We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No AIR CONDITIONING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian
Ranked #14 of 1,196 Hotels in Dalian
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No AIR CONDITIONING”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

It's mid October and we have been checked in for 7 hours and the room is soo hot we can not sleep . We asked for a table or floor fan ... and they said ok no problem ,,it's been 3 hours and 4 phone calls and now they say there are no fans . The windows opens but it does nothing . We are booked in the hotel with a large group but am seriously considering leaving the group and changing hotels. If you don't mind sleeping in a sauna you will sleep well ,,, if you like air conditioning skip this hotel .

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank eddyzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
he l, 經理 at Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are terribly sorry about your experience above in our hotel. The matter was caused by the current season switch, expecially because of a temperature sudden drop just a day before you checked in, which made us have to change the hotel air-conditioning system from cold to heating earlier than usually this year and it’s hard and takes time to switch back and forth. Anyway, it’s us that made your living unbearable, we do apologize to you for this happening and hope you still choose us for your stay in Dalian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    156
    62
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
24
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel is exactly what is says on the tin - basic and simple but fine. The central areas were pretty clean and the service staff are helpful and cheerful. The room was pretty clean and the Internet worked fine.

Nothing really stands out but it was fine for a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
he l, Manager at Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear James
Thank you very much for your stay with us and your compliments as well.Your encouragement is always driving us to improve .We hope you come again and we will continue to provide our best service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here to relax over a weekend. We once had good expreience with a Holiday Inn Express in Shanghai so we decided to try this one. Turned out there is a gap. The hotel is located in the central area of the old (but not historical) Dalian - many street vendors and a huge number of touristis/shoppers, which means it is crowded and noisy. The adjacening streets are not very clean. The facilities in the hotel room is rather old, especially the windows which can not well insulate the outside noise. Check-in was slow and the staff were like always a few steps behind.

Fortunately Dalian's coastline along the north Binhai road made up for this. We still left in a good mood.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaijunjiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
he l, Manager at Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Kjiang
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are so sorry to know that you had a uncomfortable stay in our hotel and we apologize to you for our facilities. For the rest thing like old facilites, we’ll try our best to improve from now on and hope you can see our improvement by your next visit to us. Once again, sorry for your unhappy stay in the hotel and thank you very much for letting us know about your feeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The experience was just ok. We will probably choose a different hotel in the future.

The hotel is in a good location, very close to everything and you can even walk from the train station if you know where to go. It was difficult for us to get a taxi because it was too close and some taxi drivers didn't want to go there. The hotel is very close to a nice mall with a nice food court and many stores. We got many supplies from the mall.

We had an executive suite, but the room was ok. It could probably use some major cleaning and update. The living room light (beside the couch) didn't work, but once we sat on the couch, it would turn on by itself. It was handy but was annoying after a day. The staff was friendly and helpful. The check in was quick and smooth. The hotel restaurant had good food and the breakfast was well done.

We had issues getting taxi to go to the airport. I think the city might not have enough taxis and we had to share with several other passengers and the trip took awhile.

We decided to stay here after an extensive research; however, after staying in Somerset Heping in Shenyang and had a wonderful experience there. I would look at that one or others before choosing to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
he l, Manager at Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Newman
Thank you very much for your stay with us and your compliments as well.Your encouragement is always driving us to improve .We hope you come again and we will continue to provide our best service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
597 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The first impression upon checking in is of very friendly staff who know their jobs; they are quick and efficient, and their English was very good. A great first impression.
I had a generous- sized “executive” room. Executive rooms seem to be about double the size of regular guest rooms, so if you will spend much time in the room apart from sleeping, it is worth the modest price difference. An unanticipated plus for this stay was that this room is at the end of the hall, and since it was still school holiday time, the many kids kept their noise down the hall.
The room was clean, but needed an update or deep cleaning. The rug had numerous stains from old spills. The bathroom worked well enough. There was a separate tub / shower arrangement and a glass wall between the tub and the room which could be made private via venetian blinds. The marble countertop not well- sealed, and deep stains from many earlier mishaps were evident, making it look unclean – even though it was indeed clean. There was rust in bottom of sink and the drain would not close well enough to hold water. Minor annoyances.
The beddings were tip- top, very up- to- date and comfortable. The work desk functioned well, and there were adequate outlets for charging things all at once. In- room coffee was appreciated.
Breakfast was decent, and there was an eggs cook on duty. Most of the offerings were local fare, but baked beans and a couple of other treats fit in well. The won ton soup was very tasty.
The location is excellent, right near the centre of things and adjacent to a pedestrian way which is crammed with stalls selling all kinds of knick-knacks. There is a McDonald’s about 100m up this way, for those “in need.” And there are plentiful restaurants and street stalls around the area. A cab to the airport (ca. 10km away) cost me RMB26, extremely affordable even for budget travelers.
In sum, a bit shopworn but great staff, location, and not at all expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms -01, -09 and -17 are extra- large. Rooms -10 through -16 and -26, -27 would not have much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
he l, Manager at Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear municheric
Thank you very much for your stay with us and your compliments as well.Your encouragement is always driving us to improve .We hope you come again and we will continue to provide our best service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

If you are in Dalian to explore then the hotel is great considering the location and pricing. If you want to feel a bit relaxed in your room and enjoy a good breakfast then it is better to go elsewhere. If we were to go back to Dalian to explore then we would consider staying here, but would also look for other hotels. Service could have been better, but was friendly.
Breakfast is mainly Chinese (which is fully ok) but there are some cerials etc too.
We got a smokey non-smoking room which always is disappoiting I think. Shower was big, and although the place is clean it is pretty run-down. Location is the best thing with the street market literally on your doorstep. Also Starbucks and Café Copenhagen both on walking distance.

Room Tip: The rooms are either facing the street or the courtyard. The courtyard way is probably quieter. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Central Indiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I spent my first time in Dalian to see what the coastal city had to offer. I was not disapointed in the city or the hotel. The hotel is located just off the main business square, and is within walking distance of the Russian section. I was able to walk to most places, and found everything from a great noode house, to McDonalds well within walking distance. The hotel is near many small shops, and I was able to get about anything I wanted and did not have to worry about being a tourist. The hotel itself is very busy. It was very normal to see a lot of activity both business and family types coming and going. Taxi service is easy to find on the main street next to the hotel. With regards to the hotel, it is a little worn, and it could use some upgrades. The rooms were nice, and clean. Nothing would be considered bad, but the carpeting could be upgraded. Much of interior furniture could also be replaced but it all served the purpose. The front desk people were very helpful and again I found things to be clean, just a little worn. Communication was not an issue, not many of the hotel people spoke a lot of English, but that was not a problem. The hotel offered a great breakfast, and I was able to get my laundry returned within about 3 hours.

Room Tip: When the hotel is busy, it can take a while to get an elevator. Even though there are three of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WuSongLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dalian hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Continent International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Dalian
Hotel Nikko Dalian
#5 of 1,196 in Dalian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis (Dalian Sanba Square)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
New World Dalian Hotel
New World Dalian Hotel
#3 of 1,196 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
Shangri-La Hotel Dalian
#1 of 1,196 in Dalian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Dalian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian

Property: Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian
Address: No.189 Tianjin Street, Zhongshan District, Dalian 116001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Liaoning > Dalian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dalian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Express Holiday Inn City Center Dalian is Located in The Heart of The City.Bussiness and Commercial Center Where is Close to Zhongshan Square.It Is 15km Away From Dalian International Airport,1km Away From Dalian Reailway Station And Port.The Hotel Facility Includes 332 Guest Rooms With Free Broadband,Business Center,3 Meeting Rooms E-lounge Restaurant With 200 Seats,Laundry service,free parking.Express by Holiday Inn City Center Dalian is The Unique Express Hotel Under International Management In Town And Offer International Standard Express Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express City Centre Dalian Hotel Dalian
Holiday Inn Express Dalian
Dalian Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dalian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing