We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go back in a second. Tones of character.”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #30 of 1,703 Hotels in Qingdao
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just finished a stay there and can't say enough good things about the hotel. We had a family room that was great: two rooms and beds. Great, helpful staff and the Chinese resteraunt is quite good and reasonable. Great location with lovely grounds. I will not as readily endorse the German food at the Ratz Keller: stick to the local seafood.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank t-bird2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Located on the grounds of the former German Governor’s mansion, this hotel features an excellent staff and interesting décor. The owners obviously like classic movies and cutting edge art – both are displayed throughout the hotel. The hotel restaurant is very good – I had breakfast and lunch there – and the seafood items are kept in tanks right by the door. While I did not have dinner, it is very popular with the locals and they had a good crowd every night. Rooms were very clean with all the amenities. There is also a library in the lobby with a selection of books in different languages. The former Governor’s mansion is next door and as a hotel guest you get a free ticket – just ask for it at the front desk. The grounds are very nice and it is a short walk to the downtown area. The area surrounding the hotel, a formally German neighborhood in the middle of China, is worth a walk just to see how bizarre this is – even the manhole covers are from Germany.

Denver Mullican
New Orleans
USA

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denver_Mullican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The hotel is nice with helpful staff. Nice screnery over Qingdao, the hotel buildings are classic which was my key reason for choosing the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated. I just loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabbyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The rooms are nicely decorated, quiet, clean and fully equipped with everything you might need. The staff is friendly and although not at the professional level of western hotels, they still make you feel welcomed. Overall the decoration is somehow kitsch but the infrastructure is in good shape. The king size bed is huge but a bit hard and the walls somehow thin...

Breakfast is a bit poor, if you are not into Chinese food that early in the day then your options are limited: bread (jam, butter) eggs (ask the waitress) and cereals. Their coffee is also quite good.

The big plus of this hotel is the location, next to the former German governor's residence with nice gardens and views. This is an ideal location to explore the city, walk in the old German town etc.

I paid around 500RMB/night in November. Reasonable for the overall standard but not a bargain. From Liuting airport it will cost you around 120RMB to get there.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms next to stairways, walls are thin and you can hear high heeled and other noisy wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Konstantinos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed here for a weekend in early November, after three nights at the superb Hyatt Regency in Jinan. Perhaps that is why I was so underwhelmed. On the plus side:

Location - the hotel is in the heart of the historic (and very quiet) quarter of Qingdao and tucked behind the old governor's mansion (definitely worth a look).

Decor - I loved the strange art everywhere, and this place is certainly unique.

Price - I only paid 440RMB per night for a standard room.

The following things disappointed me:

Location - there are absolutely no bars, cafes or restaurants near the hotel. A fifteen minute walk or taxi ride is needed to do most of these things. Also, the entrance to the hotel is hard to find.

Service - Not once did I feel welcome at this hotel. I must've walked past the front desk over ten times and no one said hello, or ni hao, or zao shang hao, or whatever.

Rooms - the standard rooms look very tired for a hotel that only opened in 2008. Perhaps the deluxe rooms and suites are better.

Breakfast - very limited choice if you're not Chinese.

Noise - I was woken up many times during the night by banging doors.

All in all I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Sadly, due to a change in our travel plans, we were only able to stay at the Castle for a single night, arriving late in the afternoon and departing early the following morning. Despite this the hotel still managed to impress, and I would certainly consider returning in the future.

The first point of note, is that the hotel is fantastic value, with a somewhat unique ambiance. For though the building is rather old, it is decked throughout with various pieces of modern art. Though I strongly question the need for a rather naughty picture in the restaurant toilet.

The taxi from the train station, cost somewhere in the region of 30RMB, while the airport taxi, arranged through the hotel, cost 135RMB, and took about an hour in morning traffic.

The lobby, and arguably the room too, reminded me of something out of Las Vegas in the 1980s, but this merely added to the character of the hotel.

The staff were friendly and attentive, with fantastic English skills. The receptionist did however provide a somewhat dubious dinner recommendation. For after a rather lengthy taxi ride, we found ourselves at a great looking seafood restaurant, unable to order a single dish, due to our notably limited Chinese.

The room was spacious, if a little dark. Though I was thankful for the free upgrade to a family room.

The breakfast was excellent, albeit with a strong leaning towards Chinese delicacies, rather than your usual Western fare.

I would have liked more time to explore the hotel and it's grounds in daylight, but took note that the hotel had both a Chinese and Japanese restaurant, along with a coffee bar.

My final suggestion regards Qingdao, rather than the hotel, and this is to please avoid the truly atrocious Italian restaurant 'Napoli'.
The food was bland, my pizza was cold, the white wine was warm, with a token piece of floating foil in the glass too. The service was dire, and the manager was rude and obnoxious. I only hope that others may have a more pleasant dining experience in this coastal city.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t8zzyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed here with 25 colleagues for a company event. We had a fabulous buffet on the Castle's deck over-looking the former German Governor's Mansion. Staying here feels like you are staying at your own private castle! There is nothing else like it in China. The food and service are great, and the price is reasonable for such a unique experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank quartzmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Qingdao hotels
0.7 mi away
Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel
Zhan Qiao Prince Hotel
#33 of 1,703 in Qingdao
248 reviews
3.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
Copthorne Hotel Qingdao
#19 of 1,703 in Qingdao
294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Huiquan Dynasty Hotel
Huiquan Dynasty Hotel
#29 of 1,703 in Qingdao
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oceanwide Elite Hotel
Oceanwide Elite Hotel
#134 of 1,703 in Qingdao
149 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Qingdao City Centre
10.0 mi away
Sheraton Qingdao Licang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: No.26 Longshan Road, Shinan District, Qingdao 266003, China
Region: China > Shandong > Qingdao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,703 Hotels in Qingdao
Price Range: £37 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing