We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideally located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Dalian
Ranked #6 of 1,221 Hotels in Dalian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel was ideally located and very convenient to different parts of the city centre. There were plenty of restaurants of different cuisines in the vicinity, especially there were several shopping malls just on the other side of the road. The room was large and very clean, our extra large bed was very comfortable. Also the gym had pretty new equipment. We had buffet breakfast every morning and I must say it was reasonably good. The best thing of the hotel was free WiFi throughout the hotel and guest rooms. We had FaceTime with our son in Europe for an hour during our stay there and the connection was really good. Who wants to pay for the use of WiFi nowadays? Overall a 4.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Dalian
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

To their defense we came here directly from a four seasons hotel in Shanghai, it's probably not fair compare them both. But since they're both 5-stars hotels we're allowed to.
The sleep-quality was not that good and when we tried to get a hold of a smaller pillow (they have gigantic ones) we received one filled with...peas!? The hairdryer was not working but we got a new one.

On the positive side their restaurant Marco Polo delivered one of the best streaks I've had in my life, it was absolutely fantastic. Please do yourself a favor and taste it (Australian Angus steak).

The executive lounge (where we had our breakfast) was also very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndersVasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

As the title says, the rooms are large and comfortable. Free internet - fast too. Staff very helpful and many of the staff speak English. Food is good but could use a little more variety in the buffet. Very close to shopping areas and taxis are plentiful. Overall 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlarsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

First time here and not sure if i got an upgrade, but the room was overlooking a park and was huge! Service is efficient and helpful. Surrounding areas is worth exploring if you have time.

Was worried that the hotel was older but it wasn't an issue - although you will notice it.

i really liked the Deli and was a good place to get a sandwich and a tea (pricey!) on the way out to work.

Hotel guest may struggle to find Paul Anner - i've seen a few of them wandering around the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacGyver-SG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

All around its a wonderful hotel. The location is great, on a busy intersection thus easily accessible, within a couple of kilometer from the city centre, facing a big park having an watchtower on top of a hillock, within meters of a shopping street and a few shopping malls, one mall Parkland across this hotel offers high-end shopping and excellent eateries, all in all the setting of this hotel could not be any better! And every taxi driver seems to know this hotel just by the name- which is a big plus in China! I'm mentioning this because many hotels in many cities in China are known by a different Chinese name to the locals and they seem not to have an idea about what hotel one is talking about! Probably they could not come up with a chinese synonym for a German name ;)

Wonderful lobby and lobby bar having local orchestra/band performing every evening- great for a coffee or a drink on a cold evening. Reception, check-in, check-out very effecient, Concierge desk is outstanding- shall go a step further to help the guests, the hotel 'drive me to' card has a space for noting the taxi number one is boarding and they actually note the number for the guest for future records! Isn't it a nice gesture! Breakfast spread is adequate and taste pretty good. The hotel has a few excellent restaurants for gastronomic pleasure.

Rooms are pretty vast; very well appointed; have an iron-press and even an umbrella inside the closet! Any businees traveller would know the value of an in-room iron press i believe! The bathroom is huge with separate shower enclosure and almost the biggest bath-tub I've seen in a hotel! Big comfortable bed and pillow shall help to have a good night's sleep. Room heating / water heating is very efficient in the shivering cold November!

Could not come up with a negative in my couple of night stand in this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: High floor park view room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hasska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great location, great food, easy access to shopping with some best malls in walking range. Good selection of international cousine with special mention of Indian cook who makes lavish Indian dishes. Overall a great value for your money

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We didn't stay in the hotel as my parents live in the city. Me and my husband and cousins come here for drinks on few occasion while visiting dalian. We like it here very much. It's very western so remind us back in uk.
Service is always good, big big credit to the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank may b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalian hotels
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#1 of 1,221 in Dalian
976 reviews
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,221 in Dalian
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,221 in Dalian
420 reviews
Shahekou District
The Castle Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Dalian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Dalian

Address: No.92 Jiefang Road, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Region: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dalian
#6 Business Hotel in Dalian
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dalian
#17 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range: £75 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kempinski Hotel Dalian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in the heart of the commercial and business district, opposite the Labour Park and only few steps away from the shopping center. Friendly service and unique Kempinski hospitality will be your best choice for both leisure and business. We offer 400 well appointed guest rooms and suites, meeting and Banquet facilities for up to 500 guests, Cafe Berlin Restaurant offering a splendid selection of international cuisines and Kempi Deli with a large selection of Valrhona in both traditional and exotic flavors, breads, cookies, ice cream, cakes, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalian Kempinski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing