We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Continent International Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
104
176
50
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
176
50
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic locationtrain stationjapanese restaurantamenitiesenglish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Stayed here for 10 nights moved 3 room (upgrades) 1st room had an AC problem,
Staff were always eager to assist, and resolve issues.

Some of the staff would even recommend restaurants around the city which I really appreciated.

Gym and pool are good and clean.
Business centre very good
The Japanese restaurant hidden away is very very good and great value lunches - huge meals :-)

I am back in Dalian next week and staying here again.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 27 February 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Good hotel recently renovated in the center of Dalian. The rooms are very clean and quiet. I stayed on different occasions in normal rooms and executive suites. Both are very good.
The breakfast offers a mix of Chinese, Japanese and american dishes. The american food is not their strenght but very acceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

This is rated a "4 star hotel" on China's 5 star system, and that's probably true IF NOT for the ONGOING construction. But there has been work on this building since February 2006, and as of August 2006- I can assure you that it continues.

I don't mind a little noise, but the pungent odor of paint and paint remover was just unacceptable. In some countries (like the United States) , I think it would be deemed an environmental hazard. The Dalian Ramada is currently working on about 50% of their rooms (this is what the assistant manager told us after we protested the noxious odor and requested a new room). Even after we moved, the smell sometimes started to drift into our area. We slept with the windows open for two nights, until we finally got a room on the seventh floor (where there is no construction). On the last day when we were checking out, the smell was obvious in the lobby as well.

We had two rooms for 3 days each, and we changed both rooms THREE times. The second room we were given was unacceptably dirty- We were told we'd be "upgraded" and instead got a lower class room. We would not have stayed here more than one night, except for the fact that our stay was prepaid through asiarooms.com (a.k.a. HuaMin Tourism) . By the way, I would NOT recommend their service either. The hotel assistant manager tried to be reasonable with us, and offered to repay our last 2 nights' fees to our travel agent once they found a replacement room. He gave us a Dalian tourism magazine, and suggested that we have our agent book an alternative 4-star hotel. We called asiarooms 5 times, and were promised each time that "they're working on a switch" for us. They didn't do a thing for us except call Ramada once and say we had a problem with the construction noise - even that was wrong, we were concerned about the smell. The local number which was on our reservation for problems didn't work- it just kept ringing. We ended up spending over 50 yuan in long distance calls to Thailand for service which didn't do a thing for us.

The one thing we did enjoy here was the pool- it's a standard "American hotel" size heated pool (27 degrees C). The internet connection was free as well. These did not nearly offset the inconvenience and trouble that we endured here, however.

One last note- if you must come here (why are you coming here? there are plenty of other hotels in Dalian!) , don't pay the "American Rates." We saw other tourists from Japan paying about 25% less than the 480 Yuan "standard" rate listed in a magazine which the hotel assistant manager gave us. Ramada.com's own web price is higher than that - it varied from $70 to 100 when we checked. Note that their internet guarantee does not apply to international rooms.

The enclosed pictures show the hotel’s own notices about the construction, and my foot after walking around in the second room for about half an hour. Again- DON'T Stay here unless they tell you in writing that the construction is completed. We stayed here because we thought the "American" brand guaranteed some standards, but were sorely disappointed on that front, I'm sorry to say.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AC2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews