We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bussiness hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel (Qingdao Huangdao)
Ranked #33 of 1,711 Hotels in Qingdao
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I was at this hotel for a bussiness trip, Overally i rank this hotel 8/10 for all aspect of hotel service. Compared to east europe hotels this hotel is a 6-7 star hotel.

As i remember i welcomed to this hotel by a sweet welcome drink & sat for a quick check-in. then they hand in me my room key card & lead me to the big & nice clean room. I stayed at this hotel for one night, didn't have time to find all about it. but resturant infact was a VIP room by 2 chinese girl serving you with food & wine. also night life is there you can enjoy message, KTV girl & Karaoke nearby. Generally it is a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room you want they will provide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yamakazy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

This hotel is truly a 4 star hotel experience in China. I usually stay at other hotels in the Qingdao area. But this was recommended by our local company staff. It is located very close to the Industrial area of Huangdao but walking distance to all Major Western restaurants. Many western or west European customers use this hotel as their accommodations when staying in Huangdao.

The three restaurants in the hotel are well stocked and prepare the food to near perfection. The Buffet restaurant, well lets say, you should eat at one of the other venues. If you are in need of a burger or Italian, then it is only a ten minute walk from the hotel to Luigies. This is where most westerners hang out and chat.

The room was very clean. The bed was soft and sheets were like pillows, unlike most Chinese hotel beds that are like sleeping on rocks. Shower was small but kept very neat and tidy by cleaning staff daily.

Laundry was a snap, in fact I did not even expect laundry service but every other day they took my clothes and cleaned and folded the on the bed by the time I was back from work.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for Non-Smoking, otherwise they will put you in what ever is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonebreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Excellent hotel with excellent services and staff, but unfortunatelly is isolated from everything. Huangdao also is poor of western restaurants, it is much better to stay in Qingdao.
I stayed in this hotel during 4 months in 2012 while working in a shipyard in Huangdao. The staff is very helpfull and kind. But then I moved to Qingdao which have much more life then Huangdao.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaviogon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Blue Horizon Qingdao
This was my first visit to China, apart from Hong Kong and Taiwan if you would say those are like China. But they are not!
I arrived at Qingdao Luiting airport and ready to embrace China, so with eyes wide open I observed with jaw dropped open, the 2 hour drive to Huangdao where my hotel was located.
I was not sure how to take the reverse gatso on the highways, those high mounted cameras that flash at approaching vehicles dazzling drivers in the process, but was told later they were number plate readers, or the slow moving articulated trucks on the inside lanes causing motorists to attempt stunts and dances of death in order to undertake the slow movers. Competition for recognition on the roads was quite keen.
Several toll gates later, the hotel loomed in the distance as we approached and as we pulled up into the driveway, staff dressed up in beautiful uniforms saluted and waved us onto the ramp of the hotel entrance.
At the desk, staff were smiling, in fact everyone was smiling and the welcome feel was so warm it felt almost surreal. My first impression was to last a short while until it was overwhelmed when I was shown the room I was to stay. Wao wao wao, it was on the executive floor and I am talking here 65quid a night for this? The bathroom, bedroom was fabulous. The wifi worked too. The wifi worked everywhere in the hotel, in the restaurant, in the hallways, in the lounges, in the bedrooms. So i went on facebook, nada...no Facebook, twitter, etc etc do not work in China, your screen goes like you've lost the internet connection. Google is hit and miss, the search results links do not work, you have to write down the url and then type it into the browser manually.
Back to the bedroom, the glass partition between the bedroom and the bathroom, awesome. I can sit in the bath and watch tv. I can see the bathroom from my bed...hmmm.
Come dinner time, I examine the in room menu booklet and they are describing the restaurants. Live seafood, birds nest soup, shark fin soup, sea cucumbers, abalones, mussels, shrimps, etc so I go take a look. There are aquariums everywhere with every sea life creature you can imagine swimming writhing, wriggling and twisting. I could not bring myself to like the sea snake no matter how many times I walked past the tank. I nearly did the sea cucumbers though. I ate shell fish and squid and fish all week which was beautifully cooked. And im fussy about someone cooking for me, but this was awesome. That's all I ate. Absolutely fabulous fish restaurant with smiling staff, always ready to help and always ready to suggest. Take for instance the wonderful and conscientious Ms. Hou Gui Ron, who worked, happily and weaved through the busy restaurant making sure all customers were left well satiated and belly full and happy. This fish restaurant is awesome and is a must. Guests at the hotel get a small discount for meals there so that was good value for money.
My bedroom was cleaned twice a day, morning and afternoon, then they came in around 8pm to turn down the lights, turn down the sheets and left a glass of fruit juice, carton of milk and some chocolates and fresh flowers. Amazing...did I tell you the cost of the room? Wao. I had a butler Ms, Yan Gui Sin, amazing dutiful and responsible. Dropped in on me on the day of my arrival saying, hi my name is Audrey and I am your butler. If you need anything, please dial zero on your telephone. What an amazing intro...
Ok, I came in on the cleaners cleaning my room. Honestly in all my half century of existence I have never seen people clean a room the way the did. On hands and knees scrubbing each and every single tile and grout in the bathroom floor.
Cut to the executive lounge where Mr. Wang Yu the chirpy, happy chatty attendant is always ready to talk your back legs off. Wang has a whale of information about what is available and what is not in Qingdao, and he does so in impeccable English.
So what's in town? A short walk from the hotel and you hit the shops. There are plenty of them. From the flea market to the posh departmental stores, they are all there. And within walking distance.
All in all, it was a very pleasant stay at Qingdao blue Horizon. Do not fail to seek out my stars, Wang Yu and Hou Gui Rong in the seafood restaurant to make your visit the best ever in china.
The photos tell it all...
Enjoy your stay at the Blue Horizon. I did. X

Room Tip: Stay on the 11th floor near the executive lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jasamaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel is very friendly to English speaking people.
It was very clean with all the usual facilities.
A choice of restaurants made eating easy and a nice relaxing bar open till midnight.
Close to the beach and shops but not within walking distance. But only a short taxi ride away.
About an hour journey to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martgr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ich kann nur das Restaurant beurteilen und da empfehle ich Garoupa Hongkong Style
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Uwe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: zimmer zum meer oder zur seite raus sind ruhiger als zur strasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joedi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
13.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
Shangri-La Hotel Qingdao
#2 of 1,711 in Qingdao
1,950 reviews
14.3 mi away
Qingdao Farglory Residence
Qingdao Farglory Residence
#17 of 1,711 in Qingdao
112 reviews
14.5 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Qingdao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre
14.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
#19 of 1,711 in Qingdao
298 reviews
22 mi away
Sheraton Qingdao Licang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel (Qingdao Huangdao)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel (Qingdao Huangdao)

Address: No.66 Changjiang West Road, Huangdao Economic&Technical Development District, Qingdao 266555, China
Region: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,711 Hotels in Qingdao
Price Range: £40 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Horizon Hotel (Qingdao Huangdao) 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel (Qingdao Huangdao) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing