotels but as that seemed to be a hit or miss experience in Dalian I was happy with the value and price paid.

I tried the breakfast one day but felt it was overpriced compared to what you can get outside. The only European items on the buffet was toast and cheap jam, coffee, cornflakes and sugar conserved fruits. The 'bar' at the entrance of the breakfast room is never open probably as no one would really make use of it.

You have to pay extra for renting a wifi router if you can not live with just wired internet I guess the advertised 60 RMB is for the stay and not per night.

You have to pay a 200 RMB cash deposit to borrow hair dryer or iron. Seems odd for a European but I assume its done for a reason.

For a romantic trip or holiday I would probably book the Nikko Hotel where a lot of my colleagues stayed...but for business this was great at around 300 rmb a night compared to the 650 Nikko wanted.

NEIGHBOURHOOD:
I liked the lively neighbourhood with many restaurants and night life. The supermarket Carrefour is just around the corner as well as KFC, Subway, McD/McCafe (24H) and the western styled cafe Ruby's coffee. Ruby's turned out as my everyday hang-out with wifi, great cosy design, good coffee, good beer, great owner, outdoor seating and relaxed live singing at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mspandet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Conveniently-located in the centre of town, close to the tram line and shops. There is a Carrefour on the next block and plenty of Chinese and Western fast food joints. Zhongshan Square is about a 10-minute walk away. The room is well-maintained, small but not claustrophobic, yet clean. Despite having a room facing the main street, it was still quiet inside. However, the beds are very hard so a bit uncomfortable. A taxi to the airport would cost 30-40 yuan and takes 20 minutes. There is a tour desk in the lobby that operates during the day on weekdays and weekends with local day tours of Dalian and Lushun for about 150 yuan each.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkg2009hkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalian hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian
1.1 mi away
Grand Continent International Hotel
1.1 mi away
Zhongshan Hotel Dalian
Zhongshan Hotel Dalian
#21 of 1,214 in Dalian
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Yicheng Business Hotel
Yicheng Business Hotel
#487 of 1,214 in Dalian
14 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Dalian
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,214 in Dalian
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#2 of 1,214 in Dalian
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis (Dalian Sanba Square)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis (Dalian Sanba Square)

Property: Hotel Ibis (Dalian Sanba Square)
Address: No.49 Wuwu Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 16001, China
Region: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,214 Hotels in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis (Dalian Sanba Square) 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ibis (Dalian Sanba Square) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing