We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long week-end in Dalian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Ranked #2 of 1,214 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A long week-end in Dalian”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Dalian is a city in Northern coastal China that is experiencing a massive transformation with entire city blocks being re-built and with part of its waterfront being re-vamped and modernized in order to attract the future tourists.
The Shangri-La hotel is conveniently located in the city's centre and only a short distance from the new re-development.
The hotel is well managed, as to be expected from a Shangri-La property.

Room Tip: If you wish to have a harbor view....... well prepare yourself to see only a sliver as the rest has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Federico G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    409
    55
    18
    6
See reviews for
44
33
55
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The cleaning of the room and the floor hall was very poor and not a clean smell
The service in the restaurant at the lunch time , very poor , only ready to be pending on the bill . the environment is not pleasant , and the staff is not willing to do a good and genuine service

Room Tip: Not very clean , neither good decoration
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Gustavo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Mr Gustavo

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Dalian. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you and do apologize for your unhappy experience. Rest assured that your feedback is being shared with the respective departments for discussion and training purpose. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Dorian Rommel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is well recognized in Dalian with its location, facilities and services. It shows a sign of aging, and there is construction of 2nd phase at the back of hotel site.

Generally speaking, we had a nice experience for the family weekend at hotel. Dim Sum lunch is available at Shang Palace all week and food really good. Unfortunately hotel is almost full during the weekend with meeting groups, so the breakfast is a struggle on both mornings. The alternative breakfast at Shang Palace is not satisfactory in variety and services. On 2nd morning, the food quality and services at i Cafe is much better.

Overall, we had a nice place to relax after many sigthseeing, dining or shopping around the hotel. The service is fairly efficient, but somehow lack of warmth or attentiveness found in other Shangri-La hotels. Probably it is due to the busy weekend with meeting groups taking over the hotel.

Room Tip: Be aware of constructions north of hotel, our room faces south to Renmin Road and it is fairly quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The bell boys, check in/ out staff, the concierge staff and especially the lobby and restaurant staff... Excellent! Who ever does the in house training is good! On my second stay now and for sure will make it a regular place on my travels. Well worth staying.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalian, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I cannot tell you how wonderful our weekend trip was to the Shangri-La hotel in Dalian, China. My husband and I are teachers here in Dalian, China and we had a three day weekend. It was the best thing we have done in a while. We were pampered from the moment that we walked in the door, in fact, from the moment the car door was opened for us.
The staff was gracious, and saw to our every need and request in a rapid and professional manner. The food here is amazing and we were helped to get where ever we needed to be. The workout facility has a full time trainer available and the indoor pool is beautiful.
Thank you all for a restful and relaxing visit, next school year we plan to come to you once a month. :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the 23rd (2310) floor which had the most amazing view!!! It was very quiet and once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Melissa L,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and services and had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Also, thank you again for your good words, we will continue to do so and delight each guest. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed 4 ndays for vacation inn this hotel. Outstanding is friendliness and efficency of all staff members I came in touch. Started with airport pick up service, continued thru reception, club, restaurants etc. Really not often to find. Even english knowledge was very good. Suite room was very spacious but more traditional furnished. Only tiny minus for me because I love more the modern style as in the ShangriLa Qingdao. But they are building a new wing! From this and other outside construction work it was a little bit noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Klaus5458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Klaus 5458,


Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Dalian. I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and services and had a pleasant stay at our hotel.I do hope to welcome you back again to the Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian the next time you return to our lovely city.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

An excellent hotel with a lot of attention to detail one has to expect from ShangriLa. Friendly staff and efficient service made the stay a welcome experience. Shangri La is emerging as the best hotel Chain and experience at their hotels across the group has tended to be uniformly excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorian R, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Dalian, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear S K,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Dalian. I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and service and had a pleasant stay at our hotel. Also, thank you again for your good words, we will continue to do so and delight each guest. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Dorian Rommel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalian hotels
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,214 in Dalian
415 reviews
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,214 in Dalian
385 reviews
Shahekou District
The Castle Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Dalian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shahekou District
Grand Hyatt Dalian
Grand Hyatt Dalian
#1 of 1,214 in Dalian
145 reviews
Furama Hotel Dalian
#12 of 1,214 in Dalian
458 reviews
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
#7 of 1,214 in Dalian
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Dalian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Address: No.66 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District | No.66 Renmin Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Region: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dalian
#2 Spa Hotel in Dalian
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
#18 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Dalian 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 563-room Shangri-La Hotel, Dalian is located in the heart of the city's booming commercial district, home of the city's top banks, restaurants and largest modern shopping mall. Only 20 minutes from Dalian International Airport and overlooking the harbour passenger terminal, the hotel offers a host of on-site food, entertainment and leisure options as well as north-east China's most comprehensive range of conference, meeting and banqueting facilities and services. Complimentary broadband Internet access and Wi-Fi services are available in all guestrooms and in the hotel's public areas. Enjoy complimentary weekend shuttle bus and book Horizon Club Room and above or Airport drop-off service to enjoy one-stop airport VIP service. Guests may enjoy long stay service when stay for 14 days or above ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Dalian
Shangri La Dalian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing