We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean hotel, not for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Continent International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Continent International Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,195 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, clean hotel, not for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed 4 days here, And while we found the rooms to be comfortable and clean, the service was lacking in accommodating us. For an example the lobby is strictly regulated and a guest can't sit sideways on the bench. I was asked to not sit in a couch near the elevators as they were part of the empty restaurant. I'm 6 months pregnant! And a guest and had dined at the restaurant that morning.
Being a Japanese hotel I can understand that it's a little colder and stricter then an American chain, but it was still absurd.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyvsyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    165
    47
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
19
32
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

My office had made the booking arrangement and so was not sure how the hotel would be. On my entry itself I like the look of the hotel. Situated very close to the famous underground market and hustling city centre. The hotel has very good rooms and I stayed in Corporate floor. The room was spacious with all amenities. Free internet is there. Well maintained and courteous staff. Good food and wide choice of wines and other imported liquors. Overall a very good first class hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURLINGTON. VT
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

Friendly staff. Smaller rooms that have recently been 'modernized'- but still a little dated.
Right in town making the city walkable from outside the door.
Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTtraveler_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

We decided to look at hotels in Dalian with pools. The Ramada came up on the list, but there weren't many recent reviews. We decided to go with it because the others were outside our budget. We weren't really sure what to expect, but we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It's about as centrally located as you can get. The front desk staff were excellent.

The room is clean and comfortable. The beds are actually soft! And the pillows are great. There's a sofa/chair, desk, mini-bar, safe, storage space, good lighting and ample space. It's nice to have a bathtub and this is the first time I've ever experienced a toilet seat heater! The room has a clean and comfortable feel to it.

We ate at the hotel for lunch. They had a great buffet lunch for about 70 RMB a person. It included Chinese, Western, freshly cooked noodles, and meat dishes along with tons of desserts, coffee, soft-drinks with free refills and more. I loved that I could make myself a real coffee and enjoy some delicious desserts (I went up a few times!). My husband ordered off the menu and he had a good sandwhich, but next time I think he'd also have the buffet. The coffee, desserts, free drinks are great extras to the lunch.

They had baby high-chairs and were very baby friendly. Those two things make eating out so much different!

We were going to go out for dinner to save a bit of money, but happened to pause in front of the hotel restaurant again. The general manager came up to us and asked if we had our coupons to save 50% on the meal. We didn't know about the coupons and when we asked if it was for one or two people, he went away and came back with two of them. Based on the lunch experience we decided to go for it.

Included in the dinner buffet was free beer and soda. I enjoyed freshly cooked seafood, a fajita, lamb, a nice salad with ranch dressing and again, great desserts.

The pool is small, but clean and they have nice changing areas. There was only one other family there when we went, so it wasn't crowded.

We've been very impressed with the friendly hotel staff, the general manager's attention and the location. Our room is great (standard) and we finally feel like we're on a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livinghereBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

Stayed here for 10 nights moved 3 room (upgrades) 1st room had an AC problem,
Staff were always eager to assist, and resolve issues.

Some of the staff would even recommend restaurants around the city which I really appreciated.

Gym and pool are good and clean.
Business centre very good
The Japanese restaurant hidden away is very very good and great value lunches - huge meals :-)

I am back in Dalian next week and staying here again.

Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wissembourg, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

Good hotel recently renovated in the center of Dalian. The rooms are very clean and quiet. I stayed on different occasions in normal rooms and executive suites. Both are very good.
The breakfast offers a mix of Chinese, Japanese and american dishes. The american food is not their strenght but very acceptable.

  • Liked — Cleanless and quality of service
  • Disliked — Fitness room could have a better equipment.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalian hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Dalian
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,195 in Dalian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#1 of 1,195 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.9 mi away
Furama Hotel Dalian
Furama Hotel Dalian
#13 of 1,195 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Dalian
0.2 mi away
Zhongshan Hotel Dalian
Zhongshan Hotel Dalian
#19 of 1,195 in Dalian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.9 mi away
New World Dalian Hotel
New World Dalian Hotel
#2 of 1,195 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Continent International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Continent International Hotel

Property: Grand Continent International Hotel
Address: No.18 Shengli Square, Zhongshan Ward, Dalian 116001, China (Formerly Ramada Plaza Dalian)
Region: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
#9 Business Hotel in Dalian
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Continent International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime Location Towering Victory Plaza, Dalian Grand Continent International Hotel is conveniently situated in the commercial center of Qingniwa Shopping District, Friendship Circles and Tianjin Walking Street with a number of bus terminals heading to the various tourist scenic spots. Dalian Railway Station and the Light Rail Station are just a walking distance from the Hotel, providing a very convenient access to both business areas of Development Zone, Lushun, etc and your business destinations inland. The prime geographical location makes it easy for you to fully explore the charm and the elegance of Dalian. Bright and Cozy Guest Rooms Dalian Grand Continent International Hotel boasts of 362 guestrooms including 40 apartments (60m2-90m2). Bright and spacious rooms with its state-of-the-art facilities and cozy design will provide you with a luxurious and relaxing environment; and all rooms are equipped with free internet and Wi-Fi access as well as the LCD TVs, shower toilet, safe deposit box, NHK, CNN, HBO, Phoenix TV, etc., which, together with the warm and subdued lighting in the room, the top quality services and hospitalities and the quiet and tranquil rooms, will definitely ensure your stay a more pleasant one. The Restaurant of “Windows on the Square” and the Lounge “Lobby Terrace” You will enjoy a completely free atmosphere/feel completely free and at easy with our floor-to-ceiling windows and our classy western-style design in our restaurant “Windows on the Square” on the 2nd floor. Treat yourself to the vast selection of foods in the breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets with western, Japanese and Chinese tastes combined. Or you can choose to stay in our Lobby Terrace for a change, enjoy the live music and an extensive selection of beers, cocktails, soft drinks as well as foreign and Chinese teas. “Jiu Long Gong “ Banquet Room and multi-function Rooms Our multi-function rooms of different sizes provides not only comfortable venues for business meetings, they are also your perfect choice for the romantic wedding engagement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Grand Continent International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Dalian
Dalian Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing