We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sharks”

Qingdao Underwater World
Ranked #13 of 291 things to do in Qingdao
Attraction details
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sharks”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It was good. Museum very interesting
Penguins, sharks, crocodiles etc
The problem only is timings. It closes early.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Waqas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    103
    40
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“CN Sea World NOT USA Sea World”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

There can be only one. Sea World that is and it resides in San Diego, CA.

From the initial sight of wall to wall bio lab style formaldehyde bottled fish to my first stuffed Killer Whale sighting I was less than enthusiastic or impressed rather disgusted and bored.

I will say this. The Chinese try and try hard but if your expecting anything more than alligators stuffed in small surroundings with coins layed at their feet and back yes on their back well your going to be disappointed.

Their flagship large aquarium with conveyor belt shuttle would have been great, except the glass reflected a coke bottle image so that I could only view for a few moments until my head hurt or maybe that was the wall to wall people yelling and clicking their cameras and smartphones.

Save your ¥130 per Adult(s) and ¥65 per Children entry fee. Spend it on a decent meal or a upgraded room in one of Qingdao's finer hotels.

Where is Green Peace when you need them?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jeb1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I really enjoyed this, much to my surprise, but I went on a quiet day. Later in my visit, I passed it on a bus and there were huge queues.

The shark/ray tunnel was really excellent; the static/stuffed exhibits were interesting; there were a lot of strange fish and eels that I just hadn't seen in western aquariums.

The gift shops sold the usually fluffy sharks you would expect in the West, but you could also buy and eat the exhibits (or their less rare cousins!)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnychips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old, but good”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The Qingdao underwater world is showing its age with many old displays that need updating. The winter is not a good time to visit outside attractions.The summer would be a much better time to spend some time wandering the outside areas.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 14GaryR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xi'an
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just so so”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Maybe I had too high expectations on the underwater world, because the city is a seaside city.Actually it's small, no much to see, just some very common species, as you can see in any inland cities. It does not worth the money of 120 yuan entrance fee.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine_xian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Qingdao Underwater World also viewed

 

Been to Qingdao Underwater World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing