We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Famous bfast joint closed for bfast.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kiwi Cafe

Kiwi Cafe
Ranked #11 of 42 Coffee & Tea in Qingdao
Cuisines: American, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Myredstar.com
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Famous bfast joint closed for bfast.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

In Tao for 2 days. To avoid lousy hotel bufet, did my research on good breakfast place. KIWI cafe ticked all the boxes, except that it's closed for breakfast. So if you like to eat your breakfast before 11am - dont bother.

Helpful?
Thank dapidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just like home but In Zed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Had to check this out after seeing it on TA and reading the rave reviews.
Coffee is beautiful (just like I'd find anywhere in NZ) and sensibly priced. And the smoked salmon poached eggs benedict were gorgeous and just what I needed.
Qingdao was the last place I'd expect to find this and especially done so well!
Danny's little cafe, which can be a bit awkward to find is cosy and homely. And obviously surrounded by Kiwi paraphernalia!
Seek this place for some sanity!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BPMATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

With one cook and server. We had eggs benedict and burger, both were delicious. The burger was huge. The place is pretty small and cozy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
538 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“A Piece of Kiwi in China”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were here for breakfast on our last day in Qingdao and were surprised at the quality and authenticity of the western food served at this small cafe in a suburban neighborhood. The chef-owner is Chinese, has lived in NZ for years and is back in town only for his elderly parents. Fans of flat whites and long blacks will be happy to know that Kiwi cafe serves them.

Note: The cafe is almost impossible to find if you're not familiar with Qingdao. We had to call up the cafe and get the waitress to give our taxi driver specific directions on how to get there. Then we wandered up and down the street a couple of times before finding the cafe. It is right across from the 7-Eleven.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Changshu, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not quite home, but close enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Only been a few times, but each time I've been quite happy. It's not quite an american greasy spoon, but they know how to fry an egg and at least the bacon is crispy. Reasonably priced, and the 5 stars is based not on absolute quality, but relative to other places in the city. It is the only place I've been so far here that I would go back to for breakfast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank awbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kiwi Cafe also viewed

Qingdao, Shandong
Qingdao, Shandong
 

Been to Kiwi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing